• December 08, 2021, 09:28:18 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: DSR-500 locks up  (Read 77372 times)

lewiskerns

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
DSR-500 locks up
« on: July 24, 2013, 11:49:16 AM »

We replaced an existing VPN router in our network with a new DSR-500 (HW ver A1,Firmware Version 1.06B43_WW).  The DSR-500 was programmed with the same features as our previous router which included 3 public IPs, approximately 32 firewall rules, and one VPN connection.

The router locked up in about 12 hours and would not allow any traffic through, and would not respond to the web or console interfaces.  The router had to be power cycled to get it to function again.

The router continued to lock up every 18-24 hours.

We programmed a second, new DSR-500 the same as the first and swapped the routers.  The second router also locked up every 18 -24 hours.

We then split our network functions between the two DSR-500 routers, moving one public IP and the VPN connection to the second router.  Both routers continue to lock up.

Per Dlink tech support, I performed a factory reset on the first router and restored the configuration.  Both routers continue to lock up.

I contacted Dlink tech support two weeks ago and the case and logs files have been "endorsed" to an engineer, but no resolution yet.

Anyone experiencing any similar lock ups or freezes with the DSR-500?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49868
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DSR-500 locks up
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2013, 11:59:39 AM »

Link>Welcome!
  • What region are you located?

I would presume that using 2 same model routers and both doing the same thing, might be something with the connected devices and or cabling? CAT 6 is recommended.

I would try the following, disconnect ALL wired and wireless devices accept for one wired PC. Test with one wired PC and see if any lock ups occur. Then add either another wired devices or wireless device. Graduate adding them and see if the router locks up.

[/list]
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

lewiskerns

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: DSR-500 locks up
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2013, 12:46:51 PM »

Thanks for the reply.  We're in southeast Virginia.

The network has worked well for over 4 years.  The only change has been to swap out the existing netgear router for the DSR-500.  We've baslically already done what you suggest when we split our network into two networks using two DSR-500s.  We maintained our web/email on one DSR-500, and moved our VPN connection and backups to the second DSR.  The second DSR is connected to only one server.  Both DSRs continue to lock up.  We have also tried removing the VPN connection to see if that was causing the problem, but the lock-ups continued.

That leaves, as the only common equipment, the cable modem and a Dlink switch between the modem and the routers.  We also have a DSR-250 connected to the same switch (and cable modem) running another network that has worked well for at least 6 months.  Our ISP had some significant backbone issues last month and used us to help debug the issues.  During that process, they replaced all of the cable lines from the street to our modem, replaced our modem, and tested network connections throughout our facility.  Since then, the only change has been the DSR-500.

If its something in our network, the Netgear was ignoring it.

The other thing I found curious is the DSR's shipped to us with firmware 1.06.  But according to the Dlink website, 1.04 is the latest.  I was offered 1.08 (beta) by one tech, but after further review of my case he said that we should not update the firmware.
« Last Edit: July 24, 2013, 12:50:07 PM by lewiskerns »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49868
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DSR-500 locks up
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2013, 01:44:41 PM »

I would attempt to remove the switch as a test to see if there is any continuation of the problem. I would also attempt to take one of the 500's and move it to a different location, can you test one out at home by chance? It can be set up for a simple test on a home network to see. I would presume that even if the symptoms persist there that there is a problem with the 500.

As for FW, the most current version of FW that is released and not sure why it's not on the main site yet is DSR-500 A1 v1.08B51_WW.

I would try testing the above suggestion. If it still locks up, I would phone contact D-Link support and have them run thru there troubleshooting information and see if there is any thing they can do to figure this out, before updating FW.

Keep us posted.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

lewiskerns

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: DSR-500 locks up
« Reply #4 on: July 25, 2013, 06:43:59 AM »

After two weeks of calls to tech support, I was finally able to get an engineer to talk to me about the logs I had been sending in.  There were errors in the logs they've never seen before.  He was going to send me a (beta) firmware update to try.  I'll post the results when I have them, but I won't be able to take the network down long enough to do the upgrades until this weekend.

We have other DSR-500's installed at customer sites, but those are all running older versions of the firmware (1.03B23 & 1.04B58).  Those routers have not experienced the lock up problems, but do not experience the same level of traffic either.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49868
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DSR-500 locks up
« Reply #5 on: July 25, 2013, 06:57:48 AM »

Keep us posted please.  ;)
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49868
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DSR-500 locks up
« Reply #6 on: August 05, 2013, 09:28:37 AM »

Any status on this  ???
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

lewiskerns

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: DSR-500 locks up
« Reply #7 on: August 05, 2013, 12:00:01 PM »

This issue is still unresolved, but here's an update.

On Saturday, 7/27, I replaced both 500's with our old Netgear router and adjusted my servers back to the original config.  I then installed firmware version 1.08 (provided by Dlink) on both 500s, and then re-programmed our configurations.  To aid in debugging, we changed our configurations slightly as follows:

Router 1: handles a single public IP and connects to our web and email server

Router 2: handles 2 public IPs and handles our office computers, servers, VPN to remote office, and VPN passthrough used by our customers to connect to our backup server.

Router 3 is also a DSR-500 (I mistakenly listed it as a DSR-250 earlier), handles a single IP, and is used by our production group for computer build ups and repairs.  This router is running firmware 1.03, has been in service for many months, and has not had any issues.

Routers 1 and 2 were placed back into service in the network at noon on 7/27.  By 11pm, router 2 had locked up with the same errors.  Router 2 has continued to lock up every 12 hours or so since.

Dlink engineers have stated that we are overloading the router and offered to RMA the one router.  I was quite surprised by this comment.  We bought 4 500s at the same time and have several other, previously purchased, in the field in use at customer locations (firmware versions 1.03 and 1.04), so we are still evaluating what to do with these routers.  We're working with our customers to see if they are having similar issues.

As one more test, I am currently installing firmware 1.04B58 (available on the web site as the latest) into a third 500, and will be swapping it out with router 2 to see if it continues to fail.

I'll post an update once this latest test is compete.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49868
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DSR-500 locks up
« Reply #8 on: August 05, 2013, 12:13:10 PM »

Any chance you can regress back to v1.03?

Keep us posted.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

lewiskerns

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: DSR-500 locks up
« Reply #9 on: August 05, 2013, 02:47:57 PM »

I currently do not have access to a copy of 1.03.  1.04B58 is the only one available on the web site.  If 1.04 fails, I can ask the DLink engineers for a link to download 1.03.
Logged

lewiskerns

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: DSR-500 locks up
« Reply #10 on: August 08, 2013, 07:37:52 AM »

Update.
I was provided a link to a web site with all of the firmware versions for the 500 by a dlink engineer.

I started with 1.04B58, but there must be a compatibility issue or something as many of the configuration pages in the GUI were not correct.  For example, the WAN 1 setup screen did not contain fields for gateway, DNS, etc, but instead requested maximum idle time and second set of IP/max idle time.  Using the internet wizard, I was able to enter the proper information, but then the firewall rules, vpn, and other pages were also incorrect.  I forwarded screen shots to Dlink, and they suggested I re-install the firmware.

I reinstalled 1.04 again and had the same issues.

I then installed 1.03B23, and again had the same configuration screen issues.

The web site had an updated version of the 1.08 firmware I was given a couple weeks ago, 1.08B51.  So I installed that, uploaded the saved config file from the router that was still crashing every 12 hours, and placed the new router in service at 6pm last night.  So far, it is still running.

One thing I have noticed with the new firmware is that I am no longer getting this error message in the log:

[DSR-500][System][NIMF] dbRecordValueGet failed for rowid column

Previously, I was getting this message every couple of minutes.

I'll post another update in a day or two to let you know if I have experienced any more crashes.


Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49868
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DSR-500 locks up
« Reply #11 on: August 08, 2013, 07:45:47 AM »

I suggest follow this for doing FW updates:
FW Update Process

Helps to ensure that FW is getting loaded correctly. Also I would recommend after the last factory reset, don't reload any saved configurations from file. Could be possible that something in the configuration files are not setting right or corrupting the UI. Set up from scratch after each factory reset and check the UI.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

lewiskerns

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: DSR-500 locks up
« Reply #12 on: August 08, 2013, 08:58:09 AM »

Each time I installed the firmware, I followed the steps you listed, as requested by the Dlink Engineers who provided the firmware updates.

Except for this last time, I also manually programmed the configuration, via the GUI, without using a backup config file in case there was an error in the previous programming.  Given this was the dozenth time or so I had installed firmware in one of these routers, I simply used the backup config for this last effort.  I also provided a copy of this config to the Dlink engineers, but did not get any feedback on its contents.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49868
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DSR-500 locks up
« Reply #13 on: August 08, 2013, 09:00:35 AM »

Ok, was just wondering...really seems like there could be an issue here with these routers...
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49868
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DSR-500 locks up
« Reply #14 on: August 08, 2013, 09:38:22 AM »

This issue is still unresolved, but here's an update.

On Saturday, 7/27, I replaced both 500's with our old Netgear router and adjusted my servers back to the original config.  I then installed firmware version 1.08 (provided by Dlink) on both 500s, and then re-programmed our configurations.  To aid in debugging, we changed our configurations slightly as follows:

Router 1: handles a single public IP and connects to our web and email server

Router 2: handles 2 public IPs and handles our office computers, servers, VPN to remote office, and VPN passthrough used by our customers to connect to our backup server. Any chance you can swap Router 2 with Router 3 below to see if the problem follows? I'm curious if this network setup on Router 2 could be a culprit in the router hangs.

Router 3 is also a DSR-500 (I mistakenly listed it as a DSR-250 earlier), handles a single IP, and is used by our production group for computer build ups and repairs.  This router is running firmware 1.03, has been in service for many months, and has not had any issues.

Routers 1 and 2 were placed back into service in the network at noon on 7/27.  By 11pm, router 2 had locked up with the same errors.  Router 2 has continued to lock up every 12 hours or so since.

Dlink engineers have stated that we are overloading the router and offered to RMA the one router.  I was quite surprised by this comment.  We bought 4 500s at the same time and have several other, previously purchased, in the field in use at customer locations (firmware versions 1.03 and 1.04), so we are still evaluating what to do with these routers.  We're working with our customers to see if they are having similar issues.

As one more test, I am currently installing firmware 1.04B58 (available on the web site as the latest) into a third 500, and will be swapping it out with router 2 to see if it continues to fail.

I'll post an update once this latest test is compete.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.
Pages: [1] 2