• November 27, 2021, 01:27:39 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6]

Author Topic: Who is using VOIP behind DIR-825?  (Read 65022 times)

paulm17781

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Who is using VOIP behind DIR-825?
« Reply #75 on: April 28, 2010, 07:40:15 AM »

A new firmware has been released that addresses the SIP troubles.

http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=12790.0

Is there an EU release?
Logged

resolute

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Who is using VOIP behind DIR-825?
« Reply #76 on: April 28, 2010, 11:31:11 AM »

If you want to try the 2.03NA, this should allow it to load.
I have tried NA EU AND WW firmwares with this method.

Flush out the NVRAM Before you Re-Flash Your Router Updat
at
http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r22315498-Info-Flush-out-the-NVRAM-Before-you-ReFlash-Your-Router-Updat
Before and after you proceed.

now after the first time, at the end when you plug in but are still holding the paperclip to the reset:
when you remove paperclip you browse to 192.168.0.1,
You should see a loader that is unfamiliar, use it to browse to the bin you wish to load to.

Of course, you wish to have the bin file set in a location on your hard disk before proceeding.
Logged

SVoyager

  • Guest
Re: Who is using VOIP behind DIR-825?
« Reply #77 on: April 28, 2010, 07:29:17 PM »

Unfortunatly, the problem I had with my linksys spa2102 is still present in firmware 2.03NA. Back to firmware 2.02NA beta 2 and my voip works once again. (using rev b of the router).

Logged

wikilover

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Who is using VOIP behind DIR-825?
« Reply #78 on: May 17, 2010, 01:58:50 PM »

Dear all!

Let me describe my experience so far with the DIR-825 and VOIP. I am using a Siemens Gigaset C475IP using the SIP protocol using two SIP providers (one of them sipgate.de).

The C475IP was working fine with my old router from siemens using port forwarding for the ports 5000-5070 TCP and UDP (the whole range for convenience  ;) ).

Now with the new D-Link router with firmware 2.01EU which was shipped with my DIR-825. Nothing (!) worked, although I was using the same port forwarding settings.

After updating to firmware 2.02EU Voip was working perfectly for outgoing calls but was not working for incoming calls. (Which I only found out when somebody called me after a couple of days and he could hear me but I was not hearing him.)

I was trying several things: virtual server just for the needed ports, port forwarding for the range as explained above, and also SIP Application settings on and off. Nothing (!) fixed the problem.  >:(

The only thing which was left was putting the VOIP phone C475IP in the DMZ. That worked. But of course this solution is only a second best solution and has potential security issues.

To make it short: There is clearly still a SIP bug in the 2.02EU firmware and I am about to give back this buggy router or resell it.

Regards

Wikilover!
Logged

cscheels

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Who is using VOIP behind DIR-825?
« Reply #79 on: May 19, 2010, 11:36:17 AM »

I hope D-Link engineers read these forums, as this is a bug with their DIR-825 firmware. Most likely with the SIP ALG.

No matter what I do to the port forwarding or virtual server (or DMZ). no matter what I try (spent an hour on phone with dlink tech support), UDP port 5060 is "locked" by the firewall, and i cant successfully get 5060 UDP to open. I am using PFPortChecker ver 1.0.32 by portforward.com (free UDP port scanner). i can open TCP 5060 or any other port both UDP or TCP and PFPortChecker is successfully able to scan the ports as open, but not UDP 5060.

I WOULD BET DLINK ENGINEER $100 or a case of thier favorite beer that IT IS A BUG!!!

We are a national Hosted UC provider serving ~10,000 seats. We use Nortel MCS5200 (carrier grade SIP (VoIP) multimedia switch), along with Nortel PC Client (softphone you install on your PC) to make and receive calls, click to call, IM, co-web browse, presence, etc.
Logged

cscheels

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Who is using VOIP behind DIR-825?
« Reply #80 on: May 20, 2010, 06:14:02 AM »

I have to be able to use the Nortel PC Client when working from home. The WNDR3700 was $5 less than the DIR-825, and my VoIP worked instantly after I unchecked the SIP ALG box! I didn't read great things about the Linksys E3000 either. What would you suggest? I need the sim dual band to connect to a 5Ghz bridge to stream media to TV's, 2.4Ghz is for pcs and laptops.
Logged

nickwhite

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Who is using VOIP behind DIR-825?
« Reply #81 on: July 13, 2010, 11:06:18 AM »

I'm on a DIR-825 Rev B. The router shipped with firmware 2.02NA, which I could not get the SIP phones to work through. I updated to the latest firmware, 2.03NA, tried disabling SPI, enabling/disabling ALG, and still no dice. This router has serious issues with SIP phones, and unless D-Link does something about the bugs, it will not work. We replaced the DIR-825 with a WRT54GS2, which worked right out of the box.
« Last Edit: July 15, 2010, 07:17:40 AM by nickwhite »
Logged

snyder

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Who is using VOIP behind DIR-825?
« Reply #82 on: July 25, 2010, 04:34:25 PM »

The problem with SIP on the DIR-825 A & B is that the SIP ALG firewall does not take into account port 5060 used my many VoIP service providers. To fix this, check the logs for outbound ports that are being blocked by the SIP ALG firewall. Go to Advanced, Application rules and add a rule, ie Voip for UDP port 5060, trigger and firewall, this will stop the port 5060 outbound blocked messages in the log.

