• May 29, 2022, 01:39:08 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2 3 4

Author Topic: CANNOT LOGIN TO ROUTER  (Read 88104 times)

kbye

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
CANNOT LOGIN TO ROUTER
« on: November 04, 2013, 09:38:48 PM »

Alright I have had it with this router!!!! >:(

Here is my issue:
I had my DIR-645 HW Rev A1, FW 1.00. Today I went to the DLink website to download the latest firmware version, v1.04b10. I uploaded it and waited for the firmware update to complete....

THEN when it finished, I went to the login page and the following javascript pop-up greeted me, word for word:

"password is not default(Admin/blank),should not run here."

What is that even supposed to mean?! Now my original password doesn't work anymore, blank does not work, I've tried "dlink", "password", "default", "admin"....... I've reset my router about 20 times. Yes, I've held the button down for 10 seconds. It is supposed to log me in with a blank password after the reset but it does not!! And that stupid javascript message keeps popping up after the resets!! Am I supposed to go to another URL other than 192.168.0.1?? Is there something that I am missing? Did the default password change?

And after a bit of googling I found that the latest firmware was not actually b10 but b11!! Why does dlink still have b10 as the default firmware download?!

HELP I need to fix this issue or I have to buy a new wireless router!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: CANNOT LOGIN TO ROUTER
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2013, 07:03:12 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?
  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
Did you follow this for doing FW Updates? FW Update Process

3rd Party Security Software Configurations
  • Turn off all anti virus and firewall programs on PC while testing. 3rd party firewalls are not generally needed when using routers as they are effective on blocking malicious inbound traffic.
  • Turn off all devices accept for one wired LAN PC while testing.
  • Disable any downloading client software managers, i.e. Torrents or similar.


Web Browser Configurations
What browser are you using?
Try Opera or FF? If IE 8, 9 or 10, set compatibility mode and test again.
Disable any security browser Add-ons like No Script and Ad-Block or configure them to allow All Pages when connected to the router.
Clear all browser caches.

Try turning off these features in Chrome:
Top right corner, little bars for options > Settings > Settings (on left) > Show advanced settings.
Uncheck these:
Use a web service to help resolve navigation errors
Use a prediction service to help complete searches and URLs typed in the address bar
Predict network actions to improve page load performance
Enable phishing and malware protection
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

Hermann2000

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: CANNOT LOGIN TO ROUTER
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2013, 03:16:37 PM »

Hi. First of all my mother language is not English so please excuse my mistakes. Sadly there is no German D-Link forum so I try to explain my problem here.

I have got the same problems like the user 'kbye'. I bought the D-Link DIR 645 router and upgraded the firmware using a wired LAN connection to fw 1.04 and installed the German language pack. After doing so I wasn't able to login in anymore. There always pops up a javascript message telling me

"password is not default(Admin/blank),should not run here."

When I close the pop up my password does not work anymore. The username is a not editable "Admin" like before but the password doesn't work. I tried everything and rechecked like 100 times. I tried a blank password and everything else imaginable. Resetting the device by pressing the hardware button on the bottom does not help, the javascript message still pops up. The strange thing is that the UI is still German what lets me conclude that the router did not really reset but I tried like every single period of time pressing that button on the bottom.

Is there anything I can do? I am really annoyed and just want to log into that router.

For your information: I am using Windows 7 with the newest FF and did disable every addon. I disabed all anti virus programs and the firewall. I really tried everything I could imagine.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: CANNOT LOGIN TO ROUTER
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2013, 03:32:04 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?


So Admin and using no PW (blank) fails to log in? Using the old PW with Admin fails too?

I would try this:
Emergency Recovery Mode
Use the lasted FW for your region and re-apply v1.04 from the German D-Link web site. Do not load any language packs or saved config files.

See if you can get the main FW file to load using IE this time. Follow the instructions to get Recovery mode. IF IE wont load then try FF.

If you can get it to load correctly, use IE to atempt to log in after it's come back to ready. Admin and blank PW should all thats needed.

Keep us posted....

Hi. First of all my mother language is not English so please excuse my mistakes. Sadly there is no German D-Link forum so I try to explain my problem here.

I have got the same problems like the user 'kbye'. I bought the D-Link DIR 645 router and upgraded the firmware using a wired LAN connection to fw 1.04 and installed the German language pack. After doing so I wasn't able to login in anymore. There always pops up a javascript message telling me

"password is not default(Admin/blank),should not run here."

When I close the pop up my password does not work anymore. The username is a not editable "Admin" like before but the password doesn't work. I tried everything and rechecked like 100 times. I tried a blank password and everything else imaginable. Resetting the device by pressing the hardware button on the bottom does not help, the javascript message still pops up. The strange thing is that the UI is still German what lets me conclude that the router did not really reset but I tried like every single period of time pressing that button on the bottom.

Is there anything I can do? I am really annoyed and just want to log into that router.

For your information: I am using Windows 7 with the newest FF and did disable every addon. I disabed all anti virus programs and the firewall. I really tried everything I could imagine.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

Hermann2000

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: CANNOT LOGIN TO ROUTER
« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2013, 04:05:15 PM »

First of all: Thank you for the very very fast respond :)

Now comes the strange thing: Using IE the UI accepts the old password. This is quite nice. Now I can access my router again.

But there are still some questions: I was not able to enter that emergency mode. In fact I think that the reset button is maybe not working on this device? The next thing is: Why the hell does the UI only work with the Internet Explorer? I would really appreciate if I could access the UI from every browser that is used nowadays beacause I normally use Mac OSX and only booted Windows for installing the router. I have to say that the experience installing that router is not really user friendly. Other routers I used were much easier to set up and maintain.

Nevertheless I appreciate your help alot!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: CANNOT LOGIN TO ROUTER
« Reply #5 on: December 10, 2013, 04:46:21 PM »

I presume there could be a compatibility issue with FF maybe? Seems odd. I use Safari and Opera on my Mac and IE on my Windows PC for management of any of my routers. Even on the 645 here.

Usually FF is pretty good and works well...
Possible that Recovery mode isn't supported on this router, I'll look in to it. Maybe a configuration issue as well.

The web pages on the routers are tested and kept up to date with most browsers however changes are made to the actual browsers that may not be tested at the Browser level so something may escape testing and vs versa. It's hard to keep up to date between Mfrs.  ::)

I normall use IE or Safari for any FW updates and management anyways, FF and Opera are 2ndary for me and use of making minor changes and viewing.

For doing FW updates please keep this in mind for future needs:
FW Update Process
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

Hermann2000

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: CANNOT LOGIN TO ROUTER
« Reply #6 on: December 10, 2013, 05:03:44 PM »

On Windows the only browser that works for me on DIR 645 FW 1.04 b11 is IE. On Mac OSX 10.9 it works only with FF, Safari does not work. If I use those browser the UI just says that the password is not correct. Is Safari on Mac OSX 10.9 working for you on DIR 645 FW 1.04 b11? Maybe we have different Safari settings? Safari is my standard browser so it would be nice if it would work for Safari :)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: CANNOT LOGIN TO ROUTER
« Reply #7 on: December 11, 2013, 09:16:47 AM »

The last time I worked with the 645, I was working however I can't remember if I was using 10.9 or 10.7 since my Mac is dual boot OSX versions. Up to this point it has been working for me here. I'll check again and confirm...

All my browser are using default settings an no add-ons.

Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: CANNOT LOGIN TO ROUTER
« Reply #8 on: December 11, 2013, 04:21:00 PM »

OK, so I checked this evening with my MBP using 10.9 and Safari connected to my DIR-645 loaded with v1.04...I can log in to the Admin account with out issues and navigate all the menus.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

Hermann2000

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: CANNOT LOGIN TO ROUTER
« Reply #9 on: December 12, 2013, 12:35:00 PM »

OK, so I checked this evening with my MBP using 10.9 and Safari connected to my DIR-645 loaded with v1.04...I can log in to the Admin account with out issues and navigate all the menus.

Interesting. I am running the AdBlock 2.6.16 extension and my plugins are Adobe Flash Player, Java, QuickTime and Silverlight. I will retry after shutting down all of these and report.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: CANNOT LOGIN TO ROUTER
« Reply #10 on: December 12, 2013, 12:36:30 PM »

Ok, mines not running any add-ons...
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

Hermann2000

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: CANNOT LOGIN TO ROUTER
« Reply #11 on: December 12, 2013, 12:42:07 PM »

Ok, mines not running any add-ons...

Now I disabled all plugins and add-ons. It still doesn't work. It just says that the password or username is not correct (the username is set to "Admin" and not changeable like it should be). That javascript message does not pop up anymore but it didn't pop up even before. That message only pops up when I reset the router and try to log in before configurating the router and setting a password using Safari.

Do you have any other clues?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: CANNOT LOGIN TO ROUTER
« Reply #12 on: December 12, 2013, 12:45:44 PM »

You don't have any saved PWs in Safari do you?

So if you use FF to clear the PW, make it blank. Save settings and reboot, close FF and then open Safari, can you log in then?
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: CANNOT LOGIN TO ROUTER
« Reply #13 on: December 12, 2013, 12:52:35 PM »

Also are you fully exiting or quiting Safari and your apps before reopening them again? Just clicking on the red dot doesn't fully stop the app. Just closes the window however the actual program is still running the back ground. I like to hit CMD-Q on the keyboard to fully close the program...
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

guruglue

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: CANNOT LOGIN TO ROUTER
« Reply #14 on: October 11, 2015, 07:21:29 AM »

I know that this is a very old post, however I recently stumbled upon it searching the error message 'default password should not work here'. I wanted to comment that the suggestion above helped me solve my problem. It was a saved password in Chrome that was giving me grief. Upon switching to Firefox, where I did not have a password saved, I no longer saw the error and was able to successfully log into my router.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 4