• September 23, 2018, 03:39:28 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Second router with AP mode and same SSID with Smart Connect  (Read 1799 times)

lucianor

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Second router with AP mode and same SSID with Smart Connect
« on: March 15, 2018, 09:18:24 AM »

Model Name: DIR-880L
Hardware Version: A2
Firmware Version: 1.07WW

I have Smart Connect enabled on this router, so I only have a single SSID, let's say DLINK-WIFI
I currently have another TP-Link router in AP mode (running Gargoyle -openwrt-like) connected through a LAN cable. That router is broadcasting two different SSID, say GARGOYLE-2.4ghz, and GARGOYLE-5ghz.

I don't like this setup because it basically does not allow me to use the Smart Connect through a different range than the D-Link, and the range of the D-Link is overlapping with the other routers, especially with the 2.4ghz frequency - for obvious reasons. That means sometimes I'm connected to the D-Link with some back and forth with the other TP-Link router.

I'm considering buying ANOTHER D-Link DIR-880L ($45 dollars used) and have the same SSID setup on both, and have them connected in AP Mode through the LAN cable. I have read about bridge and relay, however it's more focused on bridging/relaying through the wireless - I will have an ethernet cable between both - so my setup is all about extending the range of the Smart Connect feature with another router broadcasting same SSID.

Is that possible? Would Smart Connect understand that I'm closer to the second router, and automatically select the best frequency and router? Using the same SSID on both routers is going to cause any issues?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45772
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Second router with AP mode and same SSID with Smart Connect
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2018, 02:51:19 PM »

I haven't tried two smart connect wifi routers under one roof yet.

I presume it may work if smart connect can keep each unit on far separate channels. In most cases if using manual channels, the 1st router would be put on channel 11 and the other would be put on channel 1 on 2.4ghz. Same far channels go for 5Ghz.

However Smart Connect handles things automatically. I presume it should work.
« Last Edit: March 19, 2018, 07:27:32 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

lucianor

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Second router with AP mode and same SSID with Smart Connect
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2018, 01:59:01 PM »

Yes, they indeed work, however the connection handoff experience between the two routers is not as smooth as the TP-Link routers with Gargoyle firmware - my old routers.

Before, if I was taking a Skype call and walked upstairs/downstairs, connection could be mute for a couple of seconds, but it wouldn't disconnect the call. With the D-Link routers, the calls are being disconnected.

Not sure what can I do to help on this scenario.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45772
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Second router with AP mode and same SSID with Smart Connect
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2018, 02:05:48 PM »

Well that's a roaming issue and that depends on both router and client HW handling of switching between signals and radios. The time it takes when your crossing in to a different signal is probably too long for the connection/app to wait thus the app closes the connection. Ya, not sure about this as well. I don't roam around when I'm talking on the phone unless i'm in a general same close area of either wireless AP source signal.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

lucianor

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Second router with AP mode and same SSID with Smart Connect
« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2018, 05:36:04 AM »

Right, but sometimes my wife kick me off of the living room so I have to go to my office...  ::)

I agree it depends on the client, but I made sure I was using my Dell laptop on both cases to compare results. But I found something that might be related: SmartConnect is assigning the same wireless channel on both routers. I scheduled a daily reboot within 30 minutes of difference, expecting that the SmartConnect on the second router would probe the wireless network and assign a separate channel, but that is not what I'm observing though.

These are the routers after boot: https://imgur.com/a/KalIP1j

If I go to Settings > Wireless, and change whatever on and off and click Save, channel is adjusted on the second router: https://imgur.com/a/fKcf3Ko

First, could this be possibly related to my roaming problem?
And second, could this be a bug on SmartConnect no probing channels at boot, just as I update the wireless config?

