• September 26, 2017, 05:56:28 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2] 3

Author Topic: 2.4GH is missing but the name is used for the Primary 5GH  (Read 2845 times)

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43140
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: 2.4GH is missing but the name is used for the Primary 5GH
« Reply #15 on: January 14, 2017, 11:32:24 AM »

  • Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by that maybe causing interferences?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area that maybe causing interferences? Link> Use a WiFi Scanner to find out. How many?
  • For routers with Smart Connect Technology , try disabling this feature and test. Under Wireless.

Reason for asking for model and mfr of ISP modem is to confirm weather or not it has a built in router and wifi. As this can be a cause of problems with external routers.
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Tonnopizza

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Whoa
« Reply #16 on: February 07, 2017, 09:57:37 AM »

After almost throwing out all my 2.4GHz only devices now I relapse the problem is actually with the Dkink!

I've been having the same problem. Despite turning off the smart connect it doesn't seem like 2.4 is available at all. And so far having really poor performance. I'm thinking about downgrading to FW 1.11 actually
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43140
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Whoa
« Reply #17 on: February 07, 2017, 10:06:43 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?

Is Smart Connect Enabled or Disabled? Try either way.

  • Has a Factory Reset been performed?
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
  Link> >FW Update Process
  • Was the router working before any firmware updates?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
Reason for asking for model and mfr of ISP modem is to confirm weather or not it has a built in router and wifi. As this can be a cause of problems with external routers.


You can Downgrade to v1.11  and test.


After almost throwing out all my 2.4GHz only devices now I relapse the problem is actually with the Dkink!

I've been having the same problem. Despite turning off the smart connect it doesn't seem like 2.4 is available at all. And so far having really poor performance. I'm thinking about downgrading to FW 1.11 actually
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43140
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: 2.4GH is missing but the name is used for the Primary 5GH
« Reply #18 on: February 07, 2017, 10:07:53 AM »

Is this working now since you downgraded to v1.11?  ???

What region are you located?
USA - Central

Was the router working before any firmware updates?
I have always had issues with 2.4ghz connection. Worked off and on for a few months after upgrade to 1.12. Had to restore factory a few timse. Then this issue started and had to downgrade.

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL? Uverse
What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have? Arris
Not sure I understand the need for this info?
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Tonnopizza

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: 2.4GH is missing but the name is used for the Primary 5GH
« Reply #19 on: February 08, 2017, 01:47:59 AM »

Is this working now since you downgraded to v1.11?  ???

What region are you located?
USA - Central

Was the router working before any firmware updates?
I have always had issues with 2.4ghz connection. Worked off and on for a few months after upgrade to 1.12. Had to restore factory a few timse. Then this issue started and had to downgrade.

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL? Uverse
What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have? Arris
Not sure I understand the need for this info?

No unfortunately it has not. Everything from 1.11-1.13 didn't work. I think my unit is faulty... calling a local support now to get it exchanged or fixed.

Is there a way to let Dlink know this is a prominent issue that needs to be patched where possible? It seems many are having this problem on this forum.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43140
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: 2.4GH is missing but the name is used for the Primary 5GH
« Reply #20 on: February 08, 2017, 06:05:39 AM »

Let us know how it goes with support. There's been only you and a couple others at this time frame that have been posting about this issue.
While you still have the router, can you test by loading FW versions older than v1.11? Just to see. Be sure to factory reset first, then load FW, then factory reset and check.

I'll forward this onto D-Link support for review.
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Tonnopizza

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: 2.4GH is missing but the name is used for the Primary 5GH
« Reply #21 on: February 20, 2017, 04:30:44 AM »

I have received a new unit from Dlink and now 2.4GHz is present and functioning normally.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43140
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: 2.4GH is missing but the name is used for the Primary 5GH
« Reply #22 on: February 20, 2017, 08:47:59 AM »

Sounds like you had a bad unit. Glad the new one is working well now.

Enjoy.  ;)


I have received a new unit from Dlink and now 2.4GHz is present and functioning normally.
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Hard Harry

  • Guest
Re: 2.4GH is missing but the name is used for the Primary 5GH
« Reply #23 on: February 20, 2017, 09:11:16 AM »

Could you satisfy my curiosity and show a screenshot like you did in your orginal post, showing the networks of the new router? My guess is the 2.4Ghz issue has something to do with the older Wifi G networks around you. As for the 5Ghz, I think that has something to do with the secondary 5Ghz SSID and being TOO close to the router. Beam forming can do some funny things when dealing with multiple network and close distance.
Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2067
Re: 2.4GH is missing but the name is used for the Primary 5GH
« Reply #24 on: February 20, 2017, 02:30:09 PM »

Bad antenna on 2.4ghz?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43140
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: 2.4GH is missing but the name is used for the Primary 5GH
« Reply #25 on: February 20, 2017, 05:32:31 PM »

I think the unit he had before was just bad. The new unit seems to be working now.
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

erwill2

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: 2.4GH is missing but the name is used for the Primary 5GH
« Reply #26 on: March 08, 2017, 06:23:56 PM »

Update: I had problems again after a few weeks and then again a few weeks after that. Same issue with 2.4ghz channel. Dlink is sending a new unit out.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43140
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: 2.4GH is missing but the name is used for the Primary 5GH
« Reply #27 on: March 09, 2017, 06:33:08 AM »

Keep us posted on how the new unit does.

Update: I had problems again after a few weeks and then again a few weeks after that. Same issue with 2.4ghz channel. Dlink is sending a new unit out.
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Tonnopizza

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: 2.4GH is missing but the name is used for the Primary 5GH
« Reply #28 on: March 12, 2017, 11:41:56 AM »

Update: I had problems again after a few weeks and then again a few weeks after that. Same issue with 2.4ghz channel. Dlink is sending a new unit out.

With my new unit now and suffering the same old issue after 2 weeks of usage. I am not sure why this problem persists now that it is a new unit.
All of a sudden 2.4Ghz is just gone.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43140
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: 2.4GH is missing but the name is used for the Primary 5GH
« Reply #29 on: March 13, 2017, 07:04:17 AM »

What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

What version of FW came loaded on the replacement unit?
Is Smart Connect enabled or disabled?

  • Any 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz cordless house phones or WiFi APs near by that maybe causing interferences?
  • Any other WiFi routers in the area that maybe causing interferences? Link> Use a WiFi Scanner to find out. How many?

Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: 1 [2] 3