• September 21, 2017, 11:19:56 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: WPS question  (Read 291 times)

Hoogroo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
WPS question
« on: August 29, 2017, 09:32:41 PM »

I just bought a DIR-880L and updated the firmware to v1.08WW. I have a question about the checkboxes associated with WiFi Protected Setup.

Under "WiFi Protected Setup" the page displays, "WPS-PBC Status", followed by a checkbox, followed by "DisabledEnabled". The box is checked but I have no idea what that means. Does it mean pushbutton WPS is enabled or disabled?

It also displays, "WPS-PIN Status", followed by a checkbox, followed by "LockedUnlock" and the box is checked. Does that mean WPS with a PIN is enabled or not?

I hope this is clear. Actually, here's a screenshot in case it isn't: http://imgur.com/a/GkJCX

Thanks!
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 3 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 338
Re: WPS question
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2017, 06:33:31 AM »

Confusing....

I will check with a tech since this info is not in the manual. I am assuming if the box is checked it is enabled but I will find out for sure.
Logged

Hoogroo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: WPS question
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2017, 07:41:17 AM »

Thanks! Basically, I'm trying to make the router as secure as possible and disable all its WPS capabilities.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43125
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: WPS question
« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2017, 09:20:34 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?

What Browser are you using? This seen in different browsers?

Just checking mine:

OSX and Safari browser.

You should be seeing slider buttons here.
Be sure to clear the browser caches in the browser. Fully close the browser then relaunch the browser and access the routers UI.


I just bought a DIR-880L and updated the firmware to v1.08WW. I have a question about the checkboxes associated with WiFi Protected Setup.

Under "WiFi Protected Setup" the page displays, "WPS-PBC Status", followed by a checkbox, followed by "DisabledEnabled". The box is checked but I have no idea what that means. Does it mean pushbutton WPS is enabled or disabled?

It also displays, "WPS-PIN Status", followed by a checkbox, followed by "LockedUnlock" and the box is checked. Does that mean WPS with a PIN is enabled or not?

I hope this is clear. Actually, here's a screenshot in case it isn't: http://imgur.com/a/GkJCX

Thanks!
« Last Edit: August 30, 2017, 09:27:29 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Hoogroo

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: WPS question
« Reply #4 on: August 30, 2017, 10:33:50 AM »

Thanks! I connected to the router via Safari and the page rendered correctly - it's all good now.

It's weird that the page rendered incorrectly in Chrome (version 60.0.3112.101 (Official Build) (64-bit) on OS X 10.9.5 on a MacBook Air) and even weirder that the top sliders should work but not those bottom two.

In any event, I'm all set. Thanks again!
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 3 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 338
Re: WPS question
« Reply #5 on: August 30, 2017, 10:38:32 AM »

Thanks Furry. I literally just connected my 880L and updating the firmware.

Hoogroo - glad it was a simple fix. The tech just got back to me and said the same as Furry.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43125
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: WPS question (RESOLVED)
« Reply #6 on: August 30, 2017, 10:42:47 AM »

Chrome is ok for some things, I tend to use Safari or FF for any router operations.

Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting