• September 21, 2017, 11:18:38 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6

Author Topic: Setup as a Bridge  (Read 4136 times)

Tario70

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 47
Setup as a Bridge
« on: March 05, 2017, 12:15:05 PM »

Bought the DIR-880L to use a bridge for some stuff I connect to my DIR-895L

My network IP range is different than the default DLink range & it appears that once I connect to my network with the DIR-880L in bridge mode I lose all access to it on my network since the default IP in bridge mode is 192.168.0.50. We need a way to change this so I don't have to plug in to my bridge every time to be able to update/access it!

Or am I missing something?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43125
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2017, 12:21:24 PM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

You should be able to connect 1 PC to the 880L.
Set a static IP address on the PC to match 192.168.0.50 first, set .49 on the PC.
Change the routers IP address from 192.168.0.1 to what your network uses. Reboot.
Change the PCs IP address to match and use same for PC just something different.
Then change the mode of the 880L from Router to Bridge mode.
I believe the 880L should have same new IP address if PC can access it.

Doe 880L connect to the wireless and get your custom IP address after changing to Bridge mode while using 192.168.0.50?

Review this:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=65327.0
« Last Edit: March 05, 2017, 12:24:02 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Tario70

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 47
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2017, 12:52:57 PM »

Hardware Version: A
Firmware: 1.08B04
Region: NA (USA)

I attempted to try what you're suggesting but changing the IP while in Router mode just make the bridge side completely unreachable. I had to reset the DIR-880 just to be able to access it. It seems that there's no way to change the Bridge mode IP address at all.

The point is moot anyway. I'm going back to using my DAP-1522 because for some reason the moment I connect my DIR-880L I can no longer see my DLNA shares on any Device connected to it. If I unplug & reconnect via the DAP-1522, boom, the DLNA shares show back up.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43125
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2017, 12:56:54 PM »

Sounds like the configuration isn't right. Did you try accessing the 880L with this? http://dlinkrouter.loca/
What IP address string are you using on the main host router? Just curious.
What Mfr and Model is the main host router?

I've used the 880L in bridge mode several times. Works well for me however I keep with D-Link default IP address pool.
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Tario70

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 47
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #4 on: March 05, 2017, 12:59:31 PM »

Sounds like the configuration isn't right. Did you try accessing the 880L with this? http://dlinkrouter.loca/
What IP address string are you using on the main host router? Just curious.
What Mfr and Model is the main host router?

I've used the 880L in bridge mode several times. Works well for me however I keep with D-Link default IP address pool.

I tried that as well. I tried even changing it to dir880.local & while in router mode it works fine. But the minute I connect to my network I lose all ability to connect to it from a connected PC that is getting it's IP from my network.

You use it in bridge mode but do you have any DLNA devices attached to it? I would definitely like some assistance in troubleshooting the DLNA part. Really bugs me that this is an issue. I can deal with having to hardwire into it to access the login, but no DLNA = can't use it.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43125
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #5 on: March 05, 2017, 01:02:45 PM »

What Mfr and Model is the main host router?
What IP address pool are you using?

I have a DNS-345, Boxee Box, DISH Hopper system and 2 xbox game consoles here.

I wonder if a problem could be that your using a custom IP address instead of default IP address pool.
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Tario70

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 47
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #6 on: March 05, 2017, 01:05:44 PM »

What Mfr and Model is the main host router?
What IP address pool are you using?

I have a DNS-345, Boxee Box, DISH Hopper system and 2 xbox game consoles here.

I wonder if a problem could be that your using a custom IP address instead of default IP address pool.

Host Router is: D-Link DIR-895L
IP address pool: 192.168.1.1

Weird that with the DAP-1522 I have no issues & can see my Serviio share on my Xbox & my LG blu-ray player. However if I use the DIR-880L, it shows the SMB share but not the DLNA.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43125
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #7 on: March 05, 2017, 01:09:03 PM »

Well should be just a pass thru with the 880L. I'll ask and see if there maybe any known issues while in bridge mode.
I believe 192.168.1.### should be supported. Any IP address.

Any chance you can switch back to .0.1 and test? I won't have my 880L available for another day or two as im running a test with mine in router mode.
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Tario70

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 47
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #8 on: March 05, 2017, 01:12:05 PM »

Well should be just a pass thru with the 880L. I'll ask and see if there maybe any known issues while in bridge mode.
I believe 192.168.1.### should be supported. Any IP address.

Any chance you can switch back to .0.1 and test? I won't have my 880L available for another day or two as im running a test with mine in router mode.

I could try later on but it would be a huge pain as my network does have several Reserved IP addresses. So switching everything over on the DIR-895L wouldn't be a quick switch.

Let me know what you hear first & then I'll give it a shot. For now I've just switched back to the DAP-1522.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43125
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #9 on: March 05, 2017, 01:16:20 PM »

Ok, I'll talk to D-Link tomorrow and ask for a review on this and get some info.

I found that with my 880L, the UI was slowing down while as the main router so wasn't sure if it's a HW issue or FW issue or something bogging it down so it's been running behind my 890L for the weekend after a complete factory reset and re-load of FW. Soon as I get this test over, I'll check this out in bridge mode.

Hope the 895L is doing good.
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Tario70

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 47
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #10 on: March 05, 2017, 01:19:26 PM »

Ok, I'll talk to D-Link tomorrow and ask for a review on this and get some info.

I found that with my 880L, the UI was slowing down while as the main router so wasn't sure if it's a HW issue or FW issue or something bogging it down so it's been running behind my 890L for the weekend after a complete factory reset and re-load of FW. Soon as I get this test over, I'll check this out in bridge mode.

Hope the 895L is doing good.

The DIR-895L is great. I picked it up from Costco for $215 over black friday last year. Too good of a deal to pass up. It's been great. Wanted to go full "AC" & picked up the DIR-880L when I saw it could be used as a bridge. Did not expect that my DLNA shares wouldn't show up.

Thanks for your help & I'll keep a look out here for your follow ups.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43125
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #11 on: March 05, 2017, 01:20:49 PM »

Will definitely look in to this with you.
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43125
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #12 on: March 06, 2017, 06:22:10 PM »

FYI, I set my 880L up as bridge with my 890L. I connected my boxee box to the 880L and I was able to stream from my DNS-345 a movie i have on one of the drives.

Just an initial test as I didn't get enough time to fiddle with it more.  ;)
« Last Edit: March 06, 2017, 06:29:59 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Tario70

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 47
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #13 on: March 06, 2017, 07:54:16 PM »

FYI, I set my 880L up as bridge with my 890L. I connected my boxee box to the 880L and I was able to stream from my DNS-345 a movie i have on one of the drives.

Just an initial test as I didn't get enough time to fiddle with it more.  ;)

Very interesting. Is the Boxee Box streaming via DLNA?

I just don't know how the DAP-1522 can see the DLNA share on my PC via Serviio & yet the moment I switch to the 880 I can't see it. I can see the smb share but not the DLNA one.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43125
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Setup as a Bridge
« Reply #14 on: March 07, 2017, 06:59:55 AM »

Not sure yet. I know I have the boxee set up to look at my DNS as a resource for files. I didn't get much time to play with it as someone wanted to watch TV so I couldn't go much farther.
Give me details on how you have your DLNA set up? Any specific apps your using? How do you have this configured besides the bridges.
I presume the DNLA PC in the same network as main router? or is the hard-drive connected to 890 via USB?

I know that I can set up my xbox and stream DLNA that way which I'll try for sure.
« Last Edit: March 07, 2017, 07:46:07 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 6