• September 22, 2017, 06:35:28 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7]

Author Topic: DIR-890L FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS  (Read 31062 times)

Diver1

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: DIR-890L FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #90 on: August 12, 2016, 09:25:42 AM »

Thanks, I'll try a factory reset..
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43125
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DIR-890L FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #91 on: August 12, 2016, 10:15:36 AM »

 ;)
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

exfat

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: DIR-890L FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #92 on: August 23, 2016, 09:15:35 AM »


NTFS works for me on my OSX devices. Has for years.

D-Link reserved exFat for there NAS storage systems. Not much call for that level of feature for home class routers where NTFS works for general use. Even though routers can handle some storage solutions, it's not meant to compete with NAS solutions so you wont get same performances as NAS. Especially with USB being a bottle neck and the many kinds of USB drives and drives that are inside them.

I recommend if you wanting exFat solutions and good storage performances, NAS should be on your list of items to review and consider. I enjoy my DNS-345 greatly.

UI bug in 1.09 - navigation headers disappear when you navigate deeper into certain areas, and you have to use the "back" option to get to where you started since the header is missing.

The lack of exFAT support is surprising - and disappointing - an excellent cross-OS format.  D-Link should prioritize this - would make life a lot easier for those with both OS X and Windows computers.

Come on, using NTFS drives with OS X is an utter mess - assuming you want WRITE access...  You need 3rd party software and have a good deal of faith.

NTFS is overly proprietary - ExFat is far more universal.  If D-Link can do ExFat (obviously they can) then it's simply pigheaded not to implement it.

In any case, my damn 890L AC3200 lost it's WAN port over the weekend - so I bought an ASUS instead.  What a fantastic software difference!  The ASUS has vastly superior options - makes the 890L's software look like garbage.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43125
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DIR-890L FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #93 on: August 23, 2016, 10:11:49 AM »

How NTFS is designed, you'll need to talk to MS about that. Over all exFat is reserved for NAS for D-Link. This is considered not a bug.  ::)

So just saying that the WAN port was lost doesn't mean the unit is bad with out doing troubleshooting. Anyways, seems like you moved on.

Enjoying my 890L just fine. Others are too.

Good Luck.


NTFS works for me on my OSX devices. Has for years.

D-Link reserved exFat for there NAS storage systems. Not much call for that level of feature for home class routers where NTFS works for general use. Even though routers can handle some storage solutions, it's not meant to compete with NAS solutions so you wont get same performances as NAS. Especially with USB being a bottle neck and the many kinds of USB drives and drives that are inside them.

I recommend if you wanting exFat solutions and good storage performances, NAS should be on your list of items to review and consider. I enjoy my DNS-345 greatly.

UI bug in 1.09 - navigation headers disappear when you navigate deeper into certain areas, and you have to use the "back" option to get to where you started since the header is missing.

The lack of exFAT support is surprising - and disappointing - an excellent cross-OS format.  D-Link should prioritize this - would make life a lot easier for those with both OS X and Windows computers.

Come on, using NTFS drives with OS X is an utter mess - assuming you want WRITE access...  You need 3rd party software and have a good deal of faith.

NTFS is overly proprietary - ExFat is far more universal.  If D-Link can do ExFat (obviously they can) then it's simply pigheaded not to implement it.

In any case, my damn 890L AC3200 lost it's WAN port over the weekend - so I bought an ASUS instead.  What a fantastic software difference!  The ASUS has vastly superior options - makes the 890L's software look like garbage.
« Last Edit: August 24, 2016, 02:07:59 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43125
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DIR-890L FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #94 on: September 01, 2016, 10:08:42 AM »

Bugs: v1.10 B07
1. After setting up QoS, selected auto detect speeds and setting By Application, I drag and dropped Games in to the Highest section, Streaming into the High section and Chat and Social Networking and Email into the Medium section and Saved settings. Coming back to the QoS UI section again later on, I notice that the Priority sections displayed as blank or empty. Used OSX 10.10.5 and Safari and Windows 10 and IE11 when configuring QoS. Also viewed with current version of Opera. I presume the tiles should be displayed as configured and persist.

2. One of Two XB1 game consoles don't show in game (BO3) Open NAT status, one console does, one shows Moderate or Strict while online at the same time while gaming. Setting up IP address reservations for each console, .198 and .199. uPnP is enabled. DNS Relay is disabled. Rebooted the router after configuration was set up. XBL1 were turned back off after making IP address reservation change. Then 1st XB1 was powered on. Xbox Live dashboard networking settings shows OPEN NAT. Loading BO3 game shows OPEN NAT. Powering up the 2nd XB1, Xbox Live dashboard networking settings shows OPEN NAT. Loading BO3 game shows MODERATE NAT for the 2nd XB1. Later on after the 2nd XB1 was power cycled due to getting separated from the hosting team lobby, the 2nd XB1 gamer could not re-join the gaming group so power cycling the XB1 is a suggested solution to re-gain access to the team lobby. After the XB1 was power cycled, in game NAT showed STRICT NAT. Possible cause maybe due to bug #1 and the persistence of the By Application and saving the configuration may not be working correctly. Gaming was ok however signal bars fluctuated in the Yellow while gaming with two consoles running at the same time and in the same game. Ping times in game were around 80ms.
NOTE: In game OPEN NAT can be achieved and has been seen on two or more XB1 consoles when using a older generation DIR series router. most resent tested router was my DIR-655 Rev B v2.11NA using the configuration seen here:
Gaming and QoS for XBL

3. Having about 18 reservations, I came back a few days later to see if I could add another IP reservation for a device that had not been given one, iPhone 4S. Soon as I enabled the reservation and selected Save, I received the reservation limit has been reached. I rebooted the router and tired a different browser and this time I attempted just to rename the device and still received the reservation limit message. This is on OSX 10.10.5 and latest versions Safari and Opera browsers. Seems like a reboot doesn't help and once the limit message has been tripped, you can't do anything else. I can remove the reservation for other devices however after doing that and rebooting the router, the message still appears when I either edit the device name or try to reserve another reservation. The only way to work around this is to do a factory reset which is not a good solution. This as been an on going problem since the 8##L series came out and were all hoping to see a fix for this.  :'(

4. Bad Wireless performance and some ISP service disconnections seen with this version of FW:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=65499.msg273001#msg273001
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=65499.msg273046#msg273046
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=65499.msg273038#msg273038
Possible Smart Connect issue involved as well...http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=65499.msg273081#msg273081
Reverting back to v1.09 seems to resolve issues seen with v1.10 that users are experiencing.

Feature Request:
1. Please increase the device reservation to 50 or make the reservation unlimited. We are finding more and more home users have more than 30 devices in a multi- person home and average users find it handy and helpful to use reservations when configuring routers for there needs.
« Last Edit: September 06, 2016, 07:19:48 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

BiggShooter

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
  • BiggShooter is BACK!
Re: DIR-890L FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #95 on: September 05, 2016, 10:28:00 AM »

Possible Bug: v1.10 B07
1. After setting up QoS, selected auto detect speeds and setting By Application, I drag and dropped Games in to the Highest section, Streaming into the High section and Chat and Social Networking and Email into the Medium section and Saved settings. Coming back to the QoS UI section again later on, I notice that the Priority sections displayed as blank or empty. Used OSX 10.10.5 and Safari and Windows 10 and IE11 when configuring QoS. Also viewed with current version of Opera. I presume the tiles should be displayed as configured and persist.

2. One of Two XB1 game consoles don't show in game (BO3) Open NAT status, one console does, one shows Moderate or Strict while online at the same time while gaming. Setting up IP address reservations for each console, .198 and .199. uPnP is enabled. DNS Relay is disabled. Rebooted the router after configuration was set up. XBL1 were turned back off after making IP address reservation change. Then 1st XB1 was powered on. Xbox Live dashboard networking settings shows OPEN NAT. Loading BO3 game shows OPEN NAT. Powering up the 2nd XB1, Xbox Live dashboard networking settings shows OPEN NAT. Loading BO3 game shows MODERATE NAT for the 2nd XB1. Later on after the 2nd XB1 was power cycled due to getting separated from the hosting team lobby, the 2nd XB1 gamer could not re-join the gaming group so power cycling the XB1 is a suggested solution to re-gain access to the team lobby. After the XB1 was power cycled, in game NAT showed STRICT NAT. Possible cause maybe due to bug #1 and the persistence of the By Application and saving the configuration may not be working correctly. Gaming was ok however signal bars fluctuated in the Yellow while gaming with two consoles running at the same time and in the same game. Ping times in game were around 80ms.
NOTE: In game OPEN NAT can be achieved and has been seen on two or more XB1 consoles when using a older generation DIR series router. most resent tested router was my DIR-655 Rev B v2.11NA using the configuration seen here:
Gaming and QoS for XBL

3. Having about 18 reservations, I came back a few days later to see if I could add another IP reservation for a device that had not been given one, iPhone 4S. Soon as I enabled the reservation and selected Save, I received the reservation limit has been reached. I rebooted the router and tired a different browser and this time I attempted just to rename the device and still received the reservation limit message. This is on OSX 10.10.5 and latest versions Safari and Opera browsers. Seems like a reboot doesn't help and once the limit message has been tripped, you can't do anything else. I can remove the reservation for other devices however after doing that and rebooting the router, the message still appears when I either edit the device name or try to reserve another reservation. The only way to work around this is to do a factory reset which is not a good solution. This as been an on going problem since the 8##L series came out and were all hoping to see a fix for this.  :'(

I'm seeing the EXACT SAME ISSUES Furry.  This has been an issue since the release of the 890L (device reservation / renaming).  D'LINK - PLEASE DROP THE DHCP RESERVATION LIMIT!  With today's technology and most everything having wifi connectivity, it would be nice to reserve IP addresses for AS MANY devices as we wish. 
Logged
aka Vigilante

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43125
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DIR-890L FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #96 on: September 06, 2016, 07:10:25 AM »

Updated bug list...  ::)
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43125
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DIR-890L FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #97 on: October 12, 2016, 11:33:30 AM »

Bugs: v1.10 B07
1. After setting up QoS, selected auto detect speeds and setting By Application, I drag and dropped Games in to the Highest section, Streaming into the High section and Chat and Social Networking and Email into the Medium section and Saved settings. Coming back to the QoS UI section again later on, I notice that the Priority sections displayed as blank or empty. Used OSX 10.10.5 and Safari and Windows 10 and IE11 when configuring QoS. Also viewed with current version of Opera. I presume the tiles should be displayed as configured and persist.

2. One of Two XB1 game consoles don't show in game (BO3) Open NAT status, one console does, one shows Moderate or Strict while online at the same time while gaming. Setting up IP address reservations for each console, .198 and .199. uPnP is enabled. DNS Relay is disabled. Rebooted the router after configuration was set up. XBL1 were turned back off after making IP address reservation change. Then 1st XB1 was powered on. Xbox Live dashboard networking settings shows OPEN NAT. Loading BO3 game shows OPEN NAT. Powering up the 2nd XB1, Xbox Live dashboard networking settings shows OPEN NAT. Loading BO3 game shows MODERATE NAT for the 2nd XB1. Later on after the 2nd XB1 was power cycled due to getting separated from the hosting team lobby, the 2nd XB1 gamer could not re-join the gaming group so power cycling the XB1 is a suggested solution to re-gain access to the team lobby. After the XB1 was power cycled, in game NAT showed STRICT NAT. Possible cause maybe due to bug #1 and the persistence of the By Application and saving the configuration may not be working correctly. Gaming was ok however signal bars fluctuated in the Yellow while gaming with two consoles running at the same time and in the same game. Ping times in game were around 80ms.
NOTE: In game OPEN NAT can be achieved and has been seen on two or more XB1 consoles when using a older generation DIR series router. most resent tested router was my DIR-655 Rev B v2.11NA using the configuration seen here:
Gaming and QoS for XBL

3. Having about 18 reservations, I came back a few days later to see if I could add another IP reservation for a device that had not been given one, iPhone 4S. Soon as I enabled the reservation and selected Save, I received the reservation limit has been reached. I rebooted the router and tired a different browser and this time I attempted just to rename the device and still received the reservation limit message. This is on OSX 10.10.5 and latest versions Safari and Opera browsers. Seems like a reboot doesn't help and once the limit message has been tripped, you can't do anything else. I can remove the reservation for other devices however after doing that and rebooting the router, the message still appears when I either edit the device name or try to reserve another reservation. The only way to work around this is to do a factory reset which is not a good solution. This as been an on going problem since the 8##L series came out and were all hoping to see a fix for this.  :'(

4. Bad Wireless performance and some ISP service disconnections seen with this version of FW:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=65499.msg273001#msg273001
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=65499.msg273046#msg273046
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=65499.msg273038#msg273038
Possible Smart Connect issue involved as well...http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=65499.msg273081#msg273081
Reverting back to v1.09 seems to resolve issues seen with v1.10 that users are experiencing.
UPDATE: 10/12/2016
Seems that this issue is due to a defect in the Broadcom chipset. Issue effects D-Link and other router Mfrs as well. All newer DIR series routers using Broadcom chip sets are effected. D-Link is working with Broadcom on this issue to correct it.

Please be patient.

Feature Request:
1. Please increase the device reservation to 50 or make the reservation unlimited. We are finding more and more home users have more than 30 devices in a multi- person home and average users find it handy and helpful to use reservations when configuring routers for there needs.
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43125
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DIR-890L FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #98 on: November 28, 2016, 07:16:16 AM »

Bugs: v1.11 B01

1. Naming of devices that are not being reserved presents a "maximum DHCP reservations exceeded" message when editing just the name of the client only and then saving the change. http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=65936.0

2. Bad Wireless performance disconnections seen with this version of FW: v1.11
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=65942.0
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=65885.0
v1.10 reported posts:
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=65499.msg273001#msg273001
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=65499.msg273046#msg273046
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=65499.msg273038#msg273038
Possible Smart Connect issue involved as well...http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=65499.msg273081#msg273081

Reverting back to v1.09 seems to resolve issues seen with v1.10 and v1.11 that users are experiencing.
UPDATE: 10/12/2016
Seems that this issue is due to a defect in the Broadcom chipset. Issue effects D-Link and other router Mfrs as well. All newer DIR series routers using Broadcom chip sets are effected. D-Link is working with Broadcom on this issue to correct it.

Please be patient.

Feature Request:
1. Please increase the device reservation to 50 or make the reservation unlimited. We are finding more and more home users have more than 30 devices in a multi- person home and average users find it handy and helpful to use reservations when configuring routers for there needs.
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43125
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43125
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DIR-890L FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #100 on: August 01, 2017, 09:20:53 PM »

Be able to edit and set device names with out it using up a Device IP Reservation. v1.11 B02 and DIR-895L/880L v1.08. Other newer generation model routers maybe effected.
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=65936.0

Add Full Cone NAT options to the new DIR series router model line.  ::)
http://forums.dlink.com/index.php?topic=65732
« Last Edit: August 01, 2017, 09:23:29 PM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 43125
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • New DIR-890L Router with SmartConnect™ Technology
Re: DIR-890L FORUM USER REQUESTS and BUGS
« Reply #101 on: August 08, 2017, 11:08:24 AM »

Ensure correct Identify of connected HW in the UI.
Logged
Cable:100mb/3Mb>Motorola SB6183>DIR-880L>HP 24pt Gb Switch. 3xDGL-4500s,DIR-857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,865L,836L,826L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L and a Boxee.
Go Here>Router Troubleshooting
Pages: 1 ... 5 6 [7]