• November 20, 2017, 11:58:45 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7]

Author Topic: Blocking Tivo Ports  (Read 21668 times)

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43656
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Blocking Tivo Ports
« Reply #90 on: May 14, 2016, 11:16:37 AM »

Enjoy.  ;)
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43656
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Blocking Tivo Ports
« Reply #91 on: May 18, 2016, 08:55:16 AM »

What ISP Speed UP and Down do you pay for?  ???
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ukwildcat4life

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: Blocking Tivo Ports
« Reply #92 on: May 19, 2016, 11:16:45 PM »

Sorry for the late reply....I've been extremely busy this week.... my current internet speeds that I pay for are 50 Mbps down and 2 Mbps up.....sadly I end up retiring the 885L back to Amazon for a refund before my window to return closed....I was just having too many problems with the router not retaining its settings, etc......other than the Tivo problems and it not retaining its settings I really liked it and I will keep my eyes out for some upcoming firmware updates that hopefully address some of the issues that I encountered.  For now I have put the 880L back in use.
Logged
Cable 50Mbps down/2Mbps up,Arris TG-862G Modem, Roku 3, Roku Streaming Stick, Apple TV, Tivo Bolt, Tivo Mini, Xbox 360,WD My Cloud, DIR-880L

ukwildcat4life

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: Blocking Tivo Ports
« Reply #93 on: May 19, 2016, 11:22:02 PM »

I see you started a thread to report bugs in the current firmware.....I noticed that you have already added the blocking Tivo ports issue; wanted to thank you for that and lets just hope they address this issue soon.....if they do I will definitely re purchase the 885L.......
Logged
Cable 50Mbps down/2Mbps up,Arris TG-862G Modem, Roku 3, Roku Streaming Stick, Apple TV, Tivo Bolt, Tivo Mini, Xbox 360,WD My Cloud, DIR-880L

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43656
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Blocking Tivo Ports
« Reply #94 on: May 20, 2016, 07:08:36 AM »

Ya, found another issue as well, why I asked about your ISP service speeds. Doesn't affect you.

I'm sure they will be all fixed.

Come back and visit.  ;)
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ukwildcat4life

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: Blocking Tivo Ports
« Reply #95 on: May 20, 2016, 09:24:23 PM »

I sure will bud.....I still have and use the 880L ......but will be hoping for a firmware that will fix some of these issues with the 885L so I can buy another one....
Logged
Cable 50Mbps down/2Mbps up,Arris TG-862G Modem, Roku 3, Roku Streaming Stick, Apple TV, Tivo Bolt, Tivo Mini, Xbox 360,WD My Cloud, DIR-880L

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43656
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Blocking Tivo Ports
« Reply #96 on: May 23, 2016, 07:12:18 AM »

 ;)
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ukwildcat4life

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: Blocking Tivo Ports
« Reply #97 on: June 02, 2016, 01:12:14 AM »

Just letting you know I missed having the 885L so bad I went ahead and bought it again and will keep it this time despite the problem with the tivo apps..........I have also purchased the 890L and it works flawless but like I said its tri band and a little overkill for my networking needs so I will have to decide whether to keep it or return it........I just like the size of the 885L plus it will support MU-MIMO.............I still have to enable DMZ and point that toward my Tivo Bolt in order for the apps to work but it does work until a change is made in the router's settings then the apps quit working until I disable DMZ and then re enable.............I really hope there is a firmware fix coming for this soon as this is the perfect router for me and my needs.

Also on an unrelated issue...........for about a month or so I was having a very difficult time whenever I would install a new router; I could always get it to set up , grab an IP address from my cable modem and connect but whenever the routers had to be reboot for any reason the routers would go offline and it would take me an hour to get them to connect back..........I troubleshoot with Dlink's tech support as well as my cable company and I end up exchanging my cable mode thinking it just wouldn't hold bride mode anymore because what would happen is if I completely reset the cable modem to where its router was re enabled my dlink router would immediately go back online but as soon as the modem was put back in bridge mode it went offline..............as embarrassing as this sounds it turned out to be the ethernet cable that came with a netgear nighthawk that was the problem.....it was  a fairly new cable too.............as soon as I exchanged it out with another Ethernet cable I had my routers now connect just fine............so you have any idea as to why that same cable that I had been using for the last year all the sudden started causing my routers to not connect and go online with the modem in bridge mode? that is mind boggling!  After I figured that out I thought maybe that may have been the whole problem with the Tivo's apps not working but turns out that wasn't the case........the ethernet cable that came with the 885L is way too short for my setup and I am using my own Cat 5E cable..............is there any advantage to using the supplied one that came with the 885L?

Thanks, James
Logged
Cable 50Mbps down/2Mbps up,Arris TG-862G Modem, Roku 3, Roku Streaming Stick, Apple TV, Tivo Bolt, Tivo Mini, Xbox 360,WD My Cloud, DIR-880L

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43656
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Blocking Tivo Ports
« Reply #98 on: June 03, 2016, 07:03:38 AM »

Wow so you have both now, kewl...

Come post over on the 890L forum.

I tend to avoid any in box cables as there has been instances of where they don't work well.

I prefer CAT6 cables from deepsurplus.com  ;D

Keep us up to date on the 885L. I have notified D-Link about the TiVo issues. I hope next FW will see a fix. Also keep the 880L going when you can...works good as a wireless bridge too. Would work great with the 890L or 885L.
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ukwildcat4life

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: Blocking Tivo Ports
« Reply #99 on: June 03, 2016, 02:08:58 PM »

Yeah I have went a little overboard owning the 885, 890, and 880......I only need one router  going in my home though...if I lived in a larger home where I had dead spots I would definitely put one of them in bridge mode........I actually like the 885 the best for my needs despite the tivo issue.......I may just rotate them and use them for six months at a time to try and extend the life of them :)......I'm just really glad that the problem I was having with my routers not connecting while in bridge mode has been fixed.....I would have never thought that a type of cable that I had been using the last couple of years all the sudden became incompatible with my cable modem....I'm gonna hang that one on my cable company for now as the only explanation  would be that they have pushed some sort of firmware update to the modems that caused that particular type of cable to not work right .............thank you for passing along the tivo issues to Dlink and I will certainly be on the lookout and hope for a fix in their next firmware release which I hope is soon  ;D  I can tell you that I have test and tried about every brand of router over the last year and Dlink is my very favorite and despite the little issues I'm having Dlink is what I will continue to use.  I absolutely love their cloud features and ease of setup and another useful feature in their interface is where it shows how long the router has actually been up and running....that really helps out when things are not going good and you need to determine if its your router, cable modem, etc......very helpful feature to have......
« Last Edit: June 03, 2016, 09:39:07 PM by ukwildcat4life »
Logged
Cable 50Mbps down/2Mbps up,Arris TG-862G Modem, Roku 3, Roku Streaming Stick, Apple TV, Tivo Bolt, Tivo Mini, Xbox 360,WD My Cloud, DIR-880L

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43656
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Blocking Tivo Ports
« Reply #100 on: June 06, 2016, 07:41:04 AM »

Ya I have tried a couple others and D-Link seems to have the best quality and maturity in there development and support. I've seen some major issues with other MFr routers however when it comes to D-Link, they may not be perfect and we do seem some minor issues here and there, however they work hard on the issues at hand and in the end have great products that work well. I've enjoying using D-Link products over the years and are the main stay for me.

Well, we might call on you if that's ok to help out on testing issues seen since you have 3 routers now.  ;D If that's ok. Always need any extra help to weed out issues we see.
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ukwildcat4life

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: Blocking Tivo Ports
« Reply #101 on: June 06, 2016, 09:17:44 PM »

I definitely would have been using and buying Dlink products years ago if my local stores carried them but over the last year or so I have been seeing more and more Dlink products on the shelves plus with Amazon its easy now to get them!  I just find Dlink's approach to their cloud services so much better, simplistic and better than any other I have tried (Asus and Netgear)........but the tech support I have received from Dlink on here and on the phone is by far the best I have experienced from any router manufacturer period!

I am more than willing to help you guys out for beta testing and for sorting out the issues and bugs......just let me know when you need any help.....I have the 880, 885, and 890 and plan on keeping all 3 and will rotate them in my networks about every six months so I am hoping I won't need to purchase another router for a while.......
Logged
Cable 50Mbps down/2Mbps up,Arris TG-862G Modem, Roku 3, Roku Streaming Stick, Apple TV, Tivo Bolt, Tivo Mini, Xbox 360,WD My Cloud, DIR-880L

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43656
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Blocking Tivo Ports
« Reply #102 on: June 07, 2016, 06:32:59 AM »

 ;)
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43656
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Blocking Tivo Ports
« Reply #103 on: July 25, 2016, 07:11:00 AM »

Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43656
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Blocking Tivo Ports
« Reply #104 on: December 12, 2016, 02:33:04 PM »

Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7]