• January 23, 2022, 11:34:10 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Limited network  (Read 4195 times)

dargelot

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Limited network
« on: January 30, 2014, 07:40:14 AM »

Hi,

I have a problem with DIR-657, very similar to this. I try some what FurryNutz write down in the anserw but the problem still live. I use DIGI net in Hungary. My net speed is 80/25, and the speedtest.net comfirm the speed always, so the net speed not getting low when the problem comes. The net comes to a Huawei teminal then to the router. The problem is on cable net and wifi too. As u see i have got the lastest firmware. I had a Windows 8.1 x64 OS. The hardware version of my router is A1. So when the problem comes, some page is time out. The Chrome said: ERR_CONNECTION_TIMED_OUT. I want fix the problem alone but i cant. When i try fix it i do the tracert,ping command on the problem peroid on the problem pages:
traceroute from net
ping from net
ping from cmd
I hope these help something. So after these tryings, i saw the linked topic. I changed the DNS as here write down.
I tuned the MTU as here write down. Now mine is 1462+28=1490
I turn off all QoS and enable Multi-cast Streaming but the problem still lives, but as i feel not as common as before.
And sorry for my bad english.

dargelot
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49884
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Limited network
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2014, 07:55:05 AM »

Link>Welcome!

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • If this modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there isn't a ##.##.###.### address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ. Also check the routers DHCP IP address maybe conflicting with the ISP modems IP address 192.168.0.1. Check to see if this is the same on the ISP modem and if modem can't be bridged. If so, change the DIR router to 192.168.1.1 or .0.254.
    Example of a D-Link router configured for PPPoE with ISP Modem bridged: PPPoE Configuration on Router

Also check your DNS entries, 192.168.0.1 is on a valid DNS entry. Use either your ISPs default DNS addresses or follow this to find better DNS:
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49884
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Limited network
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2014, 01:03:54 PM »

Any status on this?  ???
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.