• November 18, 2017, 05:38:26 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 7

Author Topic: Blocking Tivo Ports  (Read 20357 times)

ukwildcat4life

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: Blocking Tivo Ports
« Reply #30 on: May 01, 2016, 12:13:38 AM »

Just wanted to give you another update..... I upgraded my coax splitter per Tivo's suggestion and it still does not work :(......although the Tivo representative told me that she didn't think it was a ports being blocked problem I think it is.....because once DMZ is enabled it will work fine until the router reboots then it goes back to not working..........whenever Dlink had me try and do port forwarding he didn't have me do it via virtual server....he just had me go to the port forwarding tab and input multiple ports separated by a comma, etc.........I really would like to figure this out and keep this router; I still have a few weeks before I have to return it ......Its hard for me to grasp why the 880L works flawless and the 885L doesn't......so I wonder what they did different with the firmware?  I can tell you people that have Tivo whole home DVR systems that use a MoCA network are going to encounter this same problem I have no doubt........I am open ears if you have any other troubleshooting tips .....thanks, James
Logged
Cable 50Mbps down/2Mbps up,Arris TG-862G Modem, Roku 3, Roku Streaming Stick, Apple TV, Tivo Bolt, Tivo Mini, Xbox 360,WD My Cloud, DIR-880L

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43623
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Blocking Tivo Ports
« Reply #31 on: May 01, 2016, 06:33:17 AM »

Did you remember to disable uPnP when you configured Port Forwarding while you didn't use DMZ??
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ukwildcat4life

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: Blocking Tivo Ports
« Reply #32 on: May 01, 2016, 11:41:05 AM »

Hi there...thanks for the continued help.....no I definitely didn't disable UPnP when I was port forwarding.....should I try port forwarding all of those ports with that disabled? thanks, James
Logged
Cable 50Mbps down/2Mbps up,Arris TG-862G Modem, Roku 3, Roku Streaming Stick, Apple TV, Tivo Bolt, Tivo Mini, Xbox 360,WD My Cloud, DIR-880L

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43623
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Blocking Tivo Ports
« Reply #33 on: May 01, 2016, 11:43:17 AM »

Yes. Usually upbp needs to be disabled if using PF...
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ukwildcat4life

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: Blocking Tivo Ports
« Reply #34 on: May 01, 2016, 11:51:50 AM »

Thanks.... I will plug the 885L back up in a little while and start from scratch again....I will try port forwarding with UPnP disabled while port forwarding and go from there......do you recommend that I forward all of those ports that was listed in the Tivo email sent to me that I pasted on here yesterday? thanks, James
Logged
Cable 50Mbps down/2Mbps up,Arris TG-862G Modem, Roku 3, Roku Streaming Stick, Apple TV, Tivo Bolt, Tivo Mini, Xbox 360,WD My Cloud, DIR-880L

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43623
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Blocking Tivo Ports
« Reply #35 on: May 01, 2016, 12:31:12 PM »

Yes
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ukwildcat4life

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: Blocking Tivo Ports
« Reply #36 on: May 01, 2016, 01:22:10 PM »

ok will do and report back later this evening/tonight....thanks bud!
Logged
Cable 50Mbps down/2Mbps up,Arris TG-862G Modem, Roku 3, Roku Streaming Stick, Apple TV, Tivo Bolt, Tivo Mini, Xbox 360,WD My Cloud, DIR-880L

ukwildcat4life

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: Blocking Tivo Ports
« Reply #37 on: May 01, 2016, 04:03:07 PM »

Ok....I think we have made some progress......here is what I did.............I disabled UPnP per your suggestion and I set up a port forwarding rule for the main DVR and port forward all of those ports and I also reserved an IP for that DVR........then I reboot the router and reboot the DVR and it would not work.......so I came back and logged back into the router and enabled DMZ and went to my DVR and it worked...........then I reboot both the router and DVR and it quit working............I then disabled DMZ and re enabled DMZ and its working again.........at the moment DMZ is enabled, UPnP is disabled, and I still have the port forwarding rule for the main DVR in tact..............and my Tivo minis are working as well.................from this experiement I have gathered that enabling DMZ fixes the problem until there is a reboot of the router then it somehow closes those ports back up but if I re enable DMZ everything works.............so what do you think? should I leave things as is and keep UPnP disabled and keep the port forwarding rule? it appears that keeping DMZ enabled is the only fix for this problem.......thanks for your help............James
Logged
Cable 50Mbps down/2Mbps up,Arris TG-862G Modem, Roku 3, Roku Streaming Stick, Apple TV, Tivo Bolt, Tivo Mini, Xbox 360,WD My Cloud, DIR-880L

ukwildcat4life

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: Blocking Tivo Ports
« Reply #38 on: May 01, 2016, 05:36:44 PM »

