• June 25, 2018, 06:58:11 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2] 3

Author Topic: DIR-842  (Read 4678 times)

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45179
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DIR-842
« Reply #15 on: October 06, 2016, 12:00:10 PM »

There ya go.  ;)
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

VMatas

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: DIR-842
« Reply #16 on: March 22, 2018, 11:38:25 AM »

Hello,

DIR-842 router, h/w B1, f/w 2.02.
Router configured with static IP adress, home page can be accessed via LAN and WiFi. Home page shows that router is connected to Internet - unfortunately no Internet access.
Which things can be wrong? Please help!
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 6 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 994
Re: DIR-842
« Reply #17 on: March 22, 2018, 01:01:50 PM »

What model is the modem? Is it a router?

Did you replace an old router with this one? If you did, unplug the power to your modem for about 30 seconds and plug it back on. Reboot the router.

Is the globe icon LED light green on the router (2nd light from the left) or is it orange?

Are you getting a public IP address from the home page (click Internet and the IP address listed should be something other than 10.x.x.x or 192.168.x.x).

What are the DNS servers?

From a device connected, try to ping 4.2.2.2. If you can, you are connected to the Internet. Make sure your clients are getting a DNS server IP address(es).

Logged

VMatas

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: DIR-842
« Reply #18 on: March 22, 2018, 01:42:16 PM »

Hi, thank you for answer.

Modem Earthlink series - we use fiber service.
Unplugging and rebooting doesn't change situation.
Globe LED is green.
Clicking Internet icon, router has IP adress, mask, gateway, DNS addrs from ISP. IP is static and private - exactly 192.168.70.30. GW 192.168.70.1 . Old TPLink does its job with that.
DNS servers are: main from ISP, second from Google 8.8.8.8
No ping. If modem is switched off - destination unreachable. My laptop configured with static IP (192.168.0.50), GW on LAN side 192.168.0.1

What i can do more?
Logged

GreenBay42

  • Administrator
  • Level 6 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 994
Re: DIR-842
« Reply #19 on: March 22, 2018, 02:08:45 PM »

Just to verify, the Internet/WAN IP is 192.168.70.30?

Can you ping 192.168.70.1?

Was the LAN IP address of the TP-Link router 192.168.x.x?

I wonder if the d-link router is not liking the WAN and LAN at those addresses together but they are different subnets and normally work on our other routers.

Maybe try changing the LAN ip of the dlink router to 10.10.10.1 (255.255.255.0), then change your computer to 10.10.10.2 and gateway to 10.10.10.1 and see if that works.
Logged

VMatas

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: DIR-842
« Reply #20 on: March 22, 2018, 10:17:37 PM »

Yes.
No....
Yes, 192.168.0.1
For me strange too...
I will try 10.10.10.1 a bit later today.
Logged

VMatas

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: DIR-842
« Reply #21 on: March 22, 2018, 11:11:45 PM »

I had tyime and tried now.
No changes. No Internet access(shows internet connected), no ping to 192.168.70.1. And router responds very slowly after restart, sometimes i need retry few times for connection to configuration page. Wtf?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45179
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DIR-842
« Reply #22 on: March 23, 2018, 10:28:04 AM »

What model is the modem/ONT?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

VMatas

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: DIR-842
« Reply #23 on: March 23, 2018, 11:04:51 AM »

Modem is ExtraLink - EXTRALINK JOWISZ ONU EPON 1GE CORTINA CHIPSET http://extralink24.eu/epon-ethernet-passive-optical-network/

TP-Link WRT-1043ND working great (but there are slow Wifi problems over time), laptop connected directly - no problem. What can be wrong with D-Link??
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45179
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DIR-842
« Reply #24 on: March 23, 2018, 11:16:58 AM »

What IP address does the TP Link get from the ISP ONT when it's connected and working?
Is the TP-Link set up for automatic DHCP with the ONT? Or using a Static IP address?

Any Mac Cloning on the TPLink or just standard DHCP or Static?
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

VMatas

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: DIR-842
« Reply #25 on: March 23, 2018, 11:33:56 AM »

No MAC address cloning, etc...  Only static IP address 192.168.70.30, mask 255.255.255.0, GW 192.168.70.1. I can replace TPLink with loaptop even without modem restart.
D-Link on configuration page shows that it is Internet connected, but on LAN side and Wifi no Internet service - something wrong is with router itself i think..
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45179
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DIR-842
« Reply #26 on: March 23, 2018, 11:42:31 AM »

Do you get Internet with a Ethernet connected PC/laptop thru the DIR router?

What happens if you set DHCP on the DIR router and let it handle IP addressing from the ONT...
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

VMatas

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: DIR-842
« Reply #27 on: March 23, 2018, 11:58:31 AM »

No Internet on LAN (ethernet)and Wifi side.

Have tried DHCP. Globus LED is flashing, no IP adress, mask, GW, DNS info when clicking Internet info on Home page. After reconfiguring as Static IP all info is present again, router is "Internet connected". But not me.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 45179
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DIR-842
« Reply #28 on: March 23, 2018, 12:03:42 PM »

Last item, change the WAN port speed on the DIR router from Auto to 100Mb and see if anything changes.

I presume if not, then this router needs to be RMAd and replace.
Logged
Cable:200mb/10Mb>Motorola MB7420>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

VMatas

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: DIR-842
« Reply #29 on: March 23, 2018, 12:28:31 PM »

 Tried 100Mbps - nothing happened.
So you assume that router should be changed. No extra firmware upgrade, etc., nothing??
Now I'm not sure that i want again go with  D-Link router - 842 or any other... sorry, but on this deal i missed some amount of money - as minimum shipping costs for two sides.
Anyway, thank for your help.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3