• November 29, 2021, 08:34:35 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5]

Author Topic: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04  (Read 44485 times)

Larz1695

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04
« Reply #60 on: March 01, 2015, 06:31:36 AM »

Let us know how it goes. I presume anything that Bungie does only effects there games and may not effect SB or anything related unless Bungie and QC have development ties.

Please test with ABE enabled first then disable it after testing and compare notes. Let us know it goes.
Skipped ABE and manually entered advertised speeds considering I average over 10% above those speeds.  (Sorry, Furry, ABE is just not going to happen here!)  Stability was just as good with SB as without.  There were some issues but there were way too many variables to blame SB.  My speedtests were going to Chicago instead of to Atlanta which led me to believe that inclement weather was a factor.  I was also experiencing a little over 1% packet loss.  Combined with the extra resets and firmware flashes it's very hard to nail down the source of the improvements.  I also did a modem reset as well.  Pretty much the entire laundry list of troubleshooting.  I even checked the connections to make sure nothing was wrong there either.  I can only guess that the recent patch(es) to Destiny changed the packets coming in and SB was able to better identify the traffic coming in to route it properly.  I still get bittorrent traffic when I check the activity log as well as COD traffic.  The majority of the traffic identified was game followed by web then bittorrent.  Maybe XBone has some sort of peer to peer traffic?  Who knows.

Overall I hope D-Link and Qualcom continue to work together to improve the 5500 and SB in particular.  It really sucks being an early adopter of D-Link's gaming routers considering how shoddy the firmware is initially but there is no denying that once they work through the initial bugs and kinks that these routers are very solid.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49863
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04
« Reply #61 on: March 01, 2015, 07:49:24 PM »

Thanks for the feed back.

Let us know how it goes. I presume anything that Bungie does only effects there games and may not effect SB or anything related unless Bungie and QC have development ties.

Please test with ABE enabled first then disable it after testing and compare notes. Let us know it goes.
Skipped ABE and manually entered advertised speeds considering I average over 10% above those speeds.  (Sorry, Furry, ABE is just not going to happen here!)  Stability was just as good with SB as without.  There were some issues but there were way too many variables to blame SB.  My speedtests were going to Chicago instead of to Atlanta which led me to believe that inclement weather was a factor.  I was also experiencing a little over 1% packet loss.  Combined with the extra resets and firmware flashes it's very hard to nail down the source of the improvements.  I also did a modem reset as well.  Pretty much the entire laundry list of troubleshooting.  I even checked the connections to make sure nothing was wrong there either.  I can only guess that the recent patch(es) to Destiny changed the packets coming in and SB was able to better identify the traffic coming in to route it properly.  I still get bittorrent traffic when I check the activity log as well as COD traffic.  The majority of the traffic identified was game followed by web then bittorrent.  Maybe XBone has some sort of peer to peer traffic?  Who knows.

Overall I hope D-Link and Qualcom continue to work together to improve the 5500 and SB in particular.  It really sucks being an early adopter of D-Link's gaming routers considering how shoddy the firmware is initially but there is no denying that once they work through the initial bugs and kinks that these routers are very solid.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49863
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04
« Reply #62 on: April 02, 2015, 01:22:16 PM »

Is this still an issue for you?  ???

https://onedrive.live.com/redir?resid=9AE3FED32C6C2D6B!35177&authkey=!AGmgLhv8MTmbsvk&v=3&ithint=photo%2cPNG

As you can see in the graphic the "Status" line is blank and usually reads "Connected" or "Disconnected"


Could you please post a picture of what your seeing?  ???


