• November 23, 2017, 08:53:15 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: New DIR-860l shows only orange flashing power symbol  (Read 999 times)

Evilonkel

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
New DIR-860l shows only orange flashing power symbol
« on: September 29, 2016, 08:29:38 AM »

Hello  :)

I've just bought a new DIR-860l router, connected it to the power supply and my modem. The only thing that happens is that the power symbol on the front starts flashing orange (still after some hours). No new wlan access point is visible. Even over a direct LAN connection, I can't get into the user interface. Hopefully somebody in this forum is able to help me  :)

Best regards,

Evilonkel
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43684
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: New DIR-860l shows only orange flashing power symbol
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2016, 01:11:20 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have? Link> Speed Testing Sites
  • By-pass the main host router and check internet connection by connecting a wired LAN PC directly to the ISP modem to verify connection access and ISP speeds.
  • Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
  • For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.
  • If the ISP modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. Call the ISP and ask to see if the ISP modem can be bridged. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ. Also check the routers DHCP IP address maybe conflicting with the ISP modems IP address of 192.168.0.1. Check to see if this is the same on the ISP modem, and if modem can't be bridged, change the DIR router to 192.168.1.1 or .0.254.
    Example of a D-Link router configured for PPPoE with ISP Modem bridged: PPPoE Configuration on a Router
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Evilonkel

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: New DIR-860l shows only orange flashing power symbol
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2016, 01:55:52 AM »

-Hardware Version: B1
-Firmware Version: 2.03
-Region: Germany

-My ISP Service: Unitymedia (Cable)
-My ISP Modem:Horizon HD Recorder (modem with built-in router)
-150 mbit/s dl 5 mbit/s upload
-the cable between router and modem is working
-it's not possible to change the D-Link router IP-configuration because it's even not possible to reach the routers interface. It seems that the router does not working properly at all.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43684
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: New DIR-860l shows only orange flashing power symbol
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2016, 10:55:42 AM »

So i you disconnect the DIR router from the ISP modem and just have one wired PC connected to the DIR router, can you access the DIR routers web page at 192.168.0.1?
Do a factory reset and try accessing the routers web page with IE11 or FF while it's not connected to the ISP modem.

I presume if this fails, then you'll need to return the DIR router for a replacement or contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for an RMA.
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Evilonkel

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: New DIR-860l shows only orange flashing power symbol
« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2016, 12:59:35 PM »

Unfortunately this also fails :-/
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43684
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: New DIR-860l shows only orange flashing power symbol
« Reply #5 on: September 30, 2016, 01:04:25 PM »

Ya, this unit needs to be returned or RMAd. Sorry.
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting