• January 27, 2022, 10:32:35 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Setting up an Second Router  (Read 2139 times)

TFlett

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Setting up an Second Router
« on: February 16, 2015, 07:15:34 PM »

I recently purchased a D-Link AC 1200 to add to my D-link-8900 so that we can get faster internet. I am planning on turning the D-link 8900 an AP, one of the steps it asks me is to disable my UPnP, DHCP, and WAN denpendant featurettes. But the thing is I don't know how to go about it. Which page should I disable them in. Or how to change the LAN IP address. I'm not that good at internet tech. 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49886
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Setting up an Second Router
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2015, 07:18:28 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Can you confirm the model # information of the D-Link 8900? Is this a Router or a Modem?
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49886
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Setting up an Second Router
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2015, 09:15:32 AM »

Any status on this?  ???

I recently purchased a D-Link AC 1200 to add to my D-link-8900 so that we can get faster internet. I am planning on turning the D-link 8900 an AP, one of the steps it asks me is to disable my UPnP, DHCP, and WAN denpendant featurettes. But the thing is I don't know how to go about it. Which page should I disable them in. Or how to change the LAN IP address. I'm not that good at internet tech.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.