• November 19, 2017, 01:36:34 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Cannot get beyond 150mbps linkspeed with dual band 5ghz on 836L  (Read 2700 times)

user409490

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Cannot get beyond 150mbps linkspeed with dual band 5ghz on 836L
« on: November 18, 2015, 06:26:01 AM »

Can someone please help me with this issue?  I just downgraded to this router from a more powerful one that was easily getting 400mbps+ on all of my dual band devices. I've tried going right next to the router, but it still maxes out at that number.  Is this a limitation of the router?

edit:  it's on the lastest firmware and i've enabled multicast ipv4.  i've tried other things mentioned here: http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=52786.0
but nothing has worked.
« Last Edit: November 18, 2015, 06:28:02 AM by user409490 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43643
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Cannot get beyond 150mbps linkspeed with dual band 5ghz on 836L
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2015, 06:32:20 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?
  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
400Mbs connection rate or speedtest.net?

  • Has a Factory Reset been performed?
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
  Link> >FW Update Process
  • Was the router working before any firmware updates?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • Is ISP Modem/Service using Dynamic or Static WAN IP addressing?
  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have? Link> Speed Testing Sites
  • By-pass the main host router and check internet connection by connecting a wired LAN PC directly to the ISP modem to verify connection access and ISP speeds.
  • Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values

This is what I get on my 100/3 ISP service using wired LAN cable connection with speedtest.net and QoS enabled:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=61779.msg261634#msg261634
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

user409490

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Cannot get beyond 150mbps linkspeed with dual band 5ghz on 836L
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2015, 06:59:59 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What region are you located?
  • Are you wired or wireless connected to the router?
400Mbs connection rate or speedtest.net?

  • Has a Factory Reset been performed?
  • Was a Factory Reset performed before and after any firmware updates then set up from scratch?
  Link> >FW Update Process
  • Was the router working before any firmware updates?

Internet Service Provider and Modem Configurations
  • What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
  • What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
  • Is ISP Modem/Service using Dynamic or Static WAN IP addressing?
  • What ISP Modem service link speeds UP and Down do you have? Link> Speed Testing Sites
  • By-pass the main host router and check internet connection by connecting a wired LAN PC directly to the ISP modem to verify connection access and ISP speeds.
  • Check cable between Modem and Router, swap out to be sure. Link> Cat6 is recommended.
  • Check ISP MTU requirements, Cable is usually 1500, DSL is around 1492 down to 1472. Call the ISP and ask. Link>Checking MTU Values

This is what I get on my 100/3 ISP service using wired LAN cable connection with speedtest.net and QoS enabled:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=61779.msg261634#msg261634

US
Wired
With the speed test I'm almost maxing out my internet speed of 100mbps. The problem is that I cannot get above 150mbps for local transfers.
I didn't do a factory reset after updating, but I'll try it now.
I didn't speed test it before upgrading the firmware, so I don't know.

None of this is a problem with the supplied cable modem as I said it worked fine with my previous router.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43643
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Cannot get beyond 150mbps linkspeed with dual band 5ghz on 836L
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2015, 07:03:09 AM »

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?
What link speeds are you seeing on the LAN adapters? 1000Mb should be seen as link speed here.

So do you mean local transfers of data between LAN PCs connected to the router? Please give more details on how you have the router and PCs configured.
« Last Edit: November 18, 2015, 07:06:15 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

user409490

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Cannot get beyond 150mbps linkspeed with dual band 5ghz on 836L
« Reply #4 on: November 18, 2015, 07:06:20 AM »

What ISP Service do you have? Cable or DSL?
What ISP Modem Mfr. and model # do you have?

So do you mean local transfers of data between LAN PCs connected to the router? Please give more details on how you have the router and PCs configured.

I have Brighthouse fiber optic.
The modem is an actiontec mi424wr rev I.

All I'm trying to do is get something near the advertised speeds of 750 Mbps.  150Mbsp isn't even close.  150Mbsp is fine because it maxes out my internet connect, but local final transfers from computer to computer also go at 150Mbsp which isn't right when this is a dual band router advertised at 750 Mbps.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43643
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Cannot get beyond 150mbps linkspeed with dual band 5ghz on 836L
« Reply #5 on: November 18, 2015, 07:10:55 AM »

Be advised that 750Mb is a combined Wireless connection rate between the wireless on the router and the wireless connected devices. Its not a actual data transfer speed. Its 300Mb on 2.4ghz + 450Mb on 5ghz for those devices that support 450Mb CONNECTION RATE on 5Ghz =750Mb. Wired LAN cable is 1000Mb on the LAN ports.

You can check the connection rate of wireless connected devices on the routers web page under Status/Wireless

What wireless modes do you have set up for 5Ghz?
Recommended in single mode N, Auto channel width, WPA2/AES only. Auto Channel Scan. Any HT20/40 co-existance disabled.
Check with our wireless devices Mfr support information on what they support for connection rates. Not all devices support 450Mb connection rates. Most newer stuff does though.
« Last Edit: November 18, 2015, 07:23:18 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

user409490

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Cannot get beyond 150mbps linkspeed with dual band 5ghz on 836L
« Reply #6 on: November 18, 2015, 07:23:23 AM »

Be advised that 750Mb is a combined Wireless connection rate between the wireless on the router and the wireless connected devices. Its not a actual data transfer speed. Its 300Mb on 2.4ghz + 450Mb on 5ghz for those devices that support 450Mb CONNECTION RATE on 5Ghz =750Mb. Wired LAN cable is 1000Mb on the LAN ports.

You can check the connection rate of wireless connected devices on the routers web page under Status/Wireless

What wireless modes do you have set up for 5Ghz?
Recommended in single mode N, Auto channel width, WPA2/AES only. Auto Channel Scan. Any HT20/40 co-existance disabled.

I realize that, but 150Mbps still isn't close to 450Mbps.  All of these devices support speeds up to that, as I've tested them on a router that allowed that speed.
This is what I'm getting with every device on the 5ghz band: 



These are my wireless settings. I don't have any option for co-existance.

My wireless are those, except I don't have an option for co-existence.  Also, factory resetting it did not work.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43643
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Cannot get beyond 150mbps linkspeed with dual band 5ghz on 836L
« Reply #7 on: November 18, 2015, 07:24:40 AM »

What wireless modes do you have set up for 5Ghz?
Recommended in single mode N, Auto channel width, WPA2/AES only. Auto Channel Scan. Any HT20/40 co-existance disabled.

Also test other 450Mb supporting wireless devices.
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

user409490

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Cannot get beyond 150mbps linkspeed with dual band 5ghz on 836L
« Reply #8 on: November 18, 2015, 07:36:49 AM »

What wireless modes do you have set up for 5Ghz?
Recommended in single mode N, Auto channel width, WPA2/AES only. Auto Channel Scan. Any HT20/40 co-existance disabled.

Also test other 450Mb supporting wireless devices.

I just switch them to all those settings and they are all still 150Mbps.  All 4 of my android devices are at that.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43643
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Cannot get beyond 150mbps linkspeed with dual band 5ghz on 836L
« Reply #9 on: November 18, 2015, 07:39:56 AM »

I'll fire up mine after work and see what i find. I don't have any Android devices so results may differ.

Please post a screen capture of the Status/Wireless page on the router please:
Adding Screenshots In A Post
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

user409490

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Cannot get beyond 150mbps linkspeed with dual band 5ghz on 836L
« Reply #10 on: November 18, 2015, 07:45:45 AM »

I'll fire up mine after work and see what i find. I don't have any Android devices so results may differ.

Please post a screen capture of the Status/Wireless page on the router please:
Adding Screenshots In A Post

Okay thanks.

Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43643
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Cannot get beyond 150mbps linkspeed with dual band 5ghz on 836L
« Reply #11 on: November 18, 2015, 07:59:01 AM »

Please post a screen capture of the Status/Wireless page on the router please.
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

user409490

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Cannot get beyond 150mbps linkspeed with dual band 5ghz on 836L
« Reply #12 on: November 18, 2015, 10:46:54 AM »

Please post a screen capture of the Status/Wireless page on the router please.

Sorry posted the wrong thing.  Ill post it when i get home in a bit.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43643
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: Cannot get beyond 150mbps linkspeed with dual band 5ghz on 836L
« Reply #13 on: November 18, 2015, 10:48:14 AM »

 ;)
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>COVR3902>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L and 960L.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

user409490

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Cannot get beyond 150mbps linkspeed with dual band 5ghz on 836L
« Reply #14 on: November 18, 2015, 01:23:03 PM »

Please post a screen capture of the Status/Wireless page on the router please.

Here it is.

Logged
Pages: [1] 2