• April 16, 2021, 01:09:04 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DNS 323 forgets settings if turned off  (Read 5210 times)

capnstoobie

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
DNS 323 forgets settings if turned off
« on: January 09, 2011, 10:32:34 PM »

Recently I have discovered that when our DNS 323 loses power, it also loses all settings including the static ip, user list and passwords, and groups.  This happens even if I shut down the NAS properly (ie hold down the power button until it starts to flash).  I already have a UPS but this will not protect against power loss for extended periods of time.

What makes it worse is that when I try to reload the configuration settings (from a saved backup) nothing gets restored.  I end up having to manually rekey everything (ie all users, passwords, groups).  For some weird reason most of the shares are retained after a power loss (but not all).

Does this mean I need to get a new NAS?  Obviously settings are not being retained properly - maybe the flash memory has gone faulty?
Logged

Chill

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 43
Re: DNS 323 forgets settings if turned off
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2011, 11:00:31 PM »

its internal battery is no longer working. replace it and all should work fine
Logged

capnstoobie

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: DNS 323 forgets settings if turned off
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2011, 11:01:46 PM »

I guessed it might be a battery - are they easy to replace? 
Logged

dosborne

  • Level 5 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 598
Re: DNS 323 forgets settings if turned off
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2011, 02:00:46 AM »

I would try the reset button. Then reconfigure manually, then try saving a new copy of the config. It could be more serious, but this is a free, easy thing to try that often resolves the problem.
Logged
3 x DNS-323 with 2 x 2TB WD Drives each for a total of 12 TB Storage and Backup. Running DLink Firmware v1.08 and Fonz Fun Plug (FFP) v0.5 for improved software support.

HSishi

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 73
Re: DNS 323 forgets settings if turned off
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2011, 03:08:04 PM »

If it has an internal battery it should be of the same kind as in PC's, means a flat cell in a socket. I never disassembled my CH3SNAS tough so I don't know, but maybe there are some photo's of a disassembled DNS-323 (including extracted controller board) somewhere in the web.

//HSishi

Logged

TThibodeau

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 31
Re: DNS 323 forgets settings if turned off
« Reply #5 on: January 11, 2011, 04:13:47 PM »

Logged

capnstoobie

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: DNS 323 forgets settings if turned off
« Reply #6 on: January 18, 2011, 03:41:01 AM »

I would try the reset button. Then reconfigure manually, then try saving a new copy of the config. It could be more serious, but this is a free, easy thing to try that often resolves the problem.

That seems to have done the trick - thanks!
Logged

Moose_On_Roids

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: DNS 323 forgets settings if turned off
« Reply #7 on: February 03, 2011, 06:52:42 PM »

I have the exact same problem.  I orginally tried to power down the unit by pressing the power button for several seconds.  After 5 min of flashing blue light, i pulled the power cord as it was evident it wasnt going to shut down.  I waited a minand powered back up.  Ever since, the unit does not retain the user / goup names, passwords or privledges.  All other settings seem to keep. 

I tried the reset button idea, it did not work.  I tried restore system defaults, it did not work.

I have not tried the internal battery - how do you get to it?  Any other suggestion?  ???  >:(
Logged

Moose_On_Roids

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: DNS 323 forgets settings if turned off
« Reply #8 on: February 04, 2011, 09:40:11 AM »

Update...

Talked to DLINK Tech support.  Told them I tried hardware reset, software reset, system restore, and that none of these corrected the problem of loosing user/group privledges after power down or restarts.

They put me on hold to check their "database" and came back on a minute later stating the unit is defective and they will issue an RMA.  Ugh.   :'(
Logged

jtma67

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: DNS 323 forgets settings if turned off
« Reply #9 on: February 04, 2011, 11:39:50 PM »

I also had the same problem.  Fortunately it was noticed out of the box and the retailer (NCAL Computers) worked with me on resolution.  They tried changing the internal battery....which had no effect.   The unit had to be replaced....apparently D-Link gave them the RMA number and they dealt with it.

The unit now keeps passwords and users...

It still won't shut down the internal fan when going into hibernation...hopefully they will fix that with a firmware update....at least D-Link said they were aware of that issue.
Logged