• July 23, 2017, 07:34:04 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Problem with 810L after power surge  (Read 620 times)

zypa

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Problem with 810L after power surge
« on: June 10, 2017, 03:44:23 PM »

Hello there, I am new to the forum and already with a problem.

I am having this router (810L) and I noticed that after a power outage the router does not self reconnect to the internet if not manually reset again. The power led is green but the globe (internet indicator led) is orange.
The firmware is 2.03 and it has already the "auto connect to the PPoE service". I am having access to the satellite internet via PPoE with a username and a password.
I do not think it is a problem of auto-reconnect since the WiFi is not showing up the network if I do not manually press the back reset button so I believe it is a bug or something related to the router itself.
How to bypass this since it is causing a total blackout at my home and I lose connection to the security system....
Thanks and best regards


Logged

Hard Harry

  • Guest
Re: Problem with 810L after power surge
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2017, 05:54:12 PM »

"after a power outage the router does not self reconnect "

What do you mean by a "power outage"? Do you mean the router loses power? Or do you mean your house loses power? If your modem loses power too, then it's normal that the router has to be power cycled (disconnect/reconnect power) to resync.

" since the WiFi is not showing up the network "

What if you just power cycle? Can you see the wifi networks then? Can you log into the router's 192.168.0.1 webpage when the problem happens? If not, I think it's possible your router was damaged by the power outage. If you have frequent power outages then I suggest you put your equipment on battery backup(UPS) . Not only will this protect you from surges, but will keep the equipment running so you "might" not have to powercycle. Then again if your entire area is down, then the satellite dish is probably losing power too.
Logged

zypa

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Problem with 810L after power surge
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2017, 06:03:54 AM »

Power outage I am referring to a complete power loss on the entire house. After this happens (when I am at work for example) the router does not reboot correctly.  This means that it enters a "sleep mode" or something like this and someone has to physically reboot it from the back button.
If I do not push manually the button then I cannot access the router by WiFi or 192.168.0.1 It purely does not "restart", but stays in a limbo state. Power button led is green, internet globe is orange. However it is not reachable. Rather strange.

I could buy an ups but instead of paying 50$ on an UPS wouldn't it be better to change the router itself that has a value of 40 euro? That is what I am trying to avoid.
Can't I add it a rule that in case of a restart to do it twice by itself, thus eliminating the power loss issue?

Thanks again
Logged

Hard Harry

  • Guest
Re: Problem with 810L after power surge
« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2017, 07:02:42 AM »

"someone has to physically reboot it from the back button. "

Do you mean the power button or the reset button? Power button turns it off/on but the reset button resets it to factory settings.

What model modem do you have? Can you access that when the problem happens?

Also, when it happens next, try disconnecting all the ethernet connections from the router except the one you're testing from and try to access the router's IP then. I wonder if there could be a IP conflict between the modem(DSL gateway?) that is causing the problem on startup.

"I could buy an ups but instead of paying 50$ on an UPS wouldn't it be better to change the router itself that has a value of 40 euro"

Well first we have to see if this is normal behavior or not. When I lose power I also have to reboot my router. It doesn't have to do with the PPPoe, but the DHCP sync between the modem and the router's WAN connection. Has your setup ever worked in the way you wanted it to?

"Can't I add it a rule that in case of a restart to do it twice by itself, thus eliminating the power loss issue?"

The DHCP process can't be modified. It has to be universal so it works everywhere, so there is no way to modify in the router. Maybe you could create some kind of script to log into the router and force a reboot through UI, but you would still have to double click on the script, which is just as easy as pressing the power button the back. Also I think that solution would be a bit out of scope.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2017, 10:48:16 AM by Hard Harry »
Logged

zypa

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Problem with 810L after power surge
« Reply #4 on: June 11, 2017, 09:18:42 AM »

You are correct, I was meaning to say "having to turn it on and off from the back button".

The signal comes from an antenna that runs down with a network cable. The cable then enters this small box that is not a modem but only amplifies the signal. Then from this small box another cable enters directly in the main port of this router.

I also believe there is a dhcp sync issue, but since i am having a random IP from the internet service provider i cannot force it manually.
Logged

Hard Harry

  • Guest
Re: Problem with 810L after power surge
« Reply #5 on: June 11, 2017, 10:22:07 AM »

The problem is the way NAT and DHCP work, when powering up devices, there is a certain sequence you have to follow. When everything is powered up at once, the router will try to pull a IP before what ever device that white box is is ready. So when the white box is ready, you then have to reboot the router so it repeats the process it failed at the start. PPP(user/password) can be set to auto repeat, but PPP just gets you into the network, you still have to use DHCP to get a IP. BTW, any idea what the white box is? Does it have a model number or words on it?

Allow me to simplify this. What you are describing is normal when you lose power.  Is there someone else with your type of internet(dish on roof) that doesn't have to power cycle the equipment after power loss? I think the fix to the problem is either do something so you stop losing power, or put a battery backup in. It may cost more money, but considering it keeps your security up, I would think it would be worth it. Otherwise someone could cut your power to break in. What other type of solution were you looking for?
« Last Edit: June 11, 2017, 10:27:08 AM by Hard Harry »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 42576
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Problem with 810L after power surge
« Reply #6 on: June 11, 2017, 10:35:36 AM »

Link>Welcome!


  • What region are you located?


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

zypa

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Problem with 810L after power surge
« Reply #7 on: June 11, 2017, 01:29:16 PM »

Hard Harry, you might be right, that the internet box does not start prior to the Dlink Router, but then I ask myself, why does it not start and issue the internal DHCP IP's? I mean, it should be independent of the internet box since it should power up, start releasing internal IP's and then try to connect with PPOE to the internet.

I am from Italy, I am having EOLO as a service provider, underneath a small summary of the connection type.

https://translate.google.com/translate?sl=it&tl=en&js=y&prev=_t&hl=it&ie=UTF-8&u=http%3A%2F%2Feolo.ivynet.it%2Fguida-allinstallazione-di-eolo%2F&edit-text=

Apparently the translated version hides the pictures.
Here it is the link with the pictures to show the setup
http://eolo.ivynet.it/guida-allinstallazione-di-eolo/

Instead the Eolo Box (their router that I did not buy since I have the Dlink ) i am having the following setup: antenna --> IDU (the small powered box)--> Dlink router--> PC, phones, etc
« Last Edit: June 11, 2017, 01:34:14 PM by zypa »
Logged

Hard Harry

  • Guest
Re: Problem with 810L after power surge
« Reply #8 on: June 11, 2017, 05:08:08 PM »

Yea, I don't think I will be able to help with the ISP part. I don't know anything about Dish internet, just networking. All I can tell you is what you are describing is normal. You can't fix something that isn't broken. Furry can have this one. Have a good day.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 42576
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Problem with 810L after power surge
« Reply #9 on: June 11, 2017, 06:49:54 PM »

Seems that this modem/ISP box is the issue here and needs to fully come to ready before the DIR series router should be powered up.

Does this box have a web page UI that you can access?
You might contact the ISP service and let them know of the behavior your seeing and see if there is any more information they can provide you with...

One suggestion would be to add a UPS to the mix and connect this your ISP service items and the DIR series router to the UPS. Thus when you have a power bump or black out, these two will remain online.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2017, 07:04:35 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

zypa

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Problem with 810L after power surge
« Reply #10 on: June 13, 2017, 01:05:44 PM »

ok i will try this option and come back with the result.
thanks
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 42576
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Problem with 810L after power surge
« Reply #11 on: June 14, 2017, 01:07:45 PM »

Let us know how it goes.
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting