• April 16, 2024, 12:50:03 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DGS-1100-16v2 loses eth1 settings, even after saving  (Read 4216 times)

draco99

• Level 1 Member
DGS-1100-16v2 loses eth1 settings, even after saving
« on: June 26, 2021, 03:30:25 PM »

Hello,

I am new to DLink Smart Switches, and I have read through the manual. I'm using my switch to front a pfSense Router with three VLANS on one port:

VLAN 0 (no VLAN) - Main Office LAN
VLAN 10 - Guest network
VLAN 20 - IoT Network

The Guest and IoT network are offered only on Wi-Fi, via Unifi AP/AC Pro units. This configuration is currently working on an older pfSense box which has a built-in Marvel 4-port switch. The newer pfSense box I am now using has no such switch, hence the acquisition of the 1100-16v2,

The problem I am having is with eth1, which is configured as the trunk line that goes back to pfSense. It is configured to have VLAN1 untagged and VLANS 10 & 20 tagged. I have saved the config files as XML (and in the Web GUI before I unplug the switch to move it from my test bench to production).

Every time I unplug it, eth1 reverts to TAGGED for VLAN1, which means it no longer removes the VLAN 1 tag from outbound packets, and pfSense drops those because there is no VLAN 1. There are many devices hanging off of the Main Office LAN that do not know about VLANs, so I do not have the option of setting VLAN 1 for the Main Office LAN. FWIW, the Unifi APs also strip VLAN packets off before sending off over their radios, and add them before sending through their ethernet ports back to the switch / router.