• February 05, 2023, 07:14:10 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5

Author Topic: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04  (Read 51165 times)

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04
« Reply #15 on: January 28, 2015, 04:47:50 PM »

I would give time for SB to complete it's test run uninterrupted to see if it completes and says DONE. Leave it over night with just one wired PC connected and nothing else connected and see what you find in the morning.

I went from 1.12B05 to 1.13B04.

ABE not working for me either and it was working on 1.12B05.  It now gets stuck on testing, and I suspect the down/up values that are used are merely the last successful ABE result or whatever was last manually inputted/interally speed tested and saved. 

wxstorm, do you think this is correct? Maybe you could change your values to round numbers, turn ABE back on and see if they change despite the neverending testing?  This should confirm whether or not its as I think it is.

On 1.12B05 I had no icons in the my network screen after a few days, just the internet and my router.  Hopefully this won't happen in 1.13B04.

Haven't done any gaming but web browsing was as responsive as before.  Seems okay so far.  No http errors (500, 413, etc.)
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

mrjezza

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
Re: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04
« Reply #16 on: January 28, 2015, 09:07:44 PM »

It's supposed to go slower.  That's how every QoS system works.

Read this.
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=55013.msg246192#msg246192
Logged

wxstorm

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04
« Reply #17 on: January 28, 2015, 11:24:51 PM »

mrjezza - I think the ABE speeds are probably a bit high based on all the testing I did today. I would get on average 44mb/2.75mb during the day with little traffic on my network. I turned off ABE and will be discounting everything from the router overnight to see if those speedtest request I was seeing on opendns were from the router. I will try entering in my own values next and see what happens. It is really hard to troubleshoot we all those "pe_loop: add_msg returned 0" in the log. There is usually entries when I reboot to say that ABE is testing the bandwidth but if I don't check it in the first 10 minutes its gone. I haven't seen any logs entries after that to say that ABE tests again. Not sure if there is suppose to be a log entry for each ABE test either. Maybe Furry knows. I will play around here and let you all know what I find.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04
« Reply #18 on: January 29, 2015, 10:34:08 AM »

I think there is log entries for each time SB kicks off a test. I don't know the specific behavior however I presume the once test starts and completes that should be it until the router is rebooted for some reason. I don't know if any testing is done after that on the routers own doing.  ???

  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

mrjezza - I think the ABE speeds are probably a bit high based on all the testing I did today. I would get on average 44mb/2.75mb during the day with little traffic on my network. I turned off ABE and will be discounting everything from the router overnight to see if those speedtest request I was seeing on opendns were from the router. I will try entering in my own values next and see what happens. It is really hard to troubleshoot we all those "pe_loop: add_msg returned 0" in the log. There is usually entries when I reboot to say that ABE is testing the bandwidth but if I don't check it in the first 10 minutes its gone. I haven't seen any logs entries after that to say that ABE tests again. Not sure if there is suppose to be a log entry for each ABE test either. Maybe Furry knows. I will play around here and let you all know what I find.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

wxstorm

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04
« Reply #19 on: January 29, 2015, 07:45:35 PM »

So turned off ABE but left SB on last night through today. From midnight to 630am only one computer was connected to the router. There were no requests sent to any speedtest related site during that period. In fact not one request has been sent to any speedtest site today even with all my other devices turned on during the day. I also noticed that there were no requests sent to *.in-addr.arpa (which is a reverse dns lookup request according to OpenDNS). I would see on a daily basis anywhere from 350,000 to 13,000 request to that address when ABE is on. I honestly donít know if that matters as much as the average 8,000 speedtest request a day but I figure I would share it. It appears the router with ABE on is sending http requests to speedtest.com. I will let it run for another day with ABE off before I manually set the speeds and turn ABE back on to see if they get updated. I wish I could know when the speedtest request are happening but OpenDNS doesnít save the time of each requests (at least not in the free version). Only the number of requests. Let me know if there is something else you want me to try. 

Furry if you were asking me, I am using the Motorola SB6141 modem.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04
« Reply #20 on: January 30, 2015, 06:52:10 AM »

Awesome information. I'll pass this long to D-Link for review. This may be an issue if ABE is sending these kinds of requests. These requests maybe taking up user bandwidth usage as one has noted, seemed to use up a portion of his 15Gb allowance.  ::)

Thanks for sharing your observations. I presume for now, ABE may need to be disabled and manual ISP speed values used instead.

So turned off ABE but left SB on last night through today. From midnight to 630am only one computer was connected to the router. There were no requests sent to any speedtest related site during that period. In fact not one request has been sent to any speedtest site today even with all my other devices turned on during the day. I also noticed that there were no requests sent to *.in-addr.arpa (which is a reverse dns lookup request according to OpenDNS). I would see on a daily basis anywhere from 350,000 to 13,000 request to that address when ABE is on. I honestly donít know if that matters as much as the average 8,000 speedtest request a day but I figure I would share it. It appears the router with ABE on is sending http requests to speedtest.com. I will let it run for another day with ABE off before I manually set the speeds and turn ABE back on to see if they get updated. I wish I could know when the speedtest request are happening but OpenDNS doesnít save the time of each requests (at least not in the free version). Only the number of requests. Let me know if there is something else you want me to try. 

Furry if you were asking me, I am using the Motorola SB6141 modem.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

sgtmac

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04
« Reply #21 on: January 30, 2015, 06:19:59 PM »

Dynamic DNS does allow you to save your settings now, but it doesn't actually connect to the service you specify.  The "Status" field is blank and does not say "connected".  Confirmed with my DynDNS provider and it does not show any updates to IP.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04
« Reply #22 on: January 31, 2015, 10:00:13 AM »

Was a factory reset performed, FW updated and Factory reset once more then set up from scratch?

Whom is your DDNS provide?
What Mfr and model # is your ISP Modem?

Was DDNS working before using this version of FW? If so, which version?


Dynamic DNS does allow you to save your settings now, but it doesn't actually connect to the service you specify.  The "Status" field is blank and does not say "connected".  Confirmed with my DynDNS provider and it does not show any updates to IP.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

sgtmac

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04
« Reply #23 on: January 31, 2015, 05:07:19 PM »

Was a factory reset performed, FW updated and Factory reset once more then set up from scratch?

Whom is your DDNS provide?
What Mfr and model # is your ISP Modem?

Was DDNS working before using this version of FW? If so, which version?


Dynamic DNS does allow you to save your settings now, but it doesn't actually connect to the service you specify.  The "Status" field is blank and does not say "connected".  Confirmed with my DynDNS provider and it does not show any updates to IP.

DynDNS hasn't worked for me on any of the 1.13 series beta FW.  It was working fine with 1.12B05 FW.  I use NoIP.com as the DynDNS provider.  I did a full factory reset and input all settings by scratch when updating, as I do with all FW updates.  Doesn't appear that Port Forwarding is working either.  I am going to do another factory reset and try again.
Logged

mrjezza

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 34
Re: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04
« Reply #24 on: January 31, 2015, 06:09:07 PM »

It appears the router with ABE on is sending http requests to speedtest.com

.com or .net because if it's .com that might explain why it's not working.
Logged

djid10t

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
Re: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04
« Reply #25 on: February 01, 2015, 09:26:23 AM »

Looks like the other thing fixed was the DST.  You can now choose first week sunday.

Thank you D-Link

DJ
Logged
DGL-5500, DGL-4500, DIR-825(Running DD-WRT), DAP-1350, DI-524 - XBOX 360, XBOX One, Alienware m11x r2, m14x, Dell Venue Pro 8 tablet

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04
« Reply #26 on: February 01, 2015, 11:57:58 AM »

Awesome...will mark that off.

Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04
« Reply #27 on: February 01, 2015, 02:01:44 PM »

What ISP mfr and model # modem do you have?  ???

Was a factory reset performed, FW updated and Factory reset once more then set up from scratch?

Whom is your DDNS provide?
What Mfr and model # is your ISP Modem?

Was DDNS working before using this version of FW? If so, which version?


Dynamic DNS does allow you to save your settings now, but it doesn't actually connect to the service you specify.  The "Status" field is blank and does not say "connected".  Confirmed with my DynDNS provider and it does not show any updates to IP.

DynDNS hasn't worked for me on any of the 1.13 series beta FW.  It was working fine with 1.12B05 FW.  I use NoIP.com as the DynDNS provider.  I did a full factory reset and input all settings by scratch when updating, as I do with all FW updates.  Doesn't appear that Port Forwarding is working either.  I am going to do another factory reset and try again.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

Aeradore

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04
« Reply #28 on: February 01, 2015, 02:02:07 PM »

Just wanted to give my 2 cents about this FW as I usually don't flash beta OEM but usually go with 3rd party FWs for my routers and access points. I flashed this FW earlier today and everything seems nice and stable. I'm streaming 2 Netflix movies, have the kids downloading apps on their devices, daughter is watching YouTube, and my World of Warcraft ping increased by 6ms. This is 100% why I purchased this router is to do just this.

I have SB on and ABE off currently but wasn't having an issue with ABE when I turned it on this morning and left it on for a few hours. With SB off I ran a speed test and got speeds of 20 down and 12 up. I turned SB on and manually set the speeds to 20 down and 12 up to match and am getting 80%-85% of those speeds as I expected for QoS.

Coming from FW 1.12 b05, the My Networks > Priorities area is now working flawless for me. In FW 1.12 b05 it was overlapping each line so it was unreadable when in Safari.

With FW 1.12 b05 the Admin GUI kept slowing down after about 6 hours of up time and I would have to restart for it to become usable again. I am happy to say that is no longer the case with this FW. About 12 hours uptime now without any slowdown.

The PE_Loop log messages persisted. I unchecked 'System Activity' under Status > Logs to hide them.

Note: For reference I don't have a usual setup. I am using a TP-Link R470T+ to load balance 3 ISPs, TL-SL2210 for the home office, DGL-5500 for home internet, and a UniFi UAP-LR Access Point for those long range connections and to limit guests access with limited speeds. The UAP-LR and the DGL-5500 play very nice together with no issues.

TP-Link R470T+ --> DGL-5500 --> UAP-LR --> House
  |
TL-SL2210
  |
Office

Overall i'd say i'm extremely happy with this FW and it has made my DGL-5500 more stable. I was considering flashing OpenWRT however now I really don't see a need to as this FW fixed some of the annoyances I was experiencing in 1.12 b05.
Logged
WiMax: 30Mb/30Mb, WiMax: 20Mb/4Mb, WiMax: 5Mb/2Mb > TP-Link R470T > TL-SL2210 Switch > TL-SG108 Switch > DGL-5500 > UniFi UAP-LR

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DGL-5500 - BETA FIRMWARE 1.13 BUILD 04
« Reply #29 on: February 01, 2015, 02:15:31 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?

Thank you for your feed back and experiences.

Curious, if you enable SB and ABE automatically, what does your ISP speeds reflect after enabling them?
Does the SB test complete for you?



Just wanted to give my 2 cents about this FW as I usually don't flash beta OEM but usually go with 3rd party FWs for my routers and access points. I flashed this FW earlier today and everything seems nice and stable. I'm streaming 2 Netflix movies, have the kids downloading apps on their devices, daughter is watching YouTube, and my World of Warcraft ping increased by 6ms. This is 100% why I purchased this router is to do just this.

I have SB on and ABE off currently but wasn't having an issue with ABE when I turned it on this morning and left it on for a few hours. With SB off I ran a speed test and got speeds of 20 down and 12 up. I turned SB on and manually set the speeds to 20 down and 12 up to match and am getting 80%-85% of those speeds as I expected for QoS.

Coming from FW 1.12 b05, the My Networks > Priorities area is now working flawless for me. In FW 1.12 b05 it was overlapping each line so it was unreadable when in Safari.

With FW 1.12 b05 the Admin GUI kept slowing down after about 6 hours of up time and I would have to restart for it to become usable again. I am happy to say that is no longer the case with this FW. About 12 hours uptime now without any slowdown.

The PE_Loop log messages persisted. I unchecked 'System Activity' under Status > Logs to hide them.

Note: For reference I don't have a usual setup. I am using a TP-Link R470T+ to load balance 3 ISPs, TL-SL2210 for the home office, DGL-5500 for home internet, and a UniFi UAP-LR Access Point for those long range connections and to limit guests access with limited speeds. The UAP-LR and the DGL-5500 play very nice together with no issues.

TP-Link R470T+ --> DGL-5500 --> UAP-LR --> House
  |
TL-SL2210
  |
Office

Overall i'd say i'm extremely happy with this FW and it has made my DGL-5500 more stable. I was considering flashing OpenWRT however now I really don't see a need to as this FW fixed some of the annoyances I was experiencing in 1.12 b05.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 5