• January 19, 2022, 12:38:16 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6

Author Topic: FW 2.04 for 605L rev B - to be or not to be  (Read 38341 times)

zme-ul

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
FW 2.04 for 605L rev B - to be or not to be
« on: May 28, 2014, 12:44:32 PM »

today I checked to see if is there any FW update for my router, and I saw the new 2.04
but when I try to download, the file isn't there :'(  ftp://ftp.dlink.eu/Products/dir/dir-605l/driver_software

strangely enough, it exists on US page: ftp://ftp2.dlink.com/PRODUCTS/DIR-605L/REVB


what's going on?
« Last Edit: May 28, 2014, 12:52:16 PM by zme-ul »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49885
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: FW 2.04 for 605L rev B - to be or not to be
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2014, 12:56:36 PM »

You can get it from the German site:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=59541.0
« Last Edit: May 28, 2014, 01:04:49 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

zme-ul

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: FW 2.04 for 605L rev B - to be or not to be
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2014, 02:33:08 AM »

ok, will try later
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49885
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: FW 2.04 for 605L rev B - to be or not to be
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2014, 07:14:27 AM »

Any status on this?  ???

today I checked to see if is there any FW update for my router, and I saw the new 2.04
but when I try to download, the file isn't there :'(  ftp://ftp.dlink.eu/Products/dir/dir-605l/driver_software

strangely enough, it exists on US page: ftp://ftp2.dlink.com/PRODUCTS/DIR-605L/REVB


what's going on?
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

zme-ul

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: FW 2.04 for 605L rev B - to be or not to be
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2014, 10:46:11 PM »

sorry about the delay, I was away  :P

yes, the FW update went smoothly - so far no issues  ;)
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49885
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: FW 2.04 for 605L rev B - to be or not to be
« Reply #5 on: August 04, 2014, 11:45:00 AM »

Glad it's working well.

Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

zme-ul

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: FW 2.04 for 605L rev B - to be or not to be
« Reply #6 on: August 04, 2014, 11:47:13 AM »

update:

reset the router to factory defaults  ;)
as I said in the other thread, the router gave me roughly 50% of the bandwidth from the ISP
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49885
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: FW 2.04 for 605L rev B - to be or not to be
« Reply #7 on: August 04, 2014, 11:49:34 AM »

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • Is ISP Modem/Service using Dynamic or Static WAN IP addressing?
  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have?
  • Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values
Is any traffic management or QoS enabled?
Are you testing via wired or wireless when speed testing?

Are you getting your ISP spec speeds after the reset?
« Last Edit: September 16, 2014, 11:12:58 PM by Kakashi::. »
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

zme-ul

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: FW 2.04 for 605L rev B - to be or not to be
« Reply #8 on: August 04, 2014, 12:07:30 PM »

  • cable - (cat 6e)
  • no modem, direct cable from ISP's node box
  • aprox 100mbps down&up
  • cable is not an issue
  • MTU -1492
  • no QoS
  • cable

yes, after reset I got my ISP's spec speeds


before the reset:

after reset:
« Last Edit: August 04, 2014, 12:12:35 PM by zme-ul »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49885
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: FW 2.04 for 605L rev B - to be or not to be
« Reply #9 on: August 04, 2014, 12:14:08 PM »

and does it remain at spec speeds after the reset?
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

zme-ul

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: FW 2.04 for 605L rev B - to be or not to be
« Reply #10 on: August 04, 2014, 12:19:47 PM »

I have to test it a few days to be absolutely sure
but for few hours since, it works as it should
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49885
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: FW 2.04 for 605L rev B - to be or not to be
« Reply #11 on: August 04, 2014, 12:25:05 PM »

Keep an eye on it, if it happens again that your speeds are not to spec, I'd have your ISP service all service lines and cabling between this router and there Node. We have seen some issues at the Node rather than at the router. You could even test this router at a different location as a test to see if the same problem follows. Could try a different router as well.

Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

zme-ul

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: FW 2.04 for 605L rev B - to be or not to be
« Reply #12 on: August 04, 2014, 01:01:14 PM »

my very 1st router (with DDWRT FW mod), since I switched to the new ISP (RCS-RDS), had issues connecting via PPoE
the same router with default firmware connected properly, but I wanted DDWRT because of few features default firmware did not offer, so I switched it with a newer model

few months back, "the newer model" just stopped working - absolutely dead, no blinking LEDs .. nothing

so, I bought about the cheapest router I could get my hands on in such short time - the 605L



ps: if I don't reply back to this topic, all is well
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49885
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: FW 2.04 for 605L rev B - to be or not to be
« Reply #13 on: August 04, 2014, 01:06:15 PM »

What is the max connection rate that your ISP supports for the WAN port speed? 10, 100 or 1000Mb?
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

zme-ul

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: FW 2.04 for 605L rev B - to be or not to be
« Reply #14 on: August 04, 2014, 02:06:54 PM »

100mbps - just as the contract states


the absolute maximum they offer for end-users is 1000mbps, but for that you'd need gigabit router - not cheap at all
« Last Edit: August 04, 2014, 02:31:57 PM by zme-ul »
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6