• November 20, 2017, 11:54:21 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: set date time  (Read 2552 times)

wblhxwala

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
set date time
« on: September 27, 2016, 07:17:44 AM »

DIR-820L HW B1   FW 2.01.  I recently purchased the router in hopes of web site logging and wifi access scheduling.  No luck with the logging.   I thought I had the access scheduling working, but now I see the system time is incorrect, and I can't seem to fix it.  It's not 1969 any longer, but the router is.  I see there is a firmware upgrade, but the release notes make no mention of a datetime fix.   I've tried "copy from my pc", but nothing happens.   I've enabled NTP server and selected each, and a tried a few IP addresses from CO, but no luck.

I'm bridged from/to a UVerse 3800-HGVb.  any help is appreciated.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43656
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: set date time
« Reply #1 on: September 27, 2016, 07:37:42 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?


Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • If the ISP modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. Call the ISP and ask to see if the ISP modem can be bridged. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ. Also check the routers DHCP IP address maybe conflicting with the ISP modems IP address of 192.168.0.1. Check to see if this is the same on the ISP modem, and if modem can't be bridged, change the DIR router to 192.168.1.1 or .0.254.
    Example of a D-Link router configured for PPPoE with ISP Modem bridged: PPPoE Configuration on a Router

PC Web Browser Configurations
What browser are you using?
Try Opera or FF? If IE 8, 9, 10 or 11, set compatibility mode and test again.

Please post a screen capture of the TIME menu on the routers web page:
Adding Screenshots In A Post
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

wblhxwala

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: set date time
« Reply #2 on: September 27, 2016, 08:10:25 AM »

Hi Furry -

Eastern US timezone
Daylight savings is selected, March through November.
Enable NTP is checked, ntp1.dlink.com is the server elected.
Set manually is grayed out as NTP is selected above.

I *think* the bridging is fine - the router has internet access, so I would hope NTP would work.
Logged

wblhxwala

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: set date time
« Reply #3 on: September 27, 2016, 08:13:47 AM »

oops...    FF 43.0.1 on Linux MX-15 or IE 11 on Win7, tried enterprise mode and added address to compatibility.   Screen looks fine and saves my settings, but it never changes the system time.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43656
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: set date time
« Reply #4 on: September 27, 2016, 08:16:13 AM »

What is the IP address of the WAN side on the 820L ##.##.###.### or a 192.168.#.# maybe?

I would try a FW upgrade as well using IE11 on 7. Do a factory reset, manually load the FW file, factory reset again, clear all browser caches then set up from scratch. And try FF or IE to see if it will configure. Setting NTP should gain correct time, if it can get services thru the ISP modem...

Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

wblhxwala

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: set date time
« Reply #5 on: September 27, 2016, 08:25:42 AM »

fwiw...  my local time is 11:18 AM, the device time is Wed Dec 31, 1969 21:47:44.   

The Device Info page shows the WAN IP address as 0.0.0.0.  I've allocated 192.168.1.88 as the fixed lan IP on the UVerse box, this is the address for the dlink admin web pages.   Even if I deselect NTP and use "use my computer datetime" the system date does not change or update.   But, I guess I'll try the upgrade and resets...   thank you -
Logged

wblhxwala

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: set date time
« Reply #6 on: September 27, 2016, 10:55:03 AM »

I've updated to version 2.02.  (pain)  At least I remembered the backwards instructions this time - specify the network address & subnet before you click save after disabling dhcp.

I guess I've found that the "use from my computer" requires I adjust the values even though they are correct, select Copy, select Save.  The screen will flash and the device time will update.  But, according to the documentation, this is not a desired configuration as a power outage will lose the config, and the datetime will revert to 1969 again.   I am plugged into a UPS, and the power rarely goes out here long enough to lose the juice, but I would still prefer to use the NTP server config, but I don't have any luck with those changes affecting the device datetime.   I think I read that ATT blocks  port 123, and NTP is UDP not TCIP.  blah blah blah - so maybe my Uverse box is blocking NTP to dlink?