Ok one last message for the night..........I set up my DDNS, re enabled UpnP, delete the port forwarding rule, and set up share port, and enabled DLNA.........everything works as long as re enable DMZ..........once a setting changes in the router and the router has to save changes or reboot then it closes Tivo back off until disable DMZ then re enable it again then everything works............so I hope this gives some insight of the problem...not sure if you're a Dlink engineer or what but they really need to know this so they can fix this in an upcoming firmware or other folks that use Tivo systems are going to have this same problem............James
Logged
Cable 50Mbps down/2Mbps up,Arris TG-862G Modem, Roku 3, Roku Streaming Stick, Apple TV, Tivo Bolt, Tivo Mini, Xbox 360,WD My Cloud, DIR-880L

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43623
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Blocking Tivo Ports
« Reply #39 on: May 02, 2016, 06:43:26 AM »

Thanks for your time and patience and working with us. Seems like there is a problem in FW and something is not being saved or loosing the configuration every time the router is rebooted. I'll pass this along to D-Link for review. I'll see if anything else is needed. Might be helpful if wireshark captures could be done maybe however not sure if they need them. I think the 885L has a problem though with Tivo.

Got info on support contacting you. I'm sure it will be fixed.

No other problems aside from Tivo right?
« Last Edit: May 02, 2016, 07:59:03 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ukwildcat4life

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: Blocking Tivo Ports
« Reply #40 on: May 02, 2016, 11:35:52 AM »

You're welcome.....The Tivo has now been working just fine since I configured all of my settings yesterday and have not made any more changes to the router.  To answer your question, I have seen no other problems with the router and my Tivo units other than what we have troubleshoot....thanks for passing the info to Dlink .........do you recommend I keep the router or return it? I have a month before it has to be returned back to Amazon so I have plenty of time to test any fixes that Dlink may come up with and I really do love this router other than that one problem which isn't a problem as long as I keep DMZ enabled for my main tivo DVR....thanks for the help......James
Logged
Cable 50Mbps down/2Mbps up,Arris TG-862G Modem, Roku 3, Roku Streaming Stick, Apple TV, Tivo Bolt, Tivo Mini, Xbox 360,WD My Cloud, DIR-880L

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43623
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Blocking Tivo Ports
« Reply #41 on: May 02, 2016, 12:33:38 PM »

So using DMZ with the DVR only and PF rules are not being used and uPnP is enabled right?

Well if DMZ is working for the DVR and nothing else seems to be bad, then it would be up to you to keep the router. I presume since D-Link is aware of the issue that they will fix it in the next release. I can't say when that will be as I don't have that info. Releases can take from 3 months to 6 months to be posted or longer from my experience. I think DMZ would work for you then check with the next release.
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ukwildcat4life

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: Blocking Tivo Ports
« Reply #42 on: May 02, 2016, 12:49:30 PM »

yes thats correct....DMZ is enabled and UPnP is enabled and no port forwarding rules are in tact........as much as I'd like to keep this router, I just called Tivo and their upper level networking engineer recommended that i return the router because he explained that enabling DMZ pretty much opens up my DVR to malware, etc..... he said enabling DMZ was a last resort when port forwarding fails, etc.... he said the fact that my Tivo system will only work with DMZ enabled proves there is an issue with the 885L's firewall.......since I have the 880L that works just fine I guess I will return the 885L .....if you do know when there is a fix for this problem please let me know and I wouldn't have a problem at all purchasing the 885L again......thanks, James
Logged
Cable 50Mbps down/2Mbps up,Arris TG-862G Modem, Roku 3, Roku Streaming Stick, Apple TV, Tivo Bolt, Tivo Mini, Xbox 360,WD My Cloud, DIR-880L

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43623
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Blocking Tivo Ports
« Reply #43 on: May 02, 2016, 01:11:46 PM »

It's possible that using the DMZ does open up all ports to the internet, however using it shouldn't mean you can't still use it. I use mine for my microcell which is VoIP. Been no issues with it. Been using DMZ for years this way. If you don't have anything shared or configured for remote access on the DVR, then it's possible that using the DMZ temporarily could be used for short term. Yes routers should be working well and users should not be using DMZ if the main process is working like it does on the 880L.

Ya seems that the FW is at issue here and I'm sure it will be fixed on next release or if D-Link wants to hand out a beta sooner should they find the cause and fix it. Or you can always buy another later on. I'm sure they will be around too. You can ask them about this and see. I presume it does take some time to find the problem and get it fixed.
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

ukwildcat4life

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
Re: Blocking Tivo Ports
« Reply #44 on: May 02, 2016, 01:51:51 PM »

I guess I will have to decide and I have a month before the return window closes with Amazon............as for now I just put the 880L back in use...........I didn't really have anything configured for my Tivo systems remotely other than I used the Tivo app on my smartphone so that I can schedule recordings while away from home................other than that I had left it in DMZ mode for almost 24 hours and it worked just fine.......like you said about your microcell, I did some research on DMZ online and it appears that lots of folks that are gamers have to open up DMZ for some of their gaming consoles to work............so I'd say you're more right than Tivo was.............if you get any future info or updates to this problem with the 885L please let me know..thanks for troubleshooting with me and trying to help..........James
Logged
Cable 50Mbps down/2Mbps up,Arris TG-862G Modem, Roku 3, Roku Streaming Stick, Apple TV, Tivo Bolt, Tivo Mini, Xbox 360,WD My Cloud, DIR-880L
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 ... 7