• April 20, 2024, 09:05:05 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: NAS is being a bit picky on how to connect ! [SOLVED]  (Read 7863 times)

FISHMAN001

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
NAS is being a bit picky on how to connect ! [SOLVED]
« on: March 23, 2015, 05:10:56 AM »

Hi,
I have a DNS-345 used as a storage for videos, music, pictures, and as a backup for the various household computers and phones etc.  It is currently connected directly to an AP, then onto my Broadband Router.  My computer is also connected to the AP.
I access the files as Volume_1, Volume_2, Volume_3, Volume_4 on my network, and I can see my files and can stream movies with no problem.
I am now running out of ports on my AP, so I put in an unmanaged switch.  Every other device works fine EXCEPT the NAS.  It won't connect at all. The OLED says "IP: Disconnected", and the light on the desktop switch port doesn't come on.
I have tried the following:
Changed cable and port on switch - No change.  Changed port on the NAS - no change.  Returned it directly to the AP - all OK again.  I have rebooted everything between changes, and been through the settings in the NAS and the AP time and again, and I can't see anything wrong.  I even tried another AP and it won't connect directly or indirectly to that either!  It seems as if the NAS only wants to play with my current AP, and NOTHING else will do !
More Info:
no AD, no DFS, no Quotas, no Dynamic DNS, no IP blocking, no Power Management, no Hibernation, no Scheduling, AFP disabled, NFS disabled, iTunes disabled, SNMP disabled, UPnP enabled, FTP enabled, Multimedia Shares - 4 Volumes OK, no USB or Printers attached.
My main router is the gateway, DNS server and DHCP server (for visitors).  ALL devices on my network have static IP addresses in the 192.168.0.xxx range.

Can anyone give me a prod in the right direction?

Thanks,
Paul

DNS-345 (v1.04b04 firmware)
WIndows 8.1 x64 pro
Billion BiPac 7800N Access Point
TP-Link TL-SG105 Desktop switch
SKY S101 Router

« Last Edit: March 28, 2015, 01:54:38 AM by FISHMAN001 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: NAS is being a bit picky on how to connect !
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2015, 08:38:56 AM »

 If the switch was recently added and it works directly with the AP, then it maybe an issue with this switch. Try a D-Link brand unmanaged Gb switch and see. My DNS is connected to a 24pt switch as works well, however the switch isn't connected to an AP.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

FISHMAN001

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: NAS is being a bit picky on how to connect !
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2015, 11:19:28 AM »

The switch is fine; as I pointed out, everything else works on any of the ports (the make has nothing to do with it).  BTW, the switch is a gigabit variety, and everything is connected at 1Gb/sec (except the SKY router  >:( )
Also then, why doesn't the NAS work directly on a different AP ?

Regards,
Paul
« Last Edit: March 23, 2015, 11:32:09 AM by FISHMAN001 »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: NAS is being a bit picky on how to connect !
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2015, 11:30:29 AM »

Maybe a compatibility issue between the DNS and this switch.

My DNS works on a HP branded switch for me. I don't use TP-Link or Belkin brands so you'll need to refer to those Mfrs for help and support.
I believe the other moderator in this forum uses his DNS on a DAP-1650 running in bridge mode I think.

Does the DNS work directly with the main host router?
Try both LAN ports on back of the DNS?
Have you changed the LAN port speed on the DNS and tested? Try 100Mb. Auto should work however may depend on the connected HW and his handling of speed negociations and what it supports. No all APs support 1000Mb...
Has a reset been performed on the DNS to see if any thing happens?

If the DNS works with the one AP and test a different branded switch and the problem doesn't not reproduce then the issue would be between the DNS and this TP switch.
« Last Edit: March 23, 2015, 11:34:53 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

FISHMAN001

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: NAS is being a bit picky on how to connect !
« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2015, 03:32:24 AM »

Sorry for the late response, work and family commitments always seem to get in the way of my hobby life.
I have now tried a different switch and the NAS still wont connect (no light on the switch either).
- It works fine when connected to the main Router.
- Both LAN ports on the NAS tried, with no joy.
- LAN port speed on the NAS has been set to 100 and auto - still not working. (there isn't a 1000 selection in the dropdown)
- I have rebooted the NAS, AP, Router, PC, switch many times.  I have not reset the NAS to factory settings yet, I was leaving that for a bit further along the diagnostic route as the NAS works fine, albeit, not with a switch or different AP.
- All the cabling in the network (including patch leads) is either cat6 or cat6a.

If I put the switch between the Router and the AP, and keep the NAS plugged into the AP, the NAS works.
If I put the switch between the Router and the AP, and plug the NAS into the switch, the NAS doesn't work. (either switch)

I'm running out of options now.

Regards,
Paul

Logged

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: NAS is being a bit picky on how to connect !
« Reply #5 on: March 24, 2015, 05:01:21 AM »

Have you tried wiring another device (e.g. PC or storage device) directly to the switch to validate that other devices can successfully connect to the network? This test can rule out an issue between the router-switch.
« Last Edit: March 24, 2015, 05:04:18 AM by JavaLawyer »
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

FISHMAN001

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: NAS is being a bit picky on how to connect !
« Reply #6 on: March 24, 2015, 05:36:19 AM »

Have you tried wiring another device (e.g. PC or storage device) directly to the switch to validate that other devices can successfully connect to the network?

Quote from: Paul
I am now running out of ports on my AP, so I put in an unmanaged switch.  Every other device works fine EXCEPT the NAS.  It won't connect at all.
and
Quote from: Paul
The switch is fine; as I pointed out, everything else works on any of the ports

When I say everything else, I mean: 2 PC's, 1 Laptop, 1 RPi, another AP, TV, satellite box, Media Centre, etc...)

Regards,
Paul
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: NAS is being a bit picky on how to connect !
« Reply #7 on: March 24, 2015, 07:20:56 AM »

Whats the Mfr and model of both swtiches?

Seems that these switches maybe an issue with this model DNS. I know mine works on a HP branded switch. I think JavaLawyer may have his connected to a D-link switch at one time however has it connected to a DAP model bridge currently?

Just seems like if the DNS works on the main host router and the Billion AP, that the other switches have issue with the DNS. Possible with what you have been trying to connect that maybe something on the DNS LAN ports maybe going bad or damaged now in some way. Is there any D-Link branded or maybe HP branded switches available at yoru local store that has a refund policy? I'd try at least a D-link branded switch to see if the problem still occurs, if so, the it would be time to phone contact D-Link support ASAP. Reason for suggesting D-Link brand is that most of there products are tested at some level together so products work well with each other. We don't know if TP-Link or D-Link does any testing between Mfrs and presume they may not so there could be some incompatibility with other Mfr products.

Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

FISHMAN001

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: NAS is being a bit picky on how to connect !
« Reply #8 on: March 24, 2015, 09:27:09 AM »

OK, I've bit the bullet and ordered a new D-Link DGS-108, which will be here in a couple of days.  Until then, I will play around a bit more, and come back here when I have the new switch.

Thanks,
Paul
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: NAS is being a bit picky on how to connect !
« Reply #9 on: March 24, 2015, 09:32:54 AM »

Hope the D-Link one works for you...keep us posted.  ;)
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

JavaLawyer

  • BETA Tester
  • Level 15 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12190
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • FoundFootageCritic
Re: NAS is being a bit picky on how to connect !
« Reply #10 on: March 24, 2015, 09:42:12 AM »

I have two DNS-345 and two DNS-343, which I've used without issue on two different D-Link DGS models.
Keep us posted!
Logged
Find answers here: D-Link ShareCenter FAQ I D-Link Network Camera FAQ
There's no such thing as too many backups FFC

FISHMAN001

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: NAS is being a bit picky on how to connect !
« Reply #11 on: March 25, 2015, 11:49:03 AM »

Will do !

Regards,
Paul
« Last Edit: March 26, 2015, 03:41:25 AM by FISHMAN001 »
Logged

FISHMAN001

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: NAS is being a bit picky on how to connect !
« Reply #12 on: March 27, 2015, 03:09:21 AM »

Hi again.
Well, the D-Link switch arrived, and I plugged all the ethernet leads into it, and guess what ?
Yep, the only one that didn't light up was from the NAS.
Plugged the NAS lead back into the router - All OK again.
I'm lost!
I suppose I'm now looking at a defective NAS (I don't know why or how though), or a defective cable.
I will borrow some test euipment and try a few hardware tests.

Regards,
Paul
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: NAS is being a bit picky on how to connect !
« Reply #13 on: March 27, 2015, 07:18:34 AM »

Same thing happen with only the NAS connected to the switch alone?

Sounds like if the cable isn't bad, then the DNS could be faulty. After you do more testing, I recommend you phone contact D-Link support and see if you can get into an RMA...Keep us posted.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

FISHMAN001

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: NAS is being a bit picky on how to connect ! [SOLVED]
« Reply #14 on: March 28, 2015, 01:53:14 AM »

IT WORKS !

For the people who have the same problem and are googling for an answer:
It was the cable between the NAS and the AP (now switch).  The end at the NAS was a bit "iffy" as it worked when I wiggled it around and pushed on it.  I have put in a new cable and it works fine.

For those that want the gory details:
I started from basics, and disconnected everything from the network.
I moved the NAS to my ADSL Router and connected to that with a new short cable - OK
I put a Switch between the NAS and the Router - OK
Took out Switch and connected the AP to Router, and NAS to AP - OK
Put a Switch between the AP and NAS - OK
Removed NAS/Switch/AP and moved them to the room I had them in, and connected up (Router-AP-Switch-NAS) - OK
Connected everything else back onto the network - OK
The only thing left was the original cable from the NAS to the AP.  Connected that - FAIL
I did the pull-it-out, push-it-back routine, and wiggled it about and it came up !
Ripped out the cable, replaced it with a new one (it's about 40 foot long) and all is well.

I put the cable on a network cable tester and you can make it pass/fail by wiggling it about.
I have no idea why the cable works with my current AP, but not a replacement.  As it's old, perhaps the firmware is more forgiving on protocols/connections ?

Morale:
Don't buy a cable just because it's cheap !

Thanks for your help,
Paul
« Last Edit: March 28, 2015, 01:55:52 AM by FISHMAN001 »
Logged