• April 27, 2024, 10:47:32 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: DNS-343 Slow down & choppy video streaming  (Read 8392 times)

xsylarx

• Level 1 Member
DNS-343 Slow down & choppy video streaming
« on: December 05, 2010, 09:36:53 AM »

Hi all.

I have been using my dns-343 for about 8 months now. Everything was working great. Suddenly now when I stream video 1080P or all video rather it is very choppy and hangs up.

I had noticed the 343 power was off. I believe the cable guy might of loosened the power cable. It was still plugged in but out just enough to turn off the unit. I plugged it back in.

Since then this problem started happening. I can still access files and copy to and from the unit. The temperature of the unit is between 109F - 116F. Drives are about 37 degrees celcius

Im on gigabit dlink DIR-655 extreme gigabit router. Everything is wired connection not using wireless to stream.

I have four 2 TB Western Digital drives (WD20EARS) in RAID 5

I ran scan disk on the drives. I also currently running a S.M.A.R.T. Test on drives. drives 2,3 and 4 have PASS. The first drive is at 90% of test and is still testing. Been 4 hours. Not sure why drive one is taking so long to complete test. I am using the current firmware. I have tried upgrading to 1.4 beta. but have not reset the unit from the back.

I have noticed Sync time remaining is 3440 minutes since I initially found the unit off.

Im set to 1000 mbps. Static IP. 9000 jumbo frames.

What could be causing this problem? Is there lag in video streaming because of the sync time? Bad HD? Faulty dns 343?

Any ideas?

Thanks!

Jay.

ps if i manual rebuild would i lose my data if im not swapping drives?
« Last Edit: December 05, 2010, 09:39:27 AM by xsylarx »

JavaLawyer

• BETA Tester