• December 13, 2017, 03:18:02 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Does the router support WLAN-Bridge mode?  (Read 1424 times)

light645

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Does the router support WLAN-Bridge mode?
« on: October 31, 2016, 06:29:06 AM »

Hello everyone,

I am currently looking for a WLAN router that establishes a wireless bridge to the primary router so that I can connect my Synology NAS via Cable to the router.
I came across D-Link AC1200 DIR-842 and would like to use it as a WLAN bridge for my primary Fritzbox router.
Is it possible to use DIR-842 as WLAN-bridge with the described topology?

Thanks in advance,
Martin
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43860
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Does the router support WLAN-Bridge mode?
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2016, 07:56:15 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

If you have the router, log in to the routers web page and look under the Internet section of the menu. There should be a drop down menu for router mode. Select this drop down and if you see Bridge Mode, then yes, it supports wireless bridge mode. If you only see router or AP mode, then this model router does not support wireless bridge mode.
A short list of models that do:
 Bridge Mode vs Relay vs Access Point (AP) / Routers vs Dedicated Access Points (AP)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

light645

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Does the router support WLAN-Bridge mode?
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2016, 10:05:03 AM »

Hi FurryNutz,

I don't have the router yet. The question was actually if someone knows if DIR-842 supports bridge-mode.
If it does not, it is not what I am looking for and I won't buy it therefore.
The problem is that I cannot find anywhere a statement that bridge mode can be used with that router. So it would be awesome if someone could confirm whether the router support wireless bridge mode.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43860
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Does the router support WLAN-Bridge mode?
« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2016, 10:33:45 AM »

From what I see on the model page and from the user manual I found, I don't see any Bridging features listed. This usually means that 1, it does not support it, or 2, does not supporting initially upon it's release however may come in as a feature add on later in the FW upgrade if D-link chooses to do this.

We don't get a lot of postings in the forums for this model, so if you are interested in this model router, I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and ask for help and information regarding this. We find that phone contact has better immediate results over using email.

If the 842 does not meet your bridge more needs, I would recommend this model as the alternative as it DOES support wireless bridge mode:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=59563.0

Let us know how it goes please.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting