• December 15, 2017, 03:21:58 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: ICMP Blocked!  (Read 474 times)

mloc3

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 20
ICMP Blocked!
« on: October 12, 2017, 09:15:08 AM »

The Covr is blocking icmp request and there appears no way to allow them.  This necessary for my ipv6 setup.  Is there a hidden advanced network page like some of the other routers have?
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 5 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 527
Re: ICMP Blocked!
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2017, 09:31:02 AM »

Most router manufactures will filter/block IPv6 ICMP requests for "security reasons". ICMP should not be a requirement for IPv6.

Are you getting an IPv6 address in the router?

What modem do you have?

Are you having internet connection issues?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43913
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: ICMP Blocked!
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2017, 01:22:59 PM »

He mentioned having a ONHUB modem/router thats in bridge mode.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

mloc3

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: ICMP Blocked!
« Reply #3 on: October 12, 2017, 02:02:54 PM »

The Onhub has nothing to do with it, it's downstream from my router and only serves as an access points for my 6 Nest Cameras that wont stay connected to the Covr.  ICMP is a requirement for IPV6 tunnel when your lazy ISP does not provide a native one.  You must be pingable in order to set up a tunnel.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43913
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: ICMP Blocked!
« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2017, 02:07:45 PM »

What is the ISP Modem Mfr and Model thats upstream from the COVR?

The Onhub has nothing to do with it, it's downstream from my router and only serves as an access points for my 6 Nest Cameras that wont stay connected to the Covr.  ICMP is a requirement for IPV6 tunnel when your lazy ISP does not provide a native one.  You must be pingable in order to set up a tunnel.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

mloc3

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: ICMP Blocked!
« Reply #5 on: October 12, 2017, 02:13:10 PM »

There is no Modem.  I have Fiber and my setup does not require that I use a Modem/Router from the ISP.  It is just Ethernet from my ONT (Optical Network Terminal).
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43913
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: ICMP Blocked!
« Reply #6 on: October 12, 2017, 02:18:05 PM »

AH...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

momcat1

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Re: ICMP Blocked!
« Reply #7 on: October 18, 2017, 06:29:28 PM »

I also have interest in unblocking ICMP. I don't have access to IPv6, but I have been a participating member for several years in a monitor group at dslreports.com, that requires ICMP be unblocked. This was not a problem with my prior routers, Dlink and others. For the test to work the router needs to be pingable. The purpose is to log and graph reachability and speed to dslreports' servers, thereby showing my ISP's actual speed to my location. I don't really want to tinker too much with COVR's settings, since all of the devices on my network seem to be operating quite well. Would it be possible to become pingable if I turned on multicasting?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43913
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: ICMP Blocked!
« Reply #8 on: October 18, 2017, 07:17:40 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

Most router manufactures will filter/block ICMP requests for "security reasons".

Multi-casting is used for multi media streams I believe...Multi-cast Streaming

I also use DSLReports speed test to test speed and don't need ICMP requests to do this...


I also have interest in unblocking ICMP. I don't have access to IPv6, but I have been a participating member for several years in a monitor group at dslreports.com, that requires ICMP be unblocked. This was not a problem with my prior routers, Dlink and others. For the test to work the router needs to be pingable. The purpose is to log and graph reachability and speed to dslreports' servers, thereby showing my ISP's actual speed to my location. I don't really want to tinker too much with COVR's settings, since all of the devices on my network seem to be operating quite well. Would it be possible to become pingable if I turned on multicasting?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

momcat1

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Re: ICMP Blocked!
« Reply #9 on: October 19, 2017, 04:08:58 AM »


Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Model Name: COVR-2600R   Hardware Version: A1   Firmware Version: 1.01
I am in the US

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
Optimum cable
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
arris TM822

Most router manufactures will filter/block ICMP requests for "security reasons".

Multi-casting is used for multi media streams I believe...Multi-cast Streaming

I also use DSLReports speed test to test speed and don't need ICMP requests to do this...

I can run speed tests. The area I'm having trouble with is Line Monitors. It was working until I changed to the COVR. You can't see the Line Monitor group until you go into one of the ISP forums. The the Line Monitor group for that ISP will be listed on the left. I don't know if it would help but I use the same ID on DSL that I do here.
See this

[https://www.dslreports.com/faq/monitorfaq author=momcat1 link=topic=72620.msg291196#msg291196 date=1508376568]
I also have interest in unblocking ICMP. I don't have access to IPv6, but I have been a participating member for several years in a monitor group at dslreports.com, that requires ICMP be unblocked. This was not a problem with my prior routers, Dlink and others. For the test to work the router needs to be pingable. The purpose is to log and graph reachability and speed to dslreports' servers, thereby showing my ISP's actual speed to my location. I don't really want to tinker too much with COVR's settings, since all of the devices on my network seem to be operating quite well. Would it be possible to become pingable if I turned on multicasting?
« Last Edit: October 19, 2017, 10:41:50 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43913
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: ICMP Blocked!
« Reply #10 on: October 19, 2017, 11:35:33 AM »

Not sure if ICMP can be supported since it's not supported or pingable feature with newer generation routers. You might try setting up a Virtual Server configuration and see if that helps. If that doesn't work then not sure that this router will work for you for this feature you looking to use with DSLR...

These are home class routers with simplistic features and operation for the average home user. Not a lot of call for some advanced configurations or features by the average home users...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

momcat1

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 37
Re: ICMP Blocked!
« Reply #11 on: October 20, 2017, 04:48:50 PM »

That's what I was afraid of. Truth be told, that tool was developed quite a few years ago, so we could view throughput from different areas of the cable system. Over the past year, a lot of people dropped off the list, prob because they upgraded routers. If that's the only issue I have with COVR, I'll keep COVR. This setup is a beast! It handles all of the devices on my network now, and does it well. I don't have to fuss with it. I can even go to my neighbor's house next door and stay connected.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43913
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: ICMP Blocked!
« Reply #12 on: October 21, 2017, 11:44:29 AM »

Maybe something DSLR should review and update maybe to see if they can get it to work with newer generation routers. With all the security issues about now days, D-Link is only trying to keep there products as safe as possible for there users.

That's what I was afraid of. Truth be told, that tool was developed quite a few years ago, so we could view throughput from different areas of the cable system. Over the past year, a lot of people dropped off the list, prob because they upgraded routers. If that's the only issue I have with COVR, I'll keep COVR. This setup is a beast! It handles all of the devices on my network now, and does it well. I don't have to fuss with it. I can even go to my neighbor's house next door and stay connected.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43913
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: ICMP Blocked!
« Reply #13 on: October 29, 2017, 01:19:05 PM »

One thing you can and should do. If you need ICMP tests to be done or ran, why not try DMZ on the Router or Go directly to the ISP modem and by pass the router. Run your tests that way to get what you need then put the router back online. Just a suggestion.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting