• March 23, 2023, 05:55:57 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: I got me a Good working one :D  (Read 6913 times)

hyelton

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
    • HuntersPad
I got me a Good working one :D
« on: March 04, 2014, 09:00:34 AM »

Been awhile since I`ve posted but I got one up and running pretty well :D

My Friends Parents are moving and they had trouble about a year ago with there DGL-4500 even Tried Upgrading it to the latest still had under V1.5 on it somewhere around that, and well doing that and resetting it still done the same things like Randomly stop working or Wireless devices refusing the connect.. Well I asked if I could have it (They bought it new when they first came out!) They gave it too me still running since yesterday morning and its running Great here! Could had been there Modem not liking it they had Hugesnet lol, I have Cable.

But This thing is awesome, Sort of a downgrade what I was using (Buffalo N600 DD-WRT) but range and wifi is a lot better, Only thing I miss though is BW monitoring the only reason I use DD-WRT.
Logged
Current PC: MSI GE60, 128GB m-Sata, 750GB HD, 8GB Ram, Nvidia 2GB 650m, Windows 7 Pro.

Current Phone: Sony Xperia ZL

Internet Speed: 25Mb Down, 2Mb Up
Current Router:) : D-Link 826L

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: I got me a Good working one :D
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2014, 09:03:08 AM »

Awesome, Ya, some of these routers don't work well with SAT modems....

Glad it's working well for you. You can always upgrade the WiFi too on it by adding in a wired AP.

Enjoy.

I still have my 3 4500's.  ;D
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

hyelton

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
    • HuntersPad
Re: I got me a Good working one :D
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2014, 09:39:44 AM »

So I have figured out no matter what I try even with QOS off my Ping is extreamly high when uploading & Downloading at the same time :/ I guess its the CPU maybe not being able to do both. Running a Download manager with a few threads going ping is around 25ms. or Uploading a file ping is around 30ms but do them both togther its spiking to almost 1,000 lol. My dd-wrt router doesnt do that. BUT As a lot of people know Wireless when using DD-WRT is junk..


So.... I turned off the wireless on my DD-WRT router and using the DGL-4500 as an access point :)
Logged
Current PC: MSI GE60, 128GB m-Sata, 750GB HD, 8GB Ram, Nvidia 2GB 650m, Windows 7 Pro.

Current Phone: Sony Xperia ZL

Internet Speed: 25Mb Down, 2Mb Up
Current Router:) : D-Link 826L

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: I got me a Good working one :D
« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2014, 09:41:46 AM »

Kewl...I'll try and check this out when I get some time...it's possible that there could be a configuration issue as well...
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

hyelton

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
    • HuntersPad
Re: I got me a Good working one :D
« Reply #4 on: March 08, 2014, 09:49:09 AM »

Yea not sure. But its uptime was several days besides that issue things were great! But Gonna use it as an access point :) It worked nicely. 2 PC`s playing World of warcraft, Media PC streaming TwitchTV, and a Mac playing League of Ledgens.
Logged
Current PC: MSI GE60, 128GB m-Sata, 750GB HD, 8GB Ram, Nvidia 2GB 650m, Windows 7 Pro.

Current Phone: Sony Xperia ZL

Internet Speed: 25Mb Down, 2Mb Up
Current Router:) : D-Link 826L

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: I got me a Good working one :D
« Reply #5 on: March 08, 2014, 09:52:31 AM »

Enjoy man.
 ;)
Yea not sure. But its uptime was several days besides that issue things were great! But Gonna use it as an access point :) It worked nicely. 2 PC`s playing World of warcraft, Media PC streaming TwitchTV, and a Mac playing League of Ledgens.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

hyelton

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
    • HuntersPad
Re: I got me a Good working one :D
« Reply #6 on: March 09, 2014, 09:22:30 AM »

What firmware was the BEST and most stable for everyone for the DGL-4500?
Logged
Current PC: MSI GE60, 128GB m-Sata, 750GB HD, 8GB Ram, Nvidia 2GB 650m, Windows 7 Pro.

Current Phone: Sony Xperia ZL

Internet Speed: 25Mb Down, 2Mb Up
Current Router:) : D-Link 826L

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: I got me a Good working one :D
« Reply #7 on: March 09, 2014, 12:51:40 PM »

Some say shipping FW was, v102, 115, and 116...
What loaded currently?
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

hyelton

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
    • HuntersPad
Re: I got me a Good working one :D
« Reply #8 on: March 09, 2014, 08:11:28 PM »

1.23. It was shipped with 1.02
Logged
Current PC: MSI GE60, 128GB m-Sata, 750GB HD, 8GB Ram, Nvidia 2GB 650m, Windows 7 Pro.

Current Phone: Sