• December 04, 2021, 10:06:43 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DAP-1555  (Read 15881 times)

aleicgrant

  • Guest
DAP-1555
« on: August 07, 2008, 06:10:18 PM »

First off I want to thank Lycan for putting this thread up.

Second, for all you 1555 owners, lets make good use of the space and share to try and get the
best possible performance from the product.

And lastly.......I will be a happy happy man if we see a firmware update. Its been since Oct 07 guys !!!!!!!
Logged

AWDL

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 335
Re: DAP-1555
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2008, 08:39:08 AM »

You won't get code until you give them confirmed issues. This board is up because PM is looking for duplicable short comings in the current available code.
Logged
Meanest person you know

aleicgrant

  • Guest
Re: DAP-1555
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2008, 09:09:03 AM »

well for one I want to be able to set the bridge in just N mode. That should also be the case for the 1522
Logged

AWDL

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 335
Re: DAP-1555
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2008, 01:02:47 PM »

I don't think you will get that . Our policy of faster and faster  has changed to good neighbor policy. Thank you Wireless Standards consortium not to be named.
Logged
Meanest person you know

aleicgrant

  • Guest
Re: DAP-1555
« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2008, 01:16:18 PM »

well I have a DIR-855 at almost $300 bucks

Two DAP-1555 at almost $200 each

One DAP-1522 at almost $120

for almost a grand in D-link equipment I sure hope they at least keep supporting the product and trying to increase the speed.
Logged

moosic

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 23
Re: DAP-1555
« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2008, 04:38:28 PM »

We need to be able to put the device into N only mode.  There is no technical reason not to do this.
Logged

WHITESHEPHERD

  • Guest
Re: DAP-1555
« Reply #6 on: August 11, 2008, 12:07:12 PM »

The diagram on dlink site makes it look like you need two DAP-1555 to bridge say an xbox to my router. Is this true?
Logged

AWDL

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 335
Re: DAP-1555
« Reply #7 on: August 11, 2008, 05:23:51 PM »

We need to be able to put the device into N only mode.  There is no technical reason not to do this.
It doesn't seem technical. It is closer to political. Killing your neighbor signal should be available (until the FCC jumps in) since it wasn't really illegal.
Logged
Meanest person you know

AWDL

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 335
Re: DAP-1555
« Reply #8 on: August 11, 2008, 05:25:33 PM »

The diagram on dlink site makes it look like you need two DAP-1555 to bridge say an xbox to my router. Is this true?

Not necessarily. If you have a wireless G or N router you can usually use it as an endpoint. If you want to pair at 5ghz you may prefer to by two bridges as described.
Logged
Meanest person you know

Lycan

  • Administrator
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5335
Re: DAP-1555
« Reply #9 on: August 14, 2008, 10:07:17 AM »

Some of the routers are getting a firmware that will allow them to essentially disable the "good neighbor" mode by locking the channel width to 40, so I'll ask if the same can be done with the DAPs.

Good neighbor is in place because of all the people that are still using legacy b/g networks. Once those are fazed out, you'll see the speeds jump from the 300 their locked at now to the possible 540Mbps the N Draft is supposedly capable of.

WiFi Alliance is just trying to make sure that we don't smash on on peoples networks.
Logged