• February 21, 2018, 05:20:39 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: rename devices help  (Read 1391 times)

dr_pepper

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
rename devices help
« on: November 15, 2016, 08:21:39 AM »

So I have several cameras and somewhere in the last 6 months I can't figure out how to rename devices in the mydlink home app.  I set up a new camera and rename it through mydlink lite and I've also logged into the web server of the device and renamed there, but no matter what I do the device keeps its default name in the mydlink home app. 
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 44564
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: rename devices help
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2016, 10:49:26 AM »

I don't think you can rename the device names.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

gkjeung

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: rename devices help
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2018, 05:28:46 PM »

I have the same problem. It used to work.   I have several cameras which I previously named based on location (Front, Garage, Yard, etc).  Now that I moved the cameras around I want to rename it, it keeps defaulting back to the old names after i change it.  Any recommendations?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 44564
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: rename devices help
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2018, 05:49:56 PM »

Might try removing the app then re-installing. Or try removing the device from the mydlink.com service. Then re-add it using the app then see if you can give it a new name.

I have the same problem. It used to work.   I have several cameras which I previously named based on location (Front, Garage, Yard, etc).  Now that I moved the cameras around I want to rename it, it keeps defaulting back to the old names after i change it.  Any recommendations?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

Mr.Navy

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: rename devices help
« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2018, 12:05:04 PM »

Renaming is simple:
Open the mydlinkHome app
Open the settings page
In the Green rectangle is the name - Tap into it and Renate.
Done
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 44564
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: rename devices help
« Reply #5 on: February 18, 2018, 01:55:20 PM »

Thanks for posting this. Hope it helps.

Thank you.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting