• December 06, 2021, 09:33:02 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DNR202L Does not work with MS Edge  (Read 2379 times)

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2251
DNR202L Does not work with MS Edge
« on: May 21, 2021, 06:19:42 AM »

IE going away next year. News it out. MS is removing it from consumer Windows10.

DNR-202L is dead. RIP.

Nice run I guess. Have more than a few boxes. 

More than a few of my cameras are toast then too.

 :'(
Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2251
UPDATE Re: DNR202L Does not work with MS Edge
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2021, 06:26:04 AM »

I can't tell if IE Tabs relies on IE being installed.

My browser went to a local page: extension://npjkkakdacjaihjaoeliacmecofghagh/nhc.htm#url=http://192.168.3.252/dlink/live.html?1.0.157

and it worked!!!

IE Tabs:  https://microsoftedge.microsoft.com/addons/detail/ie-tab/npjkkakdacjaihjaoeliacmecofghagh

Might not work next year though. :(

Display web pages using IE within Edge. Use Java, Silverlight, ActiveX, Sharepoint, and more. 

IE Tab exactly emulates IE by using the IE rendering engine directly within Edge.  This will enable you to use ActiveX controls and test your web pages with different versions of IE (IE 7-11).


1. Why do I have to install ietabhelper.exe?

IE Tab uses the Internet Explorer rendering engine. This rendering engine can't be directly accessed from an Edge extension, so we need a helper process to talk between the Edge extension and the rendering engine.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49868
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DNR202L Does not work with MS Edge
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2021, 08:33:10 AM »

Does using FireFox v52.9 work at all on the DNR?

Is MS going to remove IE11 from current Windows 10 PC or just won't be included anymore on new Windows 10 installations?
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2251
Re: DNR202L Does not work with MS Edge
« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2021, 08:51:04 AM »

The articles are a tough read.

Headlines are one thing, details are weak.  Some mention removal. Others "unclear".

https://www.msn.com/en-us/news/technology/internet-explorer-microsoft-is-finally-getting-rid-of-its-most-hated-product/ar-AAKcisl?ocid=uxbndlbing

Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2251
Re: DNR202L Does not work with MS Edge
« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2021, 09:02:20 AM »

FFX ESR is up to v78 now.

https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/all/#product-desktop-esr

Looks like a no go.  Trying to download 52 from the firefox website take you to the latest ESR (78)


Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49868
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DNR202L Does not work with MS Edge
« Reply #5 on: May 21, 2021, 10:17:53 AM »

after installing v52, disable it's update feature first.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2251
Re: DNR202L Does not work with MS Edge
« Reply #6 on: May 21, 2021, 12:00:30 PM »

after installing v52, disable it's update feature first.

Where to download?

I didn't see it on the Moziila website.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49868
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2251
Re: DNR202L Does not work with MS Edge
« Reply #8 on: May 21, 2021, 02:42:52 PM »

http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/releases/52.9.0esr/

Thanks. That's a NO GO at the moment. Same thing is happening - blank window to view.

I even went back to this version:

http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/releases/52.0.2esr/

I did both 32bit and 64bit. Even "Run as administrator".

There's nothing that's attempting to install. (plugin).

Is it working on your system?

I wonder if i have to downgrade my f/w on my DNR-202L? then put the new one back on.


Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2251
Re: DNR202L Does not work with MS Edge
« Reply #9 on: May 21, 2021, 02:49:50 PM »


This posts mentions FFS 45. http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=74991.msg303693#msg303693

I tried it. I get the old "plug in must be installed".   I don't have Java on this machine. 

My DNR f/w:

 Agent Version :      2.2.0-b61
Current NVR Firmware Version :     v2.05.08
Firmware Date :    Jan 13 2020
Current NVR Device Pack :    v2.17.03
Device Pack Date :    Jan 13 2020
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49868
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DNR202L Does not work with MS Edge
« Reply #10 on: May 21, 2021, 04:15:41 PM »

Well on my Windows 10x64 PC, FF v52.9 I get the following error in the DNR screen which if I select for details, Jave console shows:
CacheEntry[http://192.168.0.202/dlink/NvrStreamCom.jar]: updateAvailable=false,lastModified=Tue Jan 21 16:44:01 MST 2020,length=-1
Missing Application-Name manifest attribute for: http://192.168.0.202/dlink/NvrStreamCom.jar
NVR Stream Player NVR v2.02.05
Not sure what this means exactly. Java is loaded on this PC.

Native IE11x32 works and shows the video for my two cameras sans my 3rd DCS-936L which I updated to recent FW which breaks the DNR connection with camera. I might downgrade it back to v1.06 which worked last time I believe.

MS Edge works as well using your IE tabs plug in for Edge and Java installed as well.


After downgrading my DCS-936L back to v1.06, the DNR is connecting to it now.  ;D

« Last Edit: May 21, 2021, 04:27:55 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2251
Re: DNR202L Does not work with MS Edge
« Reply #11 on: May 25, 2021, 12:13:17 PM »



MS Edge works as well using your IE tabs plug in for Edge and Java installed as well.


 

That should be using NVSTreamCom Control 1.0.0.139 (ActiveX).

I had no Java installed with it working.

Are you on Java 8, update 291?

If MS mutilates IE, IE tabs probably won't work in edge.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49868
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: DNR202L Does not work with MS Edge
« Reply #12 on: May 25, 2021, 12:45:24 PM »

Any idea on how to correct FF v52.9 problem?

I'll have to check java again I believe I'm on latest version.

How do you mean IE tabs won't work in Edge? It's working currently. Or do you mean that MS may block IE tabs at some point in Edge?
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.