• November 30, 2021, 04:40:38 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DWA 556 on Vista 64 / Win7 64 / Win8 64  (Read 24951 times)

tiberiu.dubau

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
DWA 556 on Vista 64 / Win7 64 / Win8 64
« on: August 23, 2012, 09:27:20 AM »

Cheera all,

I have a severe problem here, with a DWA-556 wireless card. It doesn't work as intended, let me elaborate: it ONLY works right after a fresh OS install, after the first reboot, poof! it's gone! Like it's not even inserted into the motherboard - it doesn't appear on the device manager, the DLink CD doesn't do the trick (ie. the drivers there don't get installed at all, because it doesn't see the card). The green led light flashes intermittently but no joy. Not even if I change the slot (PCIe x4 / x16), the card is not seen...
Any ideas? Any thoughts?
Anything would be greatly appreciated!!!!

Thank you,
Tiberiu D.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49863
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DWA 556 on Vista 64 / Win7 64 / Win8 64
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2012, 10:05:58 AM »

Try a different PC to see if the card is installable there?
Is the fresh install of the OS updated with MS updates and service packs?
Try installing drivers from the DLink web site? Usually more up to date than whats on the CD.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

tiberiu.dubau

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: DWA 556 on Vista 64 / Win7 64 / Win8 64
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2012, 05:45:29 AM »

Try a different PC to see if the card is installable there?
That's really not an option - if it works there, then what? I need it to work on a specific computer, I really can't swap it around...

Is the fresh install of the OS updated with MS updates and service packs?
As fresh as it can be... Meaning Windows Update does install *somethings* but after the mandatory restart, seeing as my link to the internet goes puuf! along with my card, I can't be sure I have EVERY update to date...

Try installing drivers from the DLink web site? Usually more up to date than whats on the CD.
I did install the latest and greatest (along with the OS), I belive I am now running something called 2.20(e)b02 extracted from an atheros_wifi_9.2.0.206 archive - although why is it called atheros, I don't know...

This trully is a pickle, isn't it?

T.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49863
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DWA 556 on Vista 64 / Win7 64 / Win8 64
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2012, 12:13:59 PM »


That's really not an option - if it works there, then what? I need it to work on a specific computer, I really can't swap it around...I suggest you find another PC to test this adapter out on. Reason being is to tell you the problem either is with the adapter or the HW on your original PC that you have this installed on. If it works on the 2nd PC then you know the adapter is good and working. If not then you know the adapter is at fault.

As fresh as it can be... Meaning Windows Update does install *somethings* but after the mandatory restart, seeing as my link to the internet goes puuf! along with my card, I can't be sure I have EVERY update to date...Are the SPs installed as well?

I did install the latest and greatest (along with the OS), I belive I am now running something called 2.20(e)b02 extracted from an atheros_wifi_9.2.0.206 archive - although why is it called atheros, I don't know...The core chip used with in the adapter is made my Atheros.

This trully is a pickle, isn't it? Just need to narrow down what is at fault here. If it had been working then now it doesn't, usually means something has changed on the PC it's installed on.


Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.