• May 16, 2022, 03:37:48 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Router not working  (Read 4214 times)

germibobi

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Router not working
« on: May 31, 2015, 12:46:54 PM »

So I bought the DIR-605L and set it up today, followed all steps. The first 15 minutes it worked all fine, but after that it would start and stop thus working for like a minute and then stopping. I tried my modem directly to my laptop, PS4 and its working fine. I reset my Dlink router, went through the set up again, the router worked fine for 5 minutes and now its back to 1 min starts and stops. What could I do?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Router not working
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2015, 08:23:09 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?
  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • Is ISP Modem/Service using Dynamic or Static WAN IP addressing?
  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have? Link> Speed Testing Sites
  • By-pass the main host router and check internet connection by connecting a wired LAN PC directly to the ISP modem to verify connection access and ISP speeds.
  • Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values

Wireless Configurations
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion and Good Neighbour Policy
  • Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Ensure that different SSID names are used between each WiFi 2.4/5Ghz radios. Can be anything and not something that's already in use by any neighbouring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
  • What wireless modes are you using?
  • 2.4Ghz Routers only: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N?
  • Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
  • Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear. 13 for EU regions.
  • What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.
  • Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by that maybe causing interferences?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area that maybe causing interferences? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many? Use v3, its free.


Router Placement
Forum User - "Well I feel really dumb. After moving the router away from other electronic devices my speeds are back to normal. Just a heads up for anyone experiencing slow speeds, you might want to move it away from other electronics and see if that helps."
3-6' feet minimum safe distance between devices.
Placement on main level floor and central in the building and WELL ventilated is preferred. Not in basements or closets as building materials, or near by electronics devices could interfere or hinder good signal propagation.
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wireless-basics/31083-smallnetbuilders-wireless-faq-the-essentials
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

germibobi

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Router not working
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2015, 03:29:04 PM »

What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.  H/W B1
Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status. FW 2.00
What region are you located? Europe
Are you wired or wireless connected to the router? Tried both

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?  Cable
What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have? Cisco EPC3208
Is ISP Modem/Service using Dynamic or Static WAN IP addressing? Not Sure
What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have? Link> Speed Testing Sites UP 47.64 DOWN 4.10
By-pass the main host router and check internet connection by connecting a wired LAN PC directly to the ISP modem to verify connection access and ISP speeds. I used that method to measure the speeds, as I can barely connect to the wi-fi anyway.
Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended. Did so, nothing differently.
Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Router not working
« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2015, 03:42:48 PM »

I see your on shipping FW, I would recommend trying a FW update:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=62640.0

Please follow this to perform the update if you choose to do so:
 >FW Update Process
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

germibobi

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Router not working
« Reply #4 on: June 01, 2015, 03:57:39 PM »

I cant understand exactly how to update the firmware.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Router not working
« Reply #5 on: June 01, 2015, 04:14:03 PM »

Did you follow the information in the FW update process?  ???
« Last Edit: June 02, 2015, 09:06:57 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

germibobi

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Router not working
« Reply #6 on: June 02, 2015, 09:41:19 AM »

I tried to, but can't find where Tools is, is this in my dlink or the router page or where? I kinda fixed my problem without the FW upgrage, I think it might not have been broken in the first place. The things it works fine as long as I don't connect my blackberry.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Router not working
« Reply #7 on: June 02, 2015, 09:44:13 AM »

You may have a "maintenance" menu instead of a Tools menu.

So you think the Blackberry maybe causing problems?  ???
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

germibobi

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Router not working
« Reply #8 on: June 02, 2015, 10:18:45 AM »

Yes, I am 100% its the Blackberry. Every time I connect it, the internet stops and it works otherwise. Is it possible that there is some negative correlation between the Dlink router and my Blackberry or Blackeberrys in general.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Router not working
« Reply #9 on: June 02, 2015, 10:43:45 AM »

You might try the FW update to see if it fixes it. Could be a problem in the current version your running.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.