Appreciate the help so far!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45772
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Second router with AP mode and same SSID with Smart Connect
« Reply #5 on: May 04, 2018, 07:42:20 AM »

Which router is the RED and which router is the GREEN?
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

lucianor

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Second router with AP mode and same SSID with Smart Connect
« Reply #6 on: May 04, 2018, 09:26:13 AM »

RED: 192.168.1.2 (secondary)
Model Name: DIR-880L
Hardware Version: A1
Firmware Version: 1.08WW (1.08B06 BETA)

GREEN: 192.168.1.1 (gateway)
Model Name: DIR-880L
Hardware Version: A2
Firmware Version: 1.08WW  (1.08B06 BETA)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45772
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Second router with AP mode and same SSID with Smart Connect
« Reply #7 on: May 04, 2018, 09:30:58 AM »

So when both have SC enable, the gateway GREEN router doesn't seem to change channel? Or the 2ndary RED one doesn't.

Try this, set a different SSID name on the 2ndary and re-enable SC.
Check channels again.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

lucianor

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Second router with AP mode and same SSID with Smart Connect
« Reply #8 on: May 10, 2018, 08:23:45 PM »

Since GREEN boots before RED, it's the RED router who isn't changing channels.
So I update manually the wireless config on the RED and it changes the channel again.

What is funny though is that I am unable to reproduce the error every time.
I've checked this morning and they were apart, now at night they are both on channel 6.
I don't live in a congested area so why SC is switching channels during the day?

I've turned logging to my syslog server to check for any clues of what might be happening.
Logged

Gattsu

  • Technical Engineer
  • Level 3 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 139
Re: Second router with AP mode and same SSID with Smart Connect
« Reply #9 on: May 11, 2018, 02:09:20 PM »

This router does not support Wireless Roaming, so you will experience interruptions when your client device is reconnecting to a closer router in the same SSID name. Smart Connect is band steering but automated, so when router detects some form of wireless congestion or bottleneck, it will band steer the client device.

From my experience, I do not think two overlapping channels will affect the wireless performance that much. You can verify this with speed test software.

This one support Seemless Roaming..
http://support.dlink.com/ProductInfo.aspx?m=COVR-3902-US
http://us.dlink.com/products/connect/covr-ac3900-whole-home-wi-fi-system/
« Last Edit: May 11, 2018, 02:12:22 PM by Gattsu »
Logged

lucianor

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Second router with AP mode and same SSID with Smart Connect
« Reply #10 on: July 16, 2018, 02:47:51 PM »

Is the wireless roaming support hardware or software based? I was told before on the forum that this was more on the client side, but I know for a fact my client can do roaming flawlessly having used it with another set of routers.

Yeah, I did explore the mesh network option, but having a cat6 cable running through my house stores, it looked to me that two routers with the same AP/password and a LAN/LAN uplink would be able to handle walking up/down one floor without disconnecting.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45772
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Second router with AP mode and same SSID with Smart Connect
« Reply #11 on: August 09, 2018, 09:08:33 AM »

Any progress on this?  ???
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!

lucianor

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Second router with AP mode and same SSID with Smart Connect
« Reply #12 on: September 18, 2018, 03:24:48 AM »

Yeah, I'm interested on hearing back from the D-Link team. The capability of roaming with a LAN uplink is usually a desired option, and have been added to products after launch (like the Netgear Orbi), so I would like to know if D-Link would be willing to implement that.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45772
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Second router with AP mode and same SSID with Smart Connect
« Reply #13 on: September 18, 2018, 06:56:29 AM »

D-Link has products that already implement roaming, COVR systems do that.

As far as the 880L is concerned, unless new security problems are found, D-Link doesn't add any new features to routers that are getting up in age. Besides, if the chipset doesn't support it, then it would be not compatible. The 880L was out long before roaming came to routers and MESH systems. Chipset features come from the main chipset Mfrs, not from the Router Mfrs. It's up to Router Mfr to implement them in there own ways.

The COVR does a nice job of handling MESH and roaming I believe. However again, roaming is something that some wireless devices may not handle well, and is also up to the client devices on how well those Mfrs implement and develop roaming for there devices. So it a two way road here.
Logged
"Nothing Funny about It...." We are not here to Impress anyone! You have a be a COMPETENT user first to under stand COMPETENT help!