• January 24, 2022, 07:00:00 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: new router traffic control is not working  (Read 7804 times)

dyR

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
new router traffic control is not working
« on: November 02, 2014, 07:38:54 PM »

Hello I've successfully configured the traffic control I'll try to add images later so you guys can understand.

this is my setup

I check the enable traffic control checkbox
I have inputs on key in download bandwidth and upload

I input my desktop ip address on traffic rules/guaranteed minimum bandwidth/700kbps/always

I tried to stream youtube on the other devices but my latency still high.
I want to get less than 100 latency
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49884
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: new router traffic control is not working
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2014, 01:23:56 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?
  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
  • Has a Factory Reset been performed?
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
>FW Update Process
  • Was the router working before any firmware updates?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • Is ISP Modem/Service using Dynamic or Static WAN IP addressing?
  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have?
  • Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
  • For DSL/PPPoE connections on the router, ensure that "Always ON" option is enabled.
  • If the ISP modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ. Also check the routers DHCP IP address maybe conflicting with the ISP modems IP address of 192.168.0.1. Check to see if this is the same on the ISP modem, and if modem can't be bridged, change the DIR router to 192.168.1.1 or .0.254.
    Example of a D-Link router configured for PPPoE with ISP Modem bridged: PPPoE Configuration on Router

I recommend that you have your ISP check the cabling going to the ISP modem, check signal levels going to the ISP modem. For DSL or Fiber service lines, ensure that the ISP is using good working phone or cable lines to the DSL modem and that the phone lines are filtered correctly. For cable Internet, RG-6 coaxial cable is needed, not RG-59. Check for t.v. line splitters and remove them as they can introduce noise on the line and lower the signal going to the ISP modem. I recommend having the ISP service physically check the lines going from the out side to the ISP modem. Connecting to the ISP modem could result in a false positive as the signal to the modem could be just enough to that point then adding on a router, could see problems. The router operation is dependent upon getting good data flow from the ISP modem and the modem is dependent upon getting good signal from the ISP Service.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

dyR

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: new router traffic control is not working
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2014, 04:42:27 PM »



Hello my problem is traffic control and I already attach the picture
youtube always kill my game

location: Philippines
ISP: PLDT

« Last Edit: November 05, 2014, 04:45:34 PM by dyR »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49884
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: new router traffic control is not working
« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2014, 07:47:59 AM »

If you have two devices, one streaming youtube and one gaming, you'll nee to input both devices so the router can help manage them correctly. Inputting only one will not let the router know that there is something else that needs to be managed by QoS.

Gaming and QoS for XBL
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

dyR

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: new router traffic control is not working
« Reply #4 on: November 06, 2014, 06:00:45 PM »

ahh ok I'll try later
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49884
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: new router traffic control is not working
« Reply #5 on: November 07, 2014, 07:12:43 AM »

Let us know how it goes...
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

dyR

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: new router traffic control is not working
« Reply #6 on: November 08, 2014, 04:32:05 AM »

I tried what u say I input my desktop's ip in the rules and set it to 1200kbps and the another rule for other devices .102-.199 for 900kbps.  but the traffic control seems unstable when I'm playing the game and the other devices streaming on youtube(flawless streaming). I  saw my latency reaching 140ms+ but it will go back to less than 100ms after 5 to 10 secs. do you think its normal?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49884
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: new router traffic control is not working
« Reply #7 on: November 08, 2014, 10:01:41 AM »

Please post a picture of what your current Traffic settings look like...
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

dyR

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: new router traffic control is not working
« Reply #8 on: November 09, 2014, 08:42:07 PM »



this is my current setup
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49884
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: new router traffic control is not working
« Reply #9 on: November 10, 2014, 07:11:01 AM »

Can you review this and do the test as well and report back your findings?
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=59475.msg243422#msg243422

With all other devices disconnected from the router, and with or with out the router connected to the ISP modem, ping the routers IP address and review the ping times, if they are fluctuating, then we have a problem I believe.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

dyR

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: new router traffic control is not working
« Reply #10 on: November 10, 2014, 12:39:59 PM »

no other devices connected.


what you think?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49884
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: new router traffic control is not working
« Reply #11 on: November 10, 2014, 01:04:24 PM »

Ok no issues there. If the >time was fluctuating then there would be a FW issue. This maybe a configuration issue.

Was this test with or with out the router being connected to the ISP modem/Services?

Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

dyR

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: new router traffic control is not working
« Reply #12 on: November 10, 2014, 05:48:31 PM »

I test this with isp connection, I'll try later with no isp
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49884
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: new router traffic control is not working
« Reply #13 on: November 10, 2014, 05:51:02 PM »

Ok sounds like a configuration issue maybe or a device on the line...
I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.
Let us know how it goes please.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.