• December 16, 2017, 08:58:59 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Business Router with Firewall (or UTM)  (Read 16318 times)

AugTech

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Business Router with Firewall (or UTM)
« on: August 30, 2017, 12:48:08 PM »

Office is moving to new space.  New office getting new network equipment.

Considering a Sonicwall for UTM.  However we were using the DIR-655 and some of the DAP equipment.

Business size:  6 wired and 3-5 wireless.   1 WAN port needed.  Need 16 ports (for network printers/scanners/copiers/desktops).    No VPN needed. 

This is a professional company and needs security more than speed. 

Suggestions for a implementation?   Thanks.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43919
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Business Router with Firewall (or UTM)
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2017, 03:22:08 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?

Are you looking to upgrade from your DIR-655 router?
What Rev is the 655?
What ISP Speed will you have at this business?
What ISP mfr and model modem is installed here or will be installed?

A 16-24 port external Gb switch will be needed. Possible a patch panel for multi room LAN port connections.
What kind of DAP models do you have?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

AugTech

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Business Router with Firewall (or UTM)
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2017, 04:12:05 PM »

I am not at that office at the moment.

Not sure of rev of 655 or DAPs.
ISP speed is 50Mbs down.
ISP modem has not yet been installed at the new location.

If you had a blank new network with the parameters I stated, what would you get?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43919
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Business Router with Firewall (or UTM)
« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2017, 06:28:43 PM »

I set up a similar small office with a DIR-655 for 3 PCs and two VOIP phones and a couple of wireless phones and two printers. DIR-655 handles it just fine.

Any current problems with the router your using currently?

I am not at that office at the moment.

Not sure of rev of 655 or DAPs.
ISP speed is 50Mbs down.
ISP modem has not yet been installed at the new location.

If you had a blank new network with the parameters I stated, what would you get?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

AugTech

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Business Router with Firewall (or UTM)
« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2017, 05:44:09 AM »

My issue with the DIR-655 is the firewall.  The 655 was not a UTM device/appliance.  And the UTM firewalls have been discontinued by DLink and Netgear.

My question:   for small companies that need security and not speed (as for gaming or streaming media) what is the router / firewall suggestion?

Thanks for your suggestions.
 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43919
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Business Router with Firewall (or UTM)
« Reply #5 on: August 31, 2017, 06:04:29 AM »

Well even though DIR series routers are mostly home class routers, they are not designed for full firewall implementations like true firewall appliances. They do work for the abg home and small business though.

Have you reviewed the DSR series of routers? These are designed for small to business class environments.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

AugTech

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Business Router with Firewall (or UTM)
« Reply #6 on: September 01, 2017, 04:34:40 AM »

I was mistaken.  The main router is a DSR-500 with two DAPs attached.   (This is in the current building.)

The DIR is in conference room area.

I created confusion here.   Is there a DSR you would recommend?

Thanks and my apologies for the mis-information.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43919
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Business Router with Firewall (or UTM)
« Reply #7 on: September 01, 2017, 09:52:24 AM »

If you have a DSR already then keep it. Would be all that you need.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting