• July 03, 2022, 12:46:31 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: New to the D-link router/modem combo, need advice  (Read 8216 times)

Azuse

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
New to the D-link router/modem combo, need advice
« on: December 03, 2008, 09:31:22 AM »

For the past few years i've survived with an all in one netgear router, unfortunately it's had it's day (it's dying quite painfully atm :() and has only the most basic port forwarding which is now failing so the solution is replace it with the DIR 855, which doesn't have a modem (w..t..h..). So it needs pairing with an ethernet modem, which of course my isp doesn't provide, and now i'm looking at the DSL 320B also. I realise that this is a UK model but i'd be greatfull if anyone could answer based on experience or assumption, and i'd rather use a D-link modem than another manufacturers that would result in me having to deal with firmware/firewall clashes.

Ok..
  • 1. Firstly an annoyance, this netgear only forwards ports, is it possible for the 855 to actually open ports without having to forward them, by trigger schedule or whatever? This would make my life far easier in itself.

  • 2. The big problem i have, is running the same games on several machines behind the router. Pretty much all new ones work with upnp/nat but there are older ones which simply need ports opened, if it was only one pc then triggering would do (i don't like leaving ports open, the minimal amount possible) therefore all i can think of is using triggering to open the ports to the network (is this possible?) and letting nat do the rest or is there a better way? Since triggering is not tied to an ip would this be effective for all machines on the network and does it simply open them, exposing machines not running the game/app?

    This is really the crux of the matter, two/three people using the same game/app that wasn't specific ports opened. Most consoles seem to manage with upnp, the xbox is happy opening its own ports etc and the wii/ds' port 80 anyway so these are not a problem. I've played around with the 855 emulator, nice tool by the way, and am at a complete loss.

  • 3. Modem. Since i'm used to an all in one the concept of the modem/router solution is somewhat alien to me. Again i know this specifically a euro (UK) model but most places i've come across D-link modems say they have firewalls including this one but after going through the the manual and seeing no mention of one i'm left wondering does this have a simple inbuilt one to protect my isp login info (which shouldn't clash with the 855s) or does it simply leave it open with the net?

    Since i can't see the latter being true i'm assuming it's the former but it seem like it's worth checking. Also if it does, would the upnp from the router carry forward to the modem?

  • 4. The 855s website filter is limited to either white or black lists, now until a firmware update allows both i'm going to have to run with white but there are still sites i'd like to block on remaining pcs. Since the modem has the website blocker built in would it be possible to use it in conjunction with the 855s white list thereby blocking set websites across the network while using the 855 to limit certain pcs at the same time?

    Or am i miss understanding the 855s functions and it's possible to block some websites, but say assigned a trusted ip/mac still able to access them? If so would it be possible to do so while using a whit list on another pc?


Help  ???
Logged

funchords

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 296
Re: New to the D-link router/modem combo, need advice
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2008, 08:48:16 PM »

  • 1. Firstly an annoyance, this netgear only forwards ports, is it possible for the 855 to actually open ports without having to forward them, by trigger schedule or whatever? This would make my life far easier in itself.

Port triggering (shown below on the emulator)

http://www.support.dlink.com/emulators/dir855/Special_Applications.html

The DIR-855 also supports UPnP, which allows most modern programs to open the ports they need automatically.

Quote
#


# 2. The big problem i have, is running the same games on several machines behind the router. Pretty much all new ones work with upnp/nat but there are older ones which simply need ports opened, if it was only one pc then triggering would do (i don't like leaving ports open, the minimal amount possible) therefore all i can think of is using triggering to open the ports to the network (is this possible?) and letting nat do the rest or is there a better way? Since triggering is not tied to an ip would this be effective for all machines on the network and does it simply open them, exposing machines not running the game/app?

This is really the crux of the matter, two/three people using the same game/app that wasn't specific ports opened.
That's a rough one -- two LAN systems that simultaneously need to hear the same WAN port for unsolicited packets -- it's just not going to happen -- not on any NAT device that shares one public address with a number of private ones. 

There are really older games built on an older usage model that don't expect multiple users behind the same router, and can't handle the strangeness and issues added by NAT. 

Quote
4. The 855s website filter is limited to either white or black lists, now until a firmware update allows both i'm going to have to run with white but there are still sites i'd like to block on remaining pcs. Since the modem has the website blocker built in would it be possible to use it in conjunction with the 855s white list thereby blocking set websites across the network while using the 855 to limit certain pcs at the same time?

Or am i miss understanding the 855s functions and it's possible to block some websites, but say assigned a trusted ip/mac still able to access them? If so would it be possible to do so while using a whit list on another pc?
Yes.  You can, for example, keep the kids away from sites that you'll still have access to.

You'll do this by setting up an Access Control policy (advanced screen), where you can select schedule (when), MAC/IP control (who is in the policy) and the choose whether to apply the web filters or some other port-based policy (what).  If you chose the web filters for your policy, then the block/allow sites will apply.  It works in the emulator. 

Sorry, I can't help you with your modem question.  [/list]
Logged

nrms

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 36
Re: New to the D-link router/modem combo, need advice
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2008, 07:58:40 AM »

I spectacularly failed to get the DSL-320 & the DIR-855 working together, even following the simple setup guide & CD wizard.

Each separately works fine, but when I connected the DSL through to the Internet port of the DIR-855, reset the DIR-855 to factory defaults and ran the Internet connection wizard on the dir-855 it failed to recognise the presence of the Internet, and none of the pc's on my network connected to the DIR-855 could connect to the Internet.

I've got the DIR-855 working just fine with my old Vigor 2600G ADSL Router.


Logged

Azuse

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: New to the D-link router/modem combo, need advice
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2008, 12:10:01 PM »

Well that's actually the other thing, how are both set-up so that the 855 has control over the line i.e. stops the modem messing with things after the 855 has already applied it's QOS. I'm assuming it's using the bridged mode which from what i've read basically makes it simply an intermediary by not altering traffic but i'm pretty clueless.
Logged

gshaghoian

  • Guest
Re: New to the D-link router/modem combo, need advice
« Reply #4 on: December 07, 2008, 01:34:55 PM »

You can use the DSL-2320B with the DIR-855.

You need to put the DSL-2320B into Bridge mode and configure PPPoE on the 855.

What I want to know is why your ISP won't provide you with a modem. I have never heard that before. Who is your ISP?

They should easily be able to provide you with a DSL modem which you can use with any router you want, including the 855. If they can't for whatever reason, you will need to manually configure the DSL-2320B and the 855, both of which are supported by D-Link's free support line. 877-45-D-Link.
Logged

Azuse

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: New to the D-link router/modem combo, need advice
« Reply #5 on: December 08, 2008, 12:52:54 PM »

That's what i needed to know, thank you.

As for my isp it's (UK) Tiscali who only handed out speed touch usb modems when i joined initially, wasn't an issue since i prefer using my own router anyway, but even now all they hand out is a crappy modem/wireless router with their own branding with some not-so-easy to use firmware. Actually it's a Siemens re-branded but they quite rightly omit it from their website.

In either case it doesn't matter, we finally get adsl2+ here in January so something new is needed anyway. Besides, i prefer manually configuring devices knowing what i want rather than being told what i want by one of my isps drones.

Well, well see how things go.
Logged

gshaghoian

  • Guest
Re: New to the D-link router/modem combo, need advice
« Reply #6 on: December 08, 2008, 01:05:07 PM »

What's the model number of the Siemen's modem/router they offer?

Many of the models here in the US can still be bridged, and you can just turn the wireless off completely, and use our device with it.

Logged

Azuse

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: New to the D-link router/modem combo, need advice
« Reply #7 on: December 11, 2008, 02:08:12 PM »

Depends, some people get a Siemens occasionally now but it's mostly branded Thomson TG585 s they issue which arn't up to much. Be and O2 both use them too but they have two drawbacks, firstly they all locked to the isp that issues them and secondly they cost as much as a dedicated external adsl modem that can be used with whatever isp does. So long as bridging give the router total control (i.e. qos) over the line that's all that really matters. Also if a modem is bridged isn't it basically acting as a translator for the router, would i simply need to enter my isp details in the 855 or would i first have to enter them into the router, then select bridged and re-enter on the 855?

Also i'm specifically talking about the DIR-320B (uk model) not the DSL-2320B?.
« Last Edit: December 11, 2008, 02:11:03 PM by Azuse »
Logged