• January 25, 2022, 08:53:56 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Issue with UPnP setup with Windows Home Server  (Read 9579 times)

jeffpr

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Issue with UPnP setup with Windows Home Server
« on: August 16, 2011, 10:21:30 AM »

I just replaced a Cisco Linksys router with a DIR-657.  Although UPnP is enabled in the DIR-657, the Windows Home Server reports that it is unable to configfure the router to enable remote access.

I could configure the ports manually, but I'd rather have UPnP working.

Any Ideas?

Thanks.

Jeff
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49886
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Issue with UPnP setup with Windows Home Server
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2011, 10:47:56 AM »

What HW version is your router?
What FW version is currently loaded?

Ensure DNS IP addresses are being filled in under Setup/Internet/Manual?
Turn off QoS options.
Turn off Advanced DNS Services if you have this option.
Turn on DNS Relay under Setup/Networking.
Setup DHCP reserved IP addresses for all devices on the router.
Ensure devices are set to auto obtain an IP address.

Set Firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for TCP and UDP.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

jeffpr

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Issue with UPnP setup with Windows Home Server
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2011, 11:39:53 AM »

Thanks for your help.

Hardware Version: A1   
Firmware Version: 1.00

The Comacast DNS server addresses have been auto populated
QoS engine is now off
DNS is now set to "Obtain Automatically from ISP" (was set to Advanced)
DNS Relay was on
I reserved the address for the devices on the network, and all are set to use DHCP
I updated the firewall settings to Endpoint Independent for UDP & TCP

Windows Home Server now reports that it can successfully configure the router for remote access, but fails at the next step of checking that the server is accessible from the internet.  So, some progress...

Why would all these settings have to be changed from defaults?  My previous 2 routers worked out of box for this scenario.

Thanks again.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49886
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Issue with UPnP setup with Windows Home Server
« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2011, 11:49:05 AM »

Not sure exactly why Dlink routers are different from others in this aspect. I have noticed that if using Dlink routers out of the box, they work for general home user network applications. However getting into more specialized networking such as gaming and home servers and such, I've noticed that usually settings up reserved IP addressing on the router seems to effect use of these applications better is only one thought.

It's possible that you might have to set up either virtual server or port forwarding using the ports the Home server uses to allow out side traffic to gain access. If that what you want to do.  ;)

One other thing to consider too that the 4 ports on the back are considered a swtich however keep in mind that router processing still effects data on these ports. Should you really want the router not to do any processing of connected devices, I recommend adding on an additional network switch and connect all wired devices to it, this help eliminate unnecessary router processing on traffic between devices that it really doesn't need to do. Like on my router, I have a 24 port Gb switch with all wired devices that need to be connected, connected to it. My xboxes are the only thing directly connected to the router for QoS management and processing. Something to consider.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

TwinLinked

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Issue with UPnP setup with Windows Home Server
« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2011, 07:04:07 AM »

For windows home server to pass that internet test you have to Reserve a static IP on your router then set up port forwarding under the virtual server setting. 80 (http), 443 (https), 4125 (Microsoft's remote web) and 3389 (RDP) On your home server set your ip to static with the address you put in your router.

You may refer to this link http://social.technet.microsoft.com/wiki/contents/articles/windows-home-server-router-setup.aspx#DlinkDIR825

I have WHS 2011 setup on this router (though the wireless doesn't work right)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49886
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Issue with UPnP setup with Windows Home Server
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2012, 07:31:43 AM »

Any status on this?  ???
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.