• January 19, 2022, 12:39:45 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DNS-320 OS compatibility  (Read 4724 times)

dcleland

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
DNS-320 OS compatibility
« on: May 21, 2011, 04:08:35 PM »

I've had my DNS-323 ever since it was first available.  It looks as though there's a problem with the power supply (seems to turn on as I can feel a very weak fan but no blue lights) and I'm wondering whether it's time to upgrade the storage hardware to the new DNS-320 model.  However I'm concerned that if I remove the HDD from the DNS-323 and put them into a DNS-320 unit the O/S may be incompatible and I will lose all my data.  Has anyone done such a thing?
Logged

D-Link Multimedia

  • Poweruser
  • Level 7 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 1066
    • D-link Systems, Inc.
Re: DNS-320 OS compatibility
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2011, 08:10:49 PM »

If your drives are in standard format (separate volumes) then you will be fine. The DNS-320 does not currently allow you to move the drives from a DNS-323 to a DNS-320 if they are using raid.
Logged

dusterio

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DNS-320 OS compatibility
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2011, 05:45:39 AM »

I put a hard drive from DNS-313 to DNS-320 and lost all data, even though filesystem is the same (ext3) :(

The wizard formatted the drive without asking any questions or giving any notice ;(
Logged

D-Link Multimedia

  • Poweruser
  • Level 7 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 1066
    • D-link Systems, Inc.
Re: DNS-320 OS compatibility
« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2011, 08:08:52 AM »

The DNS-313 uses a very different system from the 2-bay models. Firmware is installed to the disk of the DNS-313 unlike the 2-bay models where it is saved in the flash. Did you try re-inserting the disk in your 313 to see if the data was still there?
Logged

dusterio

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DNS-320 OS compatibility
« Reply #4 on: June 01, 2011, 08:20:05 PM »

Yes, I tried - 313 stopped working. HDD LED light is green now.
Logged

dcleland

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DNS-320 OS compatibility
« Reply #5 on: July 02, 2011, 01:55:47 PM »

If your drives are in standard format (separate volumes) then you will be fine. The DNS-320 does not currently allow you to move the drives from a DNS-323 to a DNS-320 if they are using raid.
Sadly this is NOT the case as I have now found out.  I bought a DNS320 and a new HDD yesterday and set it up as Standard.  I then took the HDD out of my DNS323 (also set up as Standard) and put it in the second slot of the DNS320.  While the DNS320 recognises that there's a disk (Volume_2) with data on it, it keeps asking me to format it and does not mount Volume_2 so that it is addressable.  I'd be quite happy to move the data off Volume_2 to Volume_1 and then format it if that's what's required but there seems to be no way of doing that at the moment.  Not happy!
« Last Edit: July 02, 2011, 02:16:23 PM by dcleland »
Logged

ivan

  • Level 8 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 1480
Re: DNS-320 OS compatibility
« Reply #6 on: July 02, 2011, 03:02:05 PM »

See my reply to you over on the DNS-320 forum.  The fact you have a new drive means you have the space to put your files and if your computer has a spare SATA slot you should be able to do a direct copy from that drive to the NAS.

When the files are copied you can then put the old drive in the NAS and format it.
Logged

fordem

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2168
Re: DNS-320 OS compatibility
« Reply #7 on: July 03, 2011, 06:43:40 AM »

Two things - you should be able to retrieve data from the disk by connecting directly to a PC running either linux or windows with an installable file system driver, and you should always back up any data that you consider valuable.
Logged
RAID1 is for disk redundancy - NOT data backup - don't confuse the two.

dcleland

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: DNS-320 OS compatibility
« Reply #8 on: July 03, 2011, 11:59:17 AM »

You mean I should back-up the back-up device?  ;D
Logged