• October 23, 2017, 08:19:03 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DIR-880L "gigabit router" incapable of gigabit?  (Read 507 times)

droodman

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
DIR-880L "gigabit router" incapable of gigabit?
« on: September 15, 2017, 05:08:20 AM »

I just got a DIR-880L (firmware 1.07WW, hardware A1) to work with my new gigabit internet service from Comcast. But it only goes up to 400-500 Mpbs. To show this, I performed the cleanest test I could: just one computer on the network, connected by Ethernet, not wireless; 7-foot, Cat6 wires; giving the test computer highest priority in QoS; setting the WAN port speed to 1000 Mbps.

Here are screen shots of speed tests with direct connection from computer to cable modem, and with connection via the router:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/cg89u0gcoqe0nc2/without%20router.png?dl=0

https://www.dropbox.com/s/0s5kppwuznos081/with%20router.png?dl=0

And here is a video of me running these tests, to show you everything I did:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/goe3h8dkbq793z4/2017-09-14%2022.49.54.mp4?dl=0

So the indignant question is, why is this device, advertised as a "gigabit router" (http://ca.dlink.com/products/connect/wireless-ac1900-dual-band-gigabit-router), cutting the speed of my gigabit internet service in half?
« Last Edit: September 15, 2017, 05:54:39 AM by droodman »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43417
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DIR-880L "gigabit router" incapable of gigabit?
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2017, 09:34:35 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or Fiber?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

Disable QoS and test with wired LAN...
There is v1.08 FW available as well...

Gb LAN ports are rated for connection rates between the port and the cable plugged into it. It's a connection rate only, not thruput. Two different things.
>WAN and LAN Connection Rates and ISP Speeds FAQ


Also NAT HW accelleration is needed for Gb thruput speeds...not sure if this model router has that....
« Last Edit: September 15, 2017, 10:01:18 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

droodman

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: DIR-880L "gigabit router" incapable of gigabit?
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2017, 10:19:40 AM »

Thank you FurryNutz.

I should have made explicit in the text: as shown in the first screenshot I linked to, bypassing the router and directly connecting my computer to the modem gives about 940Mpbs down and 40 up. Inserting the router in the chain halves the download speed.

I am in Washington, DC.

I don't see any way to disable QoS in the router's interface.

I did test with wired LAN, as described.

The cable modem is a Motorola MB8600.

When I have the router check for the latest firmware, it says, "This firmware is the latest version." But I installed 1.08 on your suggestion. It doesn't change the performance.

I understand having a Gb LAN port does not in itself guarantee gigabit throughput. But, as noted, D-Link's own site describes this as a "gigabit router."

I don't know if the router has NAT hardware acceleration. I would hope so if you are right about it being necessary for gigabit performance and if D-Link has described it as a gigabit router.

--David
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43417
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DIR-880L "gigabit router" incapable of gigabit?
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2017, 10:26:42 AM »

The "gigabit router" probably doesn't mean Gb speeds on the WAN side more like the LAN side which the LAN port connection rates ARE 1Gb.

Don't put anything in the QoS section and QoS shouldn't be enabled.
What happens if you input 900Mb in the Up an Down boxes in the QOS section? This do anything. I presume it may not.

I would try a factory reset of the router and don't do anything with QoS, disable SPI temporarily and try a speed test. IF nothing changes, I presume this model router might not support 1Gb on the WAN side. I'll see if I can get some information...
« Last Edit: September 15, 2017, 10:28:19 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 4 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 411
Re: DIR-880L "gigabit router" incapable of gigabit?
« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2017, 10:33:04 AM »

If you set the WAN port to AUTO (speed) does that make a difference?

Also, did you reboot the modem in between connecting your computer directly to the modem and connecting the router?
Logged

droodman

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: DIR-880L "gigabit router" incapable of gigabit?
« Reply #5 on: September 15, 2017, 11:45:57 AM »

It was the QoS! Thanks for the suggestion, FurryNutz. WIth that disabled, I got one reading of 914, despite competition from my wife watching Netflix on her iPad.

A gigabit modem indeed!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43417
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DIR-880L "gigabit router" incapable of gigabit? (RESOLVED)
« Reply #6 on: September 15, 2017, 11:49:58 AM »

Awesome, glad it was QoS. Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting