• July 04, 2022, 05:14:55 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DAP-1525  (Read 4822 times)

Bascott

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
DAP-1525
« on: January 31, 2012, 06:46:43 PM »

Okay...I do not get this whole networking thing.  I have a BELKIN router that I recently moved by the new Samsung Smart TV along with the cable modem (hardwired directly to tv).  So everything (computers, IPADs, Iphones, laptops...etc) is now wireless...no computer is hardwired to the modem.  

I went to Office Max to find a booster and ended up taking a chance on the DAP-1525.  Now that I have it I am realizing from other articles that the only way to use it to amplify is to hook directly to router and hope it will now cover the whole house.  

If router is not physically connected to a pc can I still configure the DAP-1525???  
I am guessing I hook the DAP-1525 directly to a LAN port on the router.  DOes it automatically amplify or do I still have to do some configurations to this gadget?  Can someone put the installation instructions in laymen's terms????  I assume this would be in "AP" mode????

HELPPPPPPPPPPPPP ??? ??? ???

I did set up a network name and pass key for the Dap-1525 - I guess I now can just plug into the LAN port on belkin router - right?  I should be able to access it her the router or amplifier?
« Last Edit: January 31, 2012, 07:15:15 PM by Bascott »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49916
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DAP-1525
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2012, 09:54:06 AM »

You can configure the DAP from a wireless connection however I believe you might want to connect via wired initially to get into the DAP web page and configure it that way first. You can do this directly with a PC to the DAP or while it's connected to the host router with the PC connected there as well.

Once thats all done then yes you can configure the DAP from a wireless devices by going to it's default IP address.

Yes, this model can be used in AP mode, however you will need to connect it wired to your host routers open and free LAN port on the back.

You should be able to use the set up wizard on the web page for the DAP to get it going.

Let us know if you need more help.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

Bascott

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: DAP-1525
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2012, 12:58:04 PM »

2mghz or 5?  It's set up with different SSID's but same password...should not be a problem?  You are either logging into one or the other - right?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49916
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DAP-1525
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2012, 07:13:45 AM »

I would set each radio to a different SSID name so that you will know what radio your connecting too, either 2.4 or 5Ghz. Yes the PW can be the same for each SSID. Logging into either just depends on which radio your connected too at the time.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.