• January 25, 2022, 12:55:46 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: a few issues  (Read 8995 times)

darkcat1

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
a few issues
« on: April 03, 2011, 07:10:20 AM »

I really don't think it's worth calling Dlink for this stuff so I came here. 

1. I have a Nintendo DS lite and I'm running the router in mixed mode with the wireless security turned off(heck I live in the middle of nowhere) and for some reason my DS comes back with an error saying that it can't get an IP address.  However I did see it in the router status table when I tried a connection test last night.

2. I can't update the firmware on the router.  It just gives me a message saying that the firmware is incorrect or that the gateway is busy and yes I'm on a wired connection. My firmware version is 2.02NA

3. Randomly my PS3 seems to get the same issue as my DS and it's happened twice since I got this router two weeks ago.  Each time I've just saved the settings on the router and for some reason my PS3 came back up and worked...
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49886
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: a few issues
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2011, 12:03:01 PM »

Try adding Static Reserved IP address for all of your devices in the router under Setup/Network settings. Select the Reserve link on the row your devices is listed on. if your not concerned about others using your wireless connection then you could leave the security off. Nintendo DS devices like to use WEP security however it not as good as WPA. For your use leaving it off should let the DS connect.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

darkcat1

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: a few issues
« Reply #2 on: April 04, 2011, 02:39:18 AM »

I'm very sorry but every time I've tried static IP addresses they never work for me and served to screw things up even more.  I could not do this with my old router(I bought this as sorta an upgrade) and I'm sure I can't do this with this one either.

My primary concern is that the firmware won't update and this may even solve the issues with my DS...
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49886
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: a few issues
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2011, 07:33:40 AM »

It's recommended that you first try to resolve the connection issues with your devices and the router before updating. It's not always updating to FW that will fix the issue and is some cases does not fix the issue or makes the situation worse.
« Last Edit: April 04, 2011, 07:47:42 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

darkcat1

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: a few issues
« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2011, 12:06:26 PM »

let me clarify this: 90% of the devices on my network are fine and my PS3 has only annoyed me twice and refused to get an internet IP address.  Since I posted this my brother had a hiccup similar to my PS3 issues with his Macbook but it resolved itself the same way and he got an IP.

The primary connection issue is just with one little Nintendo DS lite only and all other devices work save for the incidents above(I've had it for two weeks).  The game I'm using is Pokemon White and I tried this solution from Nintendo's site: Initial Setup Help and How to connect your Nintendo DS or Nintendo DS Lite and these did not help.

I entered the DHCP information manually as suggested in these articles and it still failed the connection test by saying that it could not get an IP address.

Also to get a better idea of things that get connected via wireless at my house on a regular basis I'll list stuff:

1 PS3 system
2 Nintendo Wii Systems
1 Nintendo DS Lite
1. Playstation 2 via a Wireless G Ethernet bridge
1 PC via Wireless N
2 PCs via Wireless G
1 Macbook via Wireless N
1. Iphone 3g

Please note that all this stuff is not online at the same time but gets used on a regular basis.
« Last Edit: April 06, 2011, 12:09:47 PM by darkcat1 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49886
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: a few issues
« Reply #5 on: April 06, 2011, 12:17:51 PM »

Is the DS using Wireless security when connecting?
What wireless security mode is the router set for now? WEP or WPA?
What wireless security mode does the DS support?
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

darkcat1

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: a few issues
« Reply #6 on: April 06, 2011, 12:23:05 PM »

Is the DS using Wireless security when connecting?
None

What wireless security mode is the router set for now? WEP or WPA?
The wireless security is currently turned off so there is no security.  After I solve my connection issues I planned on turning on WEP security.

What wireless security mode does the DS support?
WEP only
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49886
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: a few issues
« Reply #7 on: April 06, 2011, 12:28:35 PM »

OK,
Does the DS show up in the routers DHCP client list under Setup/Network settings at all?
If you turn off ALL other devices accept for a PC and the DS, does the DS show up in the router?

I presume everything else does.
Have use set any Static IP reservations under this menu on the router?

I see nintendo mentions this:
Change the "TX rate" setting to "2."
Change the wireless channel to 1 or 11. This setting can be found under 'Wireless Settings' on the 'Basic Settings' page.

http://www.nintendo.com/consumer/wfc/en_na/routers/DLink/all.jsp
I notice that the DIR-825 isn't listed in there list of routers. Not sure if this means anything or not.  :-\
« Last Edit: April 06, 2011, 12:37:06 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

darkcat1

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: a few issues
« Reply #8 on: April 06, 2011, 12:43:10 PM »

Does the DS show up in the routers DHCP client list under Setup/Network settings at all?
it did when I tried it last on Friday.  At least the router said that it saw the device

If you turn off ALL other devices accept for a PC and the DS, does the DS show up in the router?
this is not really possible as convincing certain people in my house to turn their PCs off is near impossible.

I presume everything else does.
Have use set any Static IP reservations under this menu on the router?
no!!  It's a mess to even try...

all devices are auto assigned IP addresses
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49886
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: a few issues
« Reply #9 on: April 06, 2011, 12:51:55 PM »

Ok sounds like it showed up once. Something changed since then and not it wont. Need to see if you can get back on the router and if you see it listed under DHCP Client, I would suggest you Reserve the IP address for it.

I would do this, do a factory reset of the router, set G mode only with out any security and see if you can get the DS to connect and reserve the IP address. Turn off all other devices as much as you can. I think you might have to do some tweeking of the WiFi, i.e. transmission rate and channel to see if it will connect.

I would also verify that the DS unit works elsewhere, friends or neighbors network? This will let you know that the DS unit is good. Might see if someone else has another DS that you can try with this router too if you can.

I feel your router is working well, it's the possible configuration of the DS and or the WiFi on the router is getting hosed up.

I think you should try to take the time and set up all of your devices to Reserved static IP addresses on the router. This will help in troubleshooting, management and setting up other options on the router. Also each device will get an IP address that doesn't change. Sometimes using DHCP addresses can break a option setup on the router, i.e. rules, should the address change by accident or end of lease. I have over 15 devices in my house. There all set up with there own IPs.
Just a suggestion.

Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

darkcat1

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: a few issues
« Reply #10 on: April 06, 2011, 01:17:02 PM »

not exactly but I will check the settings Nintendo suggests when I get home.  I've had this issue the whole time I've had this router(from day one).  I'm not near it to adjust it at the moment...

Also I'm gonna play with google as my sister said some Dlink routers need firmware updates before they will work with DS systems.

One more tips: look up 3DS settings as it's newer.  It may be different but it might have a more updated router list...
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49886
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: a few issues
« Reply #11 on: April 06, 2011, 01:19:22 PM »

OK,
If you can't get it to work with the suggestions, I guess FW update would be in order.
If you do an Update, do the following,
Factory reset.
Update FW.
Factory reset again.
Test.
Let us know how it goes.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

darkcat1

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: a few issues
« Reply #12 on: April 09, 2011, 02:02:46 PM »

1. updated fw to 2.05 no good
2  Called Nintendo and tech helped me enter static ip address info:(listing settings)

Ip Address: 192.168.0.110
Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.0.1
Primary DNS: 4.2.2.2

OK all you Pokemon and DS fans with DIR-825 routers can start playing ^^
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49886
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: a few issues
« Reply #13 on: April 09, 2011, 02:31:29 PM »

Did they have you manually enter in a IP address on the router or DS?
Also does the DS connect if you switch the WiFi mode from G to B? Heard there are some DS units out there still using B mode FYI.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

darkcat1

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: a few issues
« Reply #14 on: April 11, 2011, 08:04:15 AM »

That is what they had me enter on the DS and it worked.  I was posting to help other DS and Nintendo fans who might be around here with router defaults.

Yes I know it's B but since I'm running in N/A/G/B mixed mode it should not be an issue...
Logged
Pages: [1] 2