I'll note that according to the internet  DST starts in March and ends in November, but those are the opposite values needed for dlink.  I guess I'll see if the logging picks up the web sites now...  I like to dream.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43656
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: set date time
« Reply #7 on: September 27, 2016, 11:15:00 AM »

FW update process is easy. Just follow this: Link> >FW Update Process


How is the 820 connected to the ISP modem? If the modem is bridged it should be connected to the WAN port on the 820L.
  • If the ISP modem has a built in router, it's best to bridge the modem. Having 2 routers on the same line can cause connection problems: Link>Double NAT and How NAT Works. Call the ISP and ask to see if the ISP modem can be bridged. To tell if the modem is bridged or not, look at the routers web page, Status/Device Info/Wan Section, if there is a 192.168.0.# address in the WAN IP address field, then the modem is not bridged. If the modem can't be bridged then see if the modem has a DMZ option and input the IP address the router gets from the modem and put that into the modems DMZ. Also check the routers DHCP IP address maybe conflicting with the ISP modems IP address of 192.168.0.1. Check to see if this is the same on the ISP modem, and if modem can't be bridged, change the DIR router to 192.168.1.1 or .0.254.
    Example of a D-Link router configured for PPPoE with ISP Modem bridged: PPPoE Configuration on a Router

IF your connecting the 820L to the ISP modem via it's LAN port only, then NTP will not work on the 820L in this configuration as it needs use of the WAN port.

You might use the DMZ on the ISP modem and put the IP address the 820L (WAN port) gets from the ISP modem and see if the 820L can get time services. I have the 826L and 836L routers and the time and NTP are all the same. They work unless something is blocking or the WAN port is not being used.
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

wblhxwala

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: set date time
« Reply #8 on: September 27, 2016, 11:59:35 AM »

You are correct, I am not using the WAN port on the 820L - this is per the instructions pages 11-12.  I guess I will have to try the DMZ.   The "use computer time" is not persistent between device reboots, even through the admin page, the datetime reverts to 1969.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43656
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: set date time
« Reply #9 on: September 27, 2016, 12:12:46 PM »

Ya if your not using the WAN then your running the AP mode with the 820L. That's ok too, just know that NTP and other features the depend on the WAN port being connected won't work in AP mode (LAN to LAN) configuration:
Turning a router into an AP.

Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

wblhxwala

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: set date time
« Reply #10 on: September 28, 2016, 07:38:11 AM »

I think I lived. 2 Questions though: 

1) by default the Firewall Enable SPI and anti-spoof are disabled.  I presume I should enable these or there is no firewall at all?
2) bridged mode - the intent is to avoid the double NAT, but the UVerse modem/router still provides dhcp services to anything else connected to it.. providing I avoid the IP conflicts..?
Note - I think the Daylight Savings time works properly with the NTP  server, but backwards with "copy from my computer"

Thank you for the assist!
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43656
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: set date time
« Reply #11 on: September 28, 2016, 07:42:27 AM »


I think I lived. 2 Questions though: 

1) by default the Firewall Enable SPI and anti-spoof are disabled.  I presume I should enable these or there is no firewall at all? If you using the 820L as a wired LAN to LAN AP then keep firewall enabled on the ISP modem.
2) bridged mode - the intent is to avoid the double NAT, but the UVerse modem/router still provides dhcp services to anything else connected to it.. providing I avoid the IP conflicts..? The use of the 820L as a wired LAN to LAN AP would avoid the double NAT condition while leave the ISP modem as the main host router and DHCP service handler.
Note - I think the Daylight Savings time works properly with the NTP  server, but backwards with "copy from my computer" YES, that will work while using the 820L in LAN to LAN AP mode.

Thank you for the assist!
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

wblhxwala

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: set date time
« Reply #12 on: September 28, 2016, 08:08:08 AM »

I guess I blew those questions... a failure to communicate on my part.

I've reconfigured (I need the device time to work) as a bridged router under my UVerse box.  The dlink is now connected via it's WAN port, and the dlink dhcp service is re-enabled.  The uverse is 192.168.1.254, dlink is enabling 192.168.0.100 - 200

So anyways, the dlink is in the DMZ, and I've told the UVerse to expect "router behind router", and I gave dlink a public IP Address....  so, I believe I depend on the dlink to provide firewall for anything connected to it - is there a firewall or is it just those two settings - SPI and anti-spoof?

obviously, I don't quite understand it all, and opinions vary on the bridge mode of the router under Uverse.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43656
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: set date time
« Reply #13 on: September 28, 2016, 08:10:26 AM »


I guess I blew those questions... a failure to communicate on my part.

I've reconfigured (I need the device time to work) as a bridged router under my UVerse box.  The dlink is now connected via it's WAN port, and the dlink dhcp service is re-enabled.  The uverse is 192.168.1.254, dlink is enabling 192.168.0.100 - 200 This will work fine.

So anyways, the dlink is in the DMZ, and I've told the UVerse to expect "router behind router", and I gave dlink a public IP Address....  so, I believe I depend on the dlink to provide firewall for anything connected to it - is there a firewall or is it just those two settings - SPI and anti-spoof? SPI is the fireall on the 820L so yes you can enable this here.

obviously, I don't quite understand it all, and opinions vary on the bridge mode of the router under Uverse.
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting