• May 16, 2022, 02:52:42 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DIR-657 and ATM protocol  (Read 10709 times)

ConnieD

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
DIR-657 and ATM protocol
« on: August 21, 2011, 12:23:45 PM »

I have Qwest/CenturyLink ATM protocol available in this service area, either that or a two-year contract with Bresnan/Optimum West cable.

The Qwest/CenturyLink modem has a Line IN and a Phone IN: I have to use the Line IN.

I do not want to make their modem a bridge, thus pay for two modems: their modem and the N-WiFI modem I need for a N-WiFI flatscreen for Netflix. I would like to have one modem only, if possible. Pay once.

QwestCenturyLink refuses to sell or rent their N-WiFI modem for this service area, explaining this service area is ATM protocol. I have to think, the modem does not have a Line IN. Maybe, however, it is a firmware problem.

I got Qwest 7 MB/sec internet service for the N-WiFI flatscreen for Netflix, and maybe VoIP.

I do use Port Forwarding for amateur radio Echolink.

I particularly like being able to "login" to my modem, frequently change the 104-bit password, and block MAC ID's.

I like D-Link modems.

I am thinking I may like the DIR-657. However, it has to be optimized for Qwest ATM protocol "settings" they will not reveal.

I have only been able to get the IP address.

I got the Qwest/CenturyLink service specifically for N-WiFI flatscreen for Netflix I want to purchase.

I can't get straight answers from Qwest/CenturyLink.

I am reluctant to change to Bresnan/Optimum West cable, also available here, because their business model is identical: no price information on the website, Chat is "not authorized" to answer those questions, Tech Support is not available in advance (Tech Support has no answers, either, after I signed up with Qwest), and email Support provides more misdirection and evasions of providing the facts.

It has taken me 4-months to find out this much.

Maybe this forum is the right place to find answers?




Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-657 and ATM protocol
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2011, 01:51:45 PM »

If these ISP modems have built in routers, it's preferred to bridge them so that you can take advantage of the external router features that these routers have. Most of the time they have alot more features then ISP modems. Having 2 routers on the same line causes connections issues with gaming and specialized applications. If your able to bridge the ISP modem then you can use the 657 has the main router.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

ConnieD

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: DIR-657 and ATM protocol
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2011, 04:43:33 PM »

Here is what Qwest Tech Support replied:

Quote
Qwest does not provide technical support for connecting 3rd party
equipment to our modems.  This being said, the most common difficulty
people encounter is when the router they are attempting to connect
shares the same IP address as the modem.  All Qwest modems use the IP
address 192.168.0.1.  Refer to the documentation provided by your router
manufacturer to determine your router�s IP address and for instructions
on how to change that IP address.  Our recommendation would be to change
the 3rd octet of the IP address to ensure it does not overlap the
modem�s functionality.  For example: If your router�s IP address is
192.168.0.1, change the zero to any number between 1 and 254 (sample:  
192.168.10.1).

An alternative method would be to place our modem into �Bridged Mode�,
thus bypassing all modem functions.  Qwest does not provide support for
this mode.  You can locate instructions for enabling this mode here:
http://www.Qwest.com/internethelp/modems.html.   Be advised; if you opt
to use this method, your router will need to support PPPoE
authentication and it will need to be manually configured with your
account PPP username and password.  Please refer to your router
manufacturer�s documentation regarding this capability and
configuration.

Here is the page: http://qwest.centurylink.com/internethelp/modem-pk5000.html

The instruction for Bridging is a PDF. The selection "transparent bridging" is simple enough.

Qwest/CenturyLink sent the PK5000 with G-WiFI, in spite of the fact I was very clear I wanted a N-WiFI modem and I would purchase a N-WiFI modem elsewhere. I REALLY do not want to pay for two modems.

Is it really better to have the ISP modem bridged, and so, have two modems?

Does this D-Link N-WiFI modem take "ATM protocol" input at the Phone IN? Then, only one modem is needed.

Phone is Phone OUT?
« Last Edit: August 22, 2011, 12:25:51 AM by ConnieD »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-657 and ATM protocol
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2011, 06:59:19 AM »

Your correct, the PHONE OUT is a jack for any house phone that you'd like to connect to the ISP modem.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

ConnieD

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: DIR-657 and ATM protocol
« Reply #4 on: August 22, 2011, 08:47:20 AM »

Here, this added to the "confusion".

The ActionTec GT784WN N-WiFI modem "Datasheet PDF" shows one input labelled Phone.

I would rather have a cell phone or VoIP, than a "landline phone".

However, according to ActionTec Tech Support, the Actiontec GT784WN N-WiFI modem would actually replace all current hardware. The GT784WN is not a router, it is a modem\router Gateway device. The phone line would connect to the GT unit.

Here is ActionTec Tech Support reply:

Quote
The GT784WN has a in line port for the DSL phone line only, there is no port to connect a telephone too.

The modem can be configured to connect to QWest DSL by simply configuring the connection and selecting the PPPoA conneciton in the Quick Setup and changing the VPI and VCI values under Advanced Setup\Broadband Settings to 0 and 32.

There simply isn't a phone line port though to connect a telephone too, only the Qwest supplied modems have a DSL Line port and telephone port.

The Actiontec would actually replace all current hardware. The GT784WN is not a router, it is a modem\router Gateway device. The phone line would connect to the GT unit.

You would then open your browser and type 192.168.0.1 in the Address bar and hit enter.

Click Manual Setup\at the top click on Advanced Setup\to your left click the words Broadband Settings. Set the VPI and VCI values to 0 and 32 and apply Click Quick Setup\click.

Next Select PPPoE and enter your Qwest account username\password and apply.

Once the Internet LED is GREEN, follow these instructions to locate\configure the wireless settings.

From a computer connected to the unit by ethernet, open your browser and type 192.168.0.1 in the Address Bar, hit enter.

Click Manual setup if the setup menu appears, if not, click the Wireless Setup icon.

Make sure Wireless is on. The network name is the signal source name. If you change this, type the new name is all CAPITAL LETTERS.

The security is already enabled. The default key is all CAPITAL LETTERS.

If you wish to change the password, be aware the password is case sensitive.

Once your changes have been made click apply and let the page reload.

The settings are now active.

Nevertheless, if I can have D-Link "do it all" D-Link products are my first choice.
« Last Edit: August 22, 2011, 08:53:53 AM by ConnieD »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-657 and ATM protocol
« Reply #5 on: August 22, 2011, 08:54:36 AM »

Yep, this modems only has on INPUT for the PHONE line.

Ya, it's preferred and recommended to buy your own ISP modem HW if the ISPs will do that. There are a few that won't. Most do though. And besides, usually the features of the HW you buy are way better then ISP HW. You only get the basics from ISP HW. Pretty much bottom of the barrel.  ::)
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

ConnieD

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: DIR-657 and ATM protocol
« Reply #6 on: August 22, 2011, 12:44:40 PM »

Is there a D-Link N-WiFI modem\router Gateway device, that will handle ATM protocol and has RJ11 telephone line input?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-657 and ATM protocol
« Reply #7 on: August 22, 2011, 01:48:00 PM »

I think the DSL-2640B DSL WiFi modem and router will. Not sure about the WiFi, Might be only G, however if this router works for you, you could put on a DAP-1525 add-on that would broadcast N for you.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

ConnieD

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: DIR-657 and ATM protocol
« Reply #8 on: August 22, 2011, 05:33:27 PM »

I read about "ATM Over ADSL" at alliedtelesis.com/media/fount/software_reference/271/ar400/adsl.pdf

The DSL-2640B specifications and Datasheet http://www.dlink.com/products/?pid=567 are "more than adequate" for handling ATM Protocol. It is G-WiFI however.

The N-WiFI flatscreen for Netflix is very specific although we know D-Link provides more bang-for-your-buck.

The DAP-1525 add-on turns G-WiFI into dual-band N-WiFI?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-657 and ATM protocol
« Reply #9 on: August 22, 2011, 07:04:41 PM »

I Think it would, you could run the DAP as a N only AP and still run the G on the DSL modem just fine.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

ConnieD

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: DIR-657 and ATM protocol
« Reply #10 on: August 23, 2011, 10:09:18 AM »

The DAP uses RAM to accomplish this?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-657 and ATM protocol
« Reply #11 on: August 23, 2011, 10:17:17 AM »

RAM  ??? Not sure what you mean? Only think you would need to do is to wire connect the DAP to the DSL modem/router then set the DAP wireless mode to Single mode N.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

ConnieD

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: DIR-657 and ATM protocol
« Reply #12 on: August 23, 2011, 11:10:42 AM »

I was thinking maybe the DAP reprocesses the signal.

Maybe the DAP has a CPU chip and RAM memory to achieve this?

I guess you're right. The DAP is probably grabbing the input off the modem.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DIR-657 and ATM protocol
« Reply #13 on: August 23, 2011, 11:31:47 AM »

Well the DAP can either be on a wired connection I believe and act as a AP or be a bridge and be wireless connected to the G radio on the DSL modem. I recommend using the DAP as a AP and have it wired so it can attain a fast connection using wire.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.