• December 01, 2021, 11:17:20 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DAP-1513 and DIR-645  (Read 8996 times)

trendal

  • Guest
DAP-1513 and DIR-645
« on: April 12, 2014, 10:21:09 AM »

I am having some trouble with my setup...I have a DIR-645 downstairs connected to my internet, and a DAP-1513 upstairs with my computer connected via ethernet. When I look at my bandwidth monitor, the connection keeps resetting or something every 5-6 seconds - the speed just drops to 0 for a very short time. It's really screwing up my online gaming...though it does happen regardless of what I am doing. The speed usually jumps back to what it was immediately following an event.

I don't think it's a signal issue...I'm sitting at 71% and get over 100Mbit/s. I also don't think it's a setting on the router, having tried all of them in all configurations!

I read that a cause could be my wireless bridge scanning the available channels...but I can't find a way to set it so it doesn't scan the channels any more.

Any ideas??
Logged

trendal

  • Guest
Re: DAP-1513 and DIR-645
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2014, 10:22:29 AM »

If this is in the wrong forum, I apologize...couldn't find the section for the DAP-1513!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49863
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DAP-1513 and DIR-645
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2014, 10:25:32 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under router.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?


What mode is the DAP running in? AP or bridge?

Wireless Configurations on the main host router
Links>Wireless Installation Considerations and Managing Signal Congestion and Good Neighbour Policy
  • Ensure the default (dlink) SSID name is changed. Can be anything and not something that's already in use by any neighboring WiFi routers. Under Setup/Wireless/Manual.
  • What wireless modes are you using?
  • 2.4Ghz Routers only: Try single mode G or N or mixed G and N?
  • Channel Width set for Auto 20/40Mhz or try 20Mhz only.
  • Try setting a manual Channel to a open or unused channel. 1, 6 or 11. 11 for single mode N if the channel is clear.
  • What security mode are you using? Preferred security is WPA-Personal. WPA2/AES Only. Some WiFi adapters don't support AES, so you might want to try TPIK only or Auto TPIK and AES.
  • What wireless devices do you have connected?
  • Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area? Link> Use InSSIDer to find out. How many?
  • If you have any of these options, Try turning OFF or ON Short GI, WLAN Partition, Extra Wireless Protection and HT 20/40 Co-existence if you have it. Also testing with HT20/40Mhz Co-existence enabled will impact results as well. I prefer to use this option OFF. Recommended settings are default. Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.
  • Enable WMM Enable Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.
  • Try setting Medium or Low power output settings and test again Under Advanced/Advanced Wireless.

Router Placement
Forum User - "Well I feel really dumb. After moving the router away from other electronic devices my speeds are back to normal. Just a heads up for anyone experiencing slow speeds, you might want to move it away from other electronics and see if that helps."
6" minimum safe distance between devices.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

trendal

  • Guest
Re: DAP-1513 and DIR-645
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2014, 10:54:40 AM »

Router: hardware A1, firmware 1.04
Bridge: hardware A1, firmware 1.02
Located in Canada

-have changed the SSID
-using modes b,g,n currently...problem exists if I try any combination of them
-channel width set to 20/40...same issue if I try 20 only
-using WPA2/AES...again problem occurs even if I turn it off
-just the DAP-1513 is connected to wireless right now
-no house phones, a few other routers in the houses close by, happens on any channel i choose
-none of these settings has any effect on the issue

Again, I think the issue is with the DAP-1513 rescanning the channels every few seconds...but I am unable to find a resolution.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49863
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DAP-1513 and DIR-645
« Reply #4 on: April 12, 2014, 10:58:15 AM »

  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
FW Update Process

Try WPA2 and TPIK only as a test on the main host router...?

I presume if this keeps doing this after all this, I would phone contact D-Link support and ask for help and information on this...it should not be doing this I believe...Keep us posted.
« Last Edit: April 12, 2014, 11:14:23 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49863
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DAP-1513 and DIR-645
« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2014, 12:58:08 PM »

Any status on this?  ???

I am having some trouble with my setup...I have a DIR-645 downstairs connected to my internet, and a DAP-1513 upstairs with my computer connected via ethernet. When I look at my bandwidth monitor, the connection keeps resetting or something every 5-6 seconds - the speed just drops to 0 for a very short time. It's really screwing up my online gaming...though it does happen regardless of what I am doing. The speed usually jumps back to what it was immediately following an event.

I don't think it's a signal issue...I'm sitting at 71% and get over 100Mbit/s. I also don't think it's a setting on the router, having tried all of them in all configurations!

I read that a cause could be my wireless bridge scanning the available channels...but I can't find a way to set it so it doesn't scan the channels any more.

Any ideas??
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.