• April 16, 2024, 01:59:56 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Requesting help for adding an access point  (Read 3578 times)

tentimes

• Level 3 Member
Requesting help for adding an access point
« on: September 18, 2009, 12:08:14 PM »

Hi,

I would be grateful for some advice on this as I have never done it before. I have been reading up and will read some more, so no need to explain stuff to me in much detail, what I am really hoping is that I can get an opinion on whether it will work or not.

I have a DIR-655 which up to now has been running in WEP mode due to a ****py AP that I use to make my slingbox available to the network. I have just bought a new N based AP instead so that I can run the whole house on WPA2 and hopefully solve some of my current issues with the router. The AP I have bought is an Edimax EW-7416APn (manual here: http://www.edimax.co.uk/images/Image/manual/Wireless/EW-7416APn/EW-7416APN-V1.0_Manual.pdf)

I am going to run it in universal repeater mode, meaning that it can act as a repeater and an AP at the same time. By this I am hoping to (a) Get the slingox connected on N and the whole network moved over to WPA2 to improve N client performance, and (b) Use it as a repeater as it will be in the room beneath my bedroom and currently the signal to there is not very good.

The DIR-655 is in my front room and currently serves the whole 2 up - 2 down terraced house (with strong brick walls!). The AP will be 10 metres away in the back room which is below my bedroom. The slingbox is here and will connect to it. MY bedroom is right above and I am hoping this might fix the wall issue.