I have used IE, FF, and Chrome and they all show the same on the Dynamic DNS "Status" line as blank

Ok, what browser are you using to manage the router?
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49863
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04
« Reply #63 on: April 02, 2015, 01:26:02 PM »

Is XB1 still be mis-categorized for you? ???

http://gyazo.com/af7f6b6d6a10f07def3e026acf94f98e

Hard to tell, but the color is yellow for best fit on the amazon videos and there are 2 entries for it.

http://gyazo.com/48ae49636311ea0c3ff42a3ce728604a

Played Destiny on the Xbox One last night.  Comes up bittorrent AND for some reason CoD comes up.  I do not use any kind of torrent and what you see above was what is recorded just from my xbox.
Not asking for Destiny to be labeled, just asking for xbox to be labeled properly, if possible.  The way it is currently, it makes me think that the gaming aspect is being incorrectly prioritized because it is labeled as a torrent.

Could you post some pics of what your seeing regarding classification for examples?

Glad this version is working well. Seems to be getting there. Hope for one or two more good releases.  ::)

This version of firmware is the best for me, so far, thanks for that.

I am wondering if/when we will get proper classification of data.  Xbox one does not get classified (I think it gets classified as bittorrent), call of duty comes up when I am playing a different game all together.  Watching an Amazon video it gets classified as both Amazon video AND web video, not sure that is necessary. Also, gets classified at "Best fit" even when the device it is playing on has been listed as top priority.

If the prioritization of devices does not mean anything, I would like to have the ability to prioritize protocols or applications myself.  I don't know if that is possible, but I thought I would throw that out there.

My router has actually been up for 8 days and I have not seen any other issues.

Thanks guys,
DJ
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

djid10t

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
Re: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04
« Reply #64 on: April 03, 2015, 04:11:53 PM »

Yes, as well as Destiny.  I tried to reach out to Qualcomm about it and did not get a response back.  I fear they have given up, and combine that with your thought of end of dev life for the 5500, I feel that it is a lost cause anyway.  D-Link stabilized a lot of things in the last update, so we can be happy for that.

Thanks,
DJ
Logged
DGL-5500, DGL-4500, DIR-825(Running DD-WRT), DAP-1350, DI-524 - XBOX 360, XBOX One, Alienware m11x r2, m14x, Dell Venue Pro 8 tablet

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49863
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04
« Reply #65 on: April 03, 2015, 04:19:41 PM »

Thanks. I plan on putting my 5500 back online this weekend and check on the last few items myself. If there is anything else major, lets find out and i'll bring it to D-Links attention before they officially close on it.

Have a good weekend.

Yes, as well as Destiny.  I tried to reach out to Qualcomm about it and did not get a response back.  I fear they have given up, and combine that with your thought of end of dev life for the 5500, I feel that it is a lost cause anyway.  D-Link stabilized a lot of things in the last update, so we can be happy for that.

Thanks,
DJ
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49863
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04
« Reply #66 on: April 07, 2015, 06:59:04 AM »

Ok, 5500 back online. Apparently v1.13 B04 doesn't like a saved config from v1.13 B02. I loaded FW and then loaded the saved config file to see if I could by pass setting up from scratch. I could not gain access to the routers web page at all. Router status seemed fine. Power and Internet globes were all green. Just no access to UI. So I factory reset and set up from scratch.  ::) Left it alone and went to dinner. Came back later and SB and ABE completed it's test. The down was about 4Mb from spec. Up was spot on. I set up the IPs and such. Set up the 360 and set it as a priority 1. I gamed for a few hours last nite. Gaming was good.

My DIR-865L and 868L are bridged to the 5Ghz radio and working well from where they are placed at so far. Only other issue i had was reserving the specific IP address I normally use for my Mac Book Pro wireless. I saved the setting and reset the adapter on the Mac to clear out the previously assigned IP address, then it would try to connect and say theres a conflict for the IP address. So I picked a different address. The wired connection saved just fine for what I picked for it. I noticed there was two listing for the Mac Book Pro, one MAC was the wireless and the other listing was for the same item however the MAC address was all zeros.  ???

Other than the saved config file from previous verion and the one conflict in IP address, router seems to be running well. I'll check out the last known bugs listed.

Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5]