• December 02, 2021, 04:59:34 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: DAP-1555 < DAP-1522?  (Read 32198 times)

Cranium

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
DAP-1555 < DAP-1522?
« on: August 13, 2008, 11:11:04 AM »

This may seem like a silly statement but here goes....

Why does the DAP-1555 cost 50% more than the DAP-1522? 

The DAP-1555 only has a 10/100 switch; whereas, the DAP-1522 has a 10/100/1000 switch.  It seems that a good 5Ghz connection (300Mbs) with the DAP-1555 being used as a bridge will be slowed down by the switch (100Mbs)?

I do see that the DAP-1555 does support additional standards (802.11 a/b) but if I'm wanting just a bridge, would the DAP-1522 be a better solution than the DAP-1555?

I will be bridging from an 802.11g network currently in place and will be upgrading to an 802.11n router once the DIR-855 is out [again] for a bit.

Logged

AWDL

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 335
Re: DAP-1555 < DAP-1522?
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2008, 12:18:31 PM »

Why does the DAP-1555 cost 50% more than the DAP-1522? 

External Antenna and 5 10/100 ports (500 Mbps ethernet pipe to wireless radio)

Quote


The DAP-1555 only has a 10/100 switch; whereas, the DAP-1522 has a 10/100/1000 switch. 

 It seems that a good 5Ghz connection (300Mbs) with the DAP-1555 being used as a bridge will be slowed down by the switch (100Mbs)?

Depends on how many ports you use. With the wrong gigabit card the media node could be the slow part to the connection.


Quote
would the DAP-1522 be a better solution than the DAP-1555?

I will be bridging from an 802.11g network currently in place and will be upgrading to an 802.11n router once the DIR-855 is out [again] for a bit.

For the price and functionality the DAP-1522 is a good solution. If speed or "numbers" is your quest then YMMV.
Logged
Meanest person you know

Cranium

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
Re: DAP-1555 < DAP-1522?
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2008, 01:12:44 PM »

External Antenna and 5 10/100 ports (500 Mbps ethernet pipe to wireless radio)

The external antenna does seem like it would be better.  I couldn't find the specs for the internal antenna on the DAP-1522.  The DAP-1555 is rated at 2dBi.  Do you happen to know the transmit specs for the devices?

I have to question your port reasoning though:
500Mbps to the wireless radio?  Isn't this basically just a switch with an additional monitored port?   Each port would still only have 100Mbps available to it.  And if 500Mbps is true for the DAP-1555 then the DAP-1522 must have 4000Mbps to the wireles radio (4 1000 ports).  I must be missing something.

Thanks in advance for the info.

Logged

AWDL

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 335
Re: DAP-1555 < DAP-1522?
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2008, 06:57:36 PM »

You aren't missing anything.

5 port X 100Mbps = 500Mbps ethernet on DAP-1555

4port X 1000Mbps = 4000Mbps ethernet on DAP-1522 (a good LAN switch if you aren't sending traffic over the up to 300Mbps wireless radio)
Logged
Meanest person you know

Cranium

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
Re: DAP-1555 < DAP-1522?
« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2008, 09:42:10 PM »

ok...thanks.

Does the DAP-1555 have a lot better range than the DAP-1522 with the external antennas?  Is the power output the same?
Logged

Lycan

  • Administrator
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5335
Re: DAP-1555 < DAP-1522?
« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2008, 10:01:42 AM »

The DAP-1522 suffers a little more from interference then the 1555 because of the internal antennas, but the benefits outweigh the signal issue.
First the DAP-1555 is actually a DIR-655 with the NAT CPU replaced by another switch CPU, but for some reason it's VLAN'd. That means port 0 can't talk to ports 1-4. I'm not really sure what the benefit was for doing this, but it makes the unit a little less practical for most end users. Then there's the Gigabit ports on the 1522 that ROCK.
It's a Realtek switch with a rated throughput of about 750Mbps. Pretty fast for a device that size. All in all, a nice compact AP that offers robust bridging functionality on both 5 and 2.4ghz bandwidths.
LEDs could be dimmed al little however, it's hard to sleep in my room when that thing is on.

:)
Logged

aleicgrant

  • Guest
Re: DAP-1555 < DAP-1522?
« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2008, 10:12:14 AM »

see this sort of ticks me off to hear this.

I have two DAP-1555 which I need all the ports on and now I feel like I have made a bad and expensive decision going with the 1555
Logged

Lycan

  • Administrator
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5335
Re: DAP-1555 < DAP-1522?
« Reply #7 on: August 14, 2008, 10:15:08 AM »

What were you going to use the ports for?
Like how was it going to be set up?
Logged

aleicgrant

  • Guest
Re: DAP-1555 < DAP-1522?
« Reply #8 on: August 14, 2008, 01:40:00 PM »

for example on one I have

Onkyo Receiver for streaming
Directv box
PS3
Xbox 360
Mac Mini

regardless I want the fastest possible connection between it and the 855.

thats why an "n" only option should be enabled in the firmware
Logged

Lycan

  • Administrator
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5335
Re: DAP-1555 < DAP-1522?
« Reply #9 on: August 18, 2008, 08:39:59 AM »

even without N only, the device should still connect at N speeds.
Logged

aleicgrant

  • Guest
Re: DAP-1555 < DAP-1522?
« Reply #10 on: August 18, 2008, 08:42:59 AM »

I connected a new HTPC yesterday to the 1555 and tried to stream a blu ray rip from my laptop which was 3 feet away and uses an N mini card.

Was stuttering like all get out.

Fact is, no matter what you say until you can completely isolate the N, its never going to meet the speed expectations.

the router, 1555 and laptop were all within 25 feet of each other with no walls.

Something stinks guys.... come on do us right
Logged

aleicgrant

  • Guest
Re: DAP-1555 < DAP-1522?
« Reply #11 on: August 25, 2008, 05:12:06 PM »

still nothing. We NEED a firmware update for the 1555

I want to be able to select N mode only and specify it operate only at 5 ghz
speaking of that, why is that option greyed out on the 1522

come on give us power users some options.

My neighbors all around dont even have wireless !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Logged

WildSioux

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: DAP-1555 < DAP-1522?
« Reply #12 on: September 04, 2008, 01:29:20 PM »

Sorry for the slightly off topic question.  But does anyone know if either the DAP-1555 or the DAP-1522 can function as an AP and operate in bridge mode as well?

I would like to hook up my slingbox which is upstairs to the main router which is downstairs via wireless.  And then also use the DAP-xxxx as an AP to the wireless computers to extend the range of the main router while the slingbox is connected.

If thats not possible what are my options?  I also have a spare linksys wrt54gs router with tomato firmware that could be used for something.

Thanks
Logged

Cranium

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
Re: DAP-1555 < DAP-1522?
« Reply #13 on: September 04, 2008, 02:08:09 PM »

Short answer....no, it can't.

I believe this is similar to the setup you are talking about.

Logged

WildSioux

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: DAP-1555 < DAP-1522?
« Reply #14 on: September 05, 2008, 05:42:29 AM »

Thanks cranium...

That is what I thought.  Although I don't believe you need to buy two DAP-xxxx to achieve this. 
Logged
Pages: [1] 2