Next assign the Voip TA a DHCP IP reservation under Setup, Network Settings then add the now static DHCP IP address to Advanced, QOS rules and only give that IP address, ie 192.168.0.199 thru 192.168.0.199 a Priority of 1, "Any" Protocol, ports 0 thru 65535. I recommend changing the VoIP TA IP address to 192.168.0.100, leaving the DHCP leased / expires in the 170 to 190 range. ie, what IP you assign on the router the TA will pick up based on mac address. Leave the Remote IP Range 0.0.0.0 thru 255.255.255.255. You must place the VoIP TA in the DHCP reservation list because the QOS Rules will not follow a DHCP IP lease expiration if your TA is assigned a new IP address by the router.

Limited to a number of SIP applications this router recognizes automatically, ie Skype, AIM Talk, Calista, ICQ, Pal Talk - all PC based applications, D-Link engineers did not take into account firewall settings for physical TA's like Vonage, ITPVoIP, and others. Your VoIP TA and service provider may be slightly different, but you get the idea how to use Status, Logs and Advanced, Application rules to open blocked outbound ports and use QOS firewall settings to prioritize VoIP traffic. If you follow this setup you will also eliminate the "Blocked outgoing ICMP packet (ICMP type 3)" message in logs.

« Last Edit: October 30, 2010, 12:38:20 AM by snyder »
Logged

maxplante

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Who is using VOIP behind DIR-825? One SOLUTION
« Reply #83 on: October 22, 2010, 07:49:29 AM »

Problem SOLVED

Outgoing calls were working fine, but incoming calls did not get through.

In "ADVANCED" > "FIREWALL SETTINGS", I unchecked "Enable SPI". Rebooted.

Works fine.
Max
Logged

snyder

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Who is using VOIP behind DIR-825?
« Reply #84 on: October 27, 2010, 11:06:10 PM »

Unfortunately turning off the routers firewall which is your front line defense against internet attacks is not a brilliant idea nor does it solve the problem of VoIP network packet prioritizing which you will run into when gaming or uploading / downloading large files while on the phone simultaneously.

Well... Unless voice chop, missed and disconnected calls is acceptable during these events.
« Last Edit: October 27, 2010, 11:16:45 PM by snyder »
Logged

avchris

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Who is using VOIP behind DIR-825?
« Reply #85 on: November 10, 2010, 06:11:15 PM »

Ok I had the same problem and i was getting a bit upset becasue i just flushed over $100 down the drain.  After playing around with the advanced server (kicked all my computers off the net), port forwarding (didn't do anything to help) and disabling the firewall i finally found a solution that works for me.  I using VoIP.com service with a Grandstream Handytone 286 ATA.  This product uses SIP for calls.  Once i made the change and the system started working i had to laugh.  I enabled the SPI, set my UDP Endpoint Filtering to Endpoint Independent, and enabled the SIP ALG.  Did a reset on the GrandStream and now it is registered and working great.  I have made a couple of test calls in and out and everthing sounds like a regular phone.  The reason i had to laugh about it is that i had a DIR-628 in place before this.  On the firewall settings i had to set just the opposite to make it work.

DIR-825
Hardware version: B1
Firmware version: 2.02NA

I used this solution with my DIR 825 HW Version B1 Firmware 2.03NA with Fonality SIP VOIP phone (Grandstream GXP2000) I had spent 90 minutes on the phone with Fonality before they said "you need to go back to the DIR 655".  After deploying the above solution, the phone worked until the next morning.  Then I made one change, disabled the SPI and got it working again.  Time will tell though if this is a lasting solution.
« Last Edit: November 11, 2010, 09:32:20 AM by avchris »
Logged

englishdude

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Who is using VOIP behind DIR-825?
« Reply #86 on: December 23, 2010, 08:06:36 PM »

would adding a switch get around it to the 825
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49863
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Who is using VOIP behind DIR-825?
« Reply #87 on: May 14, 2011, 07:00:00 PM »

It's possible there are other issues when using VOIP. Seen issues lie with VOIP HW and SW rather than DLink routers.

Also placement of the VoIP devices reserved IP address in the routers DMZ resolves this problem.
« Last Edit: November 21, 2014, 08:46:03 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.
Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6]