• December 03, 2021, 09:49:07 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: DAP-1525 and DIR-857  (Read 14694 times)

wenwon

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
DAP-1525 and DIR-857
« on: April 06, 2014, 01:49:29 PM »

Hey furry, are you there? You've helped me before with my 857 router.

My issue is pretty simple. I'm trying to extend the range of my 857 router by using the 1525 as an access point. I've got the 857 in the front of my home and the 1525 in the back of my home. The main issue is that when I'm in the back of the house, none of my iDevices hop on to the access point. Therefore I lose 5 ghz connectivity in the rear of the home.

I've got both 5 ghz networks configured differently with the exception of the channels being different. What am i doing wrong?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49865
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DAP-1525 and DIR-857
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2014, 01:56:46 PM »

Depending on how the devices are designed, they may not automatically roam and switch the the better signal, you'll have to reboot or disable the devices wifi temporarily then turn it back on to have the device re-acquire the better signal...
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

wenwon

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
Re: DAP-1525 and DIR-857
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2014, 02:01:54 PM »

They used to roam ok in my old house.  Would this be the case for an ipad and iPhone?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49865
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DAP-1525 and DIR-857
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2014, 02:04:23 PM »

Not sure, i'd run some tests, disable the WiFi on each device at each location and see what they pick up. If they don't pick up the 1525 when they are near that, then possible that something isn't right...If you didn't change anything between the old location and the new location, things should work...

How far away is the DAP from the DIR?
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

wenwon

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
Re: DAP-1525 and DIR-857
« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2014, 02:05:31 PM »

I Remember that you gave me DNS values to place in my Wifi settings. Would this have an effect for the ipad or iPhone?
Logged

wenwon

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
Re: DAP-1525 and DIR-857
« Reply #5 on: April 06, 2014, 02:08:40 PM »

Not sure, i'd run some tests, disable the WiFi on each device at each location and see what they pick up. If they don't pick up the 1525 when they are near that, then possible that something isn't right...If you didn't change anything between the old location and the new location, things should work...

How far away is the DAP from the DIR?

They're about 30 feet away from each other
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49865
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DAP-1525 and DIR-857
« Reply #6 on: April 06, 2014, 02:15:26 PM »

DNS values would me for entire internet access both LAN wired and wireless. It won't effect device connections on Wifi to router or DAP.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

wenwon

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
Re: DAP-1525 and DIR-857
« Reply #7 on: April 06, 2014, 02:20:52 PM »

I just ran a few tests. I disabled the devices wifi and they won't connect to the access point. I really think this has to do with these DNS values we placed in the wifi settings for each device. What do you think?
Logged

wenwon

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
Re: DAP-1525 and DIR-857
« Reply #8 on: April 06, 2014, 02:21:23 PM »

DNS values would me for entire internet access both LAN wired and wireless. It won't effect device connections on Wifi to router or DAP.

Ok understood
Logged

wenwon

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
Re: DAP-1525 and DIR-857
« Reply #9 on: April 06, 2014, 02:26:29 PM »

So if the devices don't automatically switch to the AP, what would the next step be to resolve this
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49865
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DAP-1525 and DIR-857
« Reply #10 on: April 06, 2014, 03:56:08 PM »

yes...
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

wenwon

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
Re: DAP-1525 and DIR-857
« Reply #11 on: April 08, 2014, 07:24:08 AM »

So I figured out the issue. I'm not able to join the DAP-1525  network. I tested the device by making it broadcast another network name and for some reason, I'm unable to join it from my iPad or iPhone. I updated the firmware to 1.02 and I'm still not having any luck. Any suggestions?

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49865
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DAP-1525 and DIR-857
« Reply #12 on: April 08, 2014, 07:50:44 AM »

Did you do a factory reset on the DAP before loading FW then one after?

I'd disable the WiFi security on the DAP and test to see if any of the devices can connect to it?
What iOS are the devices?
Single mode N, WPA2/AES should work....
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

wenwon

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
Re: DAP-1525 and DIR-857
« Reply #13 on: April 08, 2014, 08:11:52 AM »

I did every one of those steps. It's still not working. Running the latest iOS on both devices 7.1 This is very weird. Any other suggestions? Is there anything that I should be checking in the router it's connected to?
Logged

wenwon

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
Re: DAP-1525 and DIR-857
« Reply #14 on: April 08, 2014, 08:18:21 AM »

I just unplugged the device for about one minute. When I replug it in the wall, the device is only showing me a power button light. I have no other status lights on. Would this be an indication of something being wrong?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2