• October 21, 2017, 01:43:37 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: can only access 1 website using direct connection and wifi  (Read 585 times)

blueblackzinc

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 20
can only access 1 website using direct connection and wifi
« on: September 15, 2017, 08:21:49 AM »

I can only access espn.co.uk... currently running 2.02 version

I flushed the dns
i tried tracking the packet but it was 100% lost
restore the router to factory setting on the device and online
renew the ip

currently living in dormitory where internet access only given to approved mac address. I see that my mac address on the device and the one online is slightly different. just the last letter is different. i'm using the one online.

i asked the network admin but he doesnt know how to deal with this


HELP.please.
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 4 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 410
Re: can only access 1 website using direct connection and wifi
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2017, 08:36:29 AM »

Routers will have multiple MAC addresses. You will need to give them the WAN MAC address.

Open a browser and enter http://dlinkrouter.local./version.txt.  If you get rejected, log into the router first and then enter the URL. All the MAC addresses will be listed. Give them the WAN MAC.

Logged

blueblackzinc

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: can only access 1 website using direct connection and wifi
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2017, 09:01:40 AM »

Routers will have multiple MAC addresses. You will need to give them the WAN MAC address.

Open a browser and enter http://dlinkrouter.local./version.txt.  If you get rejected, log into the router first and then enter the URL. All the MAC addresses will be listed. Give them the WAN MAC.



I gave them wan mac address. The one on my router is apparently Lan mac address
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 4 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 410
Re: can only access 1 website using direct connection and wifi
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2017, 09:05:16 AM »

I believe the one on the label is the LAN. Hopefully it will work for you now. Make sure to reboot the router if it doesn't connect.
Logged

blueblackzinc

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: can only access 1 website using direct connection and wifi
« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2017, 09:15:25 AM »

I believe the one on the label is the LAN. Hopefully it will work for you now. Make sure to reboot the router if it doesn't connect.

yeah it is. I gave my network it the wan address yesterday. still doesnt work. :(
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 4 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 410
Re: can only access 1 website using direct connection and wifi
« Reply #5 on: September 15, 2017, 09:24:04 AM »

So you are still only able to go to the one website?

In the router UI, are you getting a WAN IP address, gateway, and DNS server(s) addresses?

From your computer, can you ping 4.2.2.2 (click Start. in the box type CMD and press enter, at the prompt type ping 4.2.2.2 and press enter)? If yes, you are connected to the Internet. Try pinging a website - ping yahoo.com. If you are not getting replies, either DNS servers are bad or they are blocking your access.
Logged

blueblackzinc

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: can only access 1 website using direct connection and wifi
« Reply #6 on: September 15, 2017, 09:37:14 AM »

So you are still only able to go to the one website?

In the router UI, are you getting a WAN IP address, gateway, and DNS server(s) addresses?

From your computer, can you ping 4.2.2.2 (click Start. in the box type CMD and press enter, at the prompt type ping 4.2.2.2 and press enter)? If yes, you are connected to the Internet. Try pinging a website - ping yahoo.com. If you are not getting replies, either DNS servers are bad or they are blocking your access.

yes. only 1 website.

not sure what WAN IP address is but gateway, and primary/secondary DNS are all there.

I can't ping anything. "request time out" and it was 100% loss
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43401
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: can only access 1 website using direct connection and wifi
« Reply #7 on: September 15, 2017, 09:46:06 AM »

What is the WAN IP address see under the WAN section of the routers UI? 192.168.something or a ##.##.###.### address?

Is the router directly connected to the wall out let or a modem of some kind?

Try changing the WAN port speed from Auto to 100Mb and test.
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

blueblackzinc

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: can only access 1 website using direct connection and wifi
« Reply #8 on: September 15, 2017, 09:59:26 AM »

What is the WAN IP address see under the WAN section of the routers UI? 192.168.something or a ##.##.###.### address?

Is the router directly connected to the wall out let or a modem of some kind?

Try changing the WAN port speed from Auto to 100Mb and test.

[This is what i see][https://imgur.com/a/kxKiU]

it is connected to the wall outlet

How do I change WAN port? is it MTU?
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 4 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 410
Re: can only access 1 website using direct connection and wifi
« Reply #9 on: September 15, 2017, 10:01:35 AM »

Is the connection from the wall connected to the WAN/Internet port on the router?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43401
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: can only access 1 website using direct connection and wifi
« Reply #10 on: September 15, 2017, 10:07:33 AM »

Select on Go to Settings and there should be a WAN port speed selection there.

the 10.#.##.### is a private IP address however should still be able to get out.
Try different browsers, ie11, FF or Opera.

Can you do a tracert to google or some site?

Be sure your PC is using a Dymanic IP address obtain method for it's NIC and try different browser. Disable any PC security SW and browser add-ons temporarily.

What is the WAN IP address see under the WAN section of the routers UI? 192.168.something or a ##.##.###.### address?

Is the router directly connected to the wall out let or a modem of some kind?

Try changing the WAN port speed from Auto to 100Mb and test.

[This is what i see][https://imgur.com/a/kxKiU]

it is connected to the wall outlet

How do I change WAN port? is it MTU?
« Last Edit: September 15, 2017, 10:33:49 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

blueblackzinc

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: can only access 1 website using direct connection and wifi
« Reply #11 on: September 15, 2017, 10:39:09 AM »

Select on Go to Settings and there should be a WAN port speed selection there.

the 10.#.##.### is a private IP address however should still be able to get out.
Try different browsers, ie11, FF or Opera.

Can you do a tracert to google or some site?

Be sure your PC is using a Dymanic IP address obtain method for it's NIC and try different browser. Disable any PC security SW and browser add-ons temporarily.

edit: ping came out short. everything lost
What is the WAN IP address see under the WAN section of the routers UI? 192.168.something or a ##.##.###.### address?

Is the router directly connected to the wall out let or a modem of some kind?

Try changing the WAN port speed from Auto to 100Mb and test.

[This is what i see][https://imgur.com/a/kxKiU]

it is connected to the wall outlet

How do I change WAN port? is it MTU?

no setting for WAN port.

tried different browser. still the same

i already disable everything. including firewall

however, I made progress. I clone my laptop MAC address to my router. I can google stuff but not open it. like i can google Facebook and when I click the link, it doesnt work. and I can open California DMV.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43401
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: can only access 1 website using direct connection and wifi
« Reply #12 on: September 15, 2017, 10:42:22 AM »

Since you cloned your PC, you might do a full reboot with both PC and router then test again...
Might ask the ISP service support about what maybe needed if anything on connected routers with there services.
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 4 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 410
Re: can only access 1 website using direct connection and wifi
« Reply #13 on: September 15, 2017, 10:44:25 AM »

That doesn't make sense to me that you are connecting. Your Internet settings on the router had 0.0.0.0 for an IP address.

Is the cable from the wall connected to the Internet port on the router?
Logged

blueblackzinc

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: can only access 1 website using direct connection and wifi
« Reply #14 on: September 15, 2017, 10:54:34 AM »

Since you cloned your PC, you might do a full reboot with both PC and router then test again...
Might ask the ISP service support about what maybe needed if anything on connected routers with there services.

i will.

That doesn't make sense to me that you are connecting. Your Internet settings on the router had 0.0.0.0 for an IP address.

Is the cable from the wall connected to the Internet port on the router?


I got 5 port behind the router. 4 black and 1 yellow. For the one connected from the wall outlet to the router, i put it in the yellow port. the cable from my laptop to the router, i put it in one of the black one.

I'm going to be away for an hour. Gonna have to cook. but i'll be back.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3