• December 15, 2017, 09:52:49 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: New home with 4802  (Read 1081 times)

Wpk2000

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
New home with 4802
« on: July 25, 2017, 09:17:04 AM »

Just moved into new home with two 4802e's.
How can I register/get the software?
I downloaded the Wizard and can access the camera, so that's good.
Anyway I can view the live feed from outside my home network?
Thanks
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43907
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: New home with 4802
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2017, 09:29:30 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your DCS? Look at the sticker behind or under the camera.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the DCSs web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

You can use D-View Cam and it's associated mobile app on iphone to view them locally and remotely. I don't know for sure about Android support.
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?board=156.0
These cameras don't support he mydlink.com cloud service or I would recommend that.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Wpk2000

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: New home with 4802
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2017, 10:08:22 AM »

Thanks for the quick reply.
I live in Massachusetts.
I looked at cameras last night, but don't see any ID on them.  I will have to remove from their housing as they are mounted outside.
I updated firmware to 1.01

Logged

Wpk2000

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: New home with 4802
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2017, 05:00:27 AM »

I did download the ViewCam software to my PC.  From some of the FAQ on DLink, it looks like I always need to have this software (the PC) running in order to access cameras remotely from the iOS app D-ViewCam app.  This would not work for my current setup, as a laptop is not always connected. 
Is this right? 
I guess the mentioned cloud service would alleviate the connected PC, but the 4802e does not support, does it?
Thanks
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43907
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: New home with 4802
« Reply #4 on: July 27, 2017, 09:46:28 AM »

Correct on both questions. Do you have home PC that you can leave On?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Wpk2000

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: New home with 4802
« Reply #5 on: July 28, 2017, 04:19:37 AM »

Unfortunately at this time I do not.  Short of getting a cheap PC to leave running l the time, any other alternatives?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43907
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: New home with 4802
« Reply #6 on: July 28, 2017, 08:28:40 AM »

It would take more investment, however DNS NAS units have a Surveillance plug in that can capture video from cameras. In not sure If D-Link home DNS versions support the DCS-4802E or the business class DNS versions. The camera is categorized as a business class camera so I presume maybe one of the business class DNS units might.
http://us.dlink.com/product-category/business-solutions/ip-surveillance/video-storage/
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 5 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 526
Re: New home with 4802
« Reply #7 on: July 28, 2017, 08:50:54 AM »

You can use the JustConnect+ mobile app (iOS and Android).

Are you looking to just view live video remotely? From phone/tablet or PC (or both)?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43907
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: New home with 4802
« Reply #8 on: July 28, 2017, 09:22:58 AM »

Thanks for the reminder, I forgot about that app.  :o

You can use the JustConnect+ mobile app (iOS and Android).

Are you looking to just view live video remotely? From phone/tablet or PC (or both)?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Wpk2000

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: New home with 4802
« Reply #9 on: July 28, 2017, 09:29:23 AM »

Looking to view live video remotely is a desire.  Ultimately have functionality of the motion detection, store events, etc.
I think the previous owner had a NAS setup, but not sure. 
At this moment I can get the live feed from a PC that is on the network, but I am hoping to get full functionality remotely.  They are nice cameras, I hope I can use them!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43907
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: New home with 4802
« Reply #10 on: July 28, 2017, 09:38:09 AM »

JustConnect+ should work for this. It has two modes, Local and remote, you have to set up the camera for remote using the WAN side IP address that your router gets from the ISP modem to view cameras from a remote location while your away from home. Local means that you input the LAN side IP address that the camera gets from the main host router while your at home.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Wpk2000

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: New home with 4802
« Reply #11 on: July 28, 2017, 09:59:29 AM »

Thanks.  I will try this app over the weekend. 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43907
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: New home with 4802
« Reply #12 on: July 28, 2017, 10:20:49 AM »

Let us know how it goes.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 5 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 526
Re: New home with 4802
« Reply #13 on: July 28, 2017, 10:29:35 AM »

If you don't already have it the manual is located here --> ftp://ftp2.dlink.com/PRODUCTS/DCS-4802E/REVA/DCS-4802E_REVA_MANUAL_1.20_EN_WW.PDF

You can set up DDNS and remote access. But that will involve opening ports on your router. You may want to call tech support. They can help you set these features up.
Logged

Wpk2000

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: New home with 4802
« Reply #14 on: July 31, 2017, 05:46:22 AM »

JustConnect+ app worked flawlessly finding cameras on the same network.
I see that my Fios router does have 'port forwarding' function for gaming, webcams, etc.
 I will have to play around with this to see best way to get the JustConnect+ working outside my home network.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2