• February 05, 2023, 06:22:10 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: Raid1 HDD replacement  (Read 3299 times)

sorh

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Raid1 HDD replacement
« on: December 29, 2020, 06:11:21 AM »

Hi Guys,

I'm having a philosophical question here.
I've got two hdd in my nas box in raid1 configuration, and a third hdd that I keep as a backup unit in my parents home.
So in the unlikely situation that both disks get damaged (fire, lightning, power surge) at least I can save some data.

Now I was planning to remove one of the hdds again, save it away, and put back the old backup so it gets updated, but then it hit me.
Since the nas will prob recognize the old hdd as well, how can I unsure it will update the old hdd and not the other way around?

many thanks
Logged

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2254
Re: Raid1 HDD replacement
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2020, 06:43:52 AM »

Logged

sorh

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Raid1 HDD replacement
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2020, 08:16:09 AM »

thanks for your reply,
yea sounds like its not a very good idea.
oh man.. I think a fourth drive would be an overkill, I'll just format it before fitting into the nas box.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  • ††▲
    ▲†▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: Raid1 HDD replacement
« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2020, 08:36:28 AM »

Ideal backup is having two separate NAS units with redundant HDDs installed using standard HDD formatting. Non Raid.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

RYAT3

  • Level 10 Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2254
Re: Raid1 HDD replacement
« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2020, 09:44:47 AM »

It looks like page 120 of the manual?

https://www.manualslib.com/manual/1090610/D-Link-Sharecenter-Dns-320l.html?page=120#manual


Other instructions on the internet say to make backups before you start to play.

I had something like this happen to me the other day. I pulled the wrong drives out of my NAS. Volume failed messages! Put in new drives. Realized my mistake.

Put both incorrectly pulled drives back in the same spot, and pulled the other 2 drives. Was offered to "repair" the incorrectly pulled drives, and my volume returned.  I think put the new bigger drives in the other slot, and pulled those drives. (I had moved the data off to bigger storage areas).

6TB drives aren't cutting it anymore. 

Plus the Seagate Ironwolf drives run cooler than the WD Red drives.




Logged

ZHands

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Raid1 HDD replacement Expansion
« Reply #5 on: March 08, 2022, 05:22:40 PM »

DL-SC320 Replace HDs Keep Data Increase Raid1 Size

Hi there, I saw that you had a great response to a question about a Raid1 HD and I have a the NAS D-Link ShareCenter 320;
Itís been a great server for many long years with a functional formatted two; 1TB HDs Raid1 - 1 Volume mirror drives. I would like to expand my NAS to a 4TB Formatted Raid1, I have bought the two New compatible HDs. SO here is my question I need some help on before I take the steps to unplug the working drives.

Is the (DL ShareCenter 320 NAS) just a plug-in-play server? Meaning all I have to do is turn the power off unplug one of the old hard drives and replace it with one of the larger new ones and the (NAS DL-320) will rebuild the mirrored data to the new drive? etc...

Thank you so much for your help in advance. Iím sure thereís an easy answer here, I just canít find it online or through any YouTube tutorial.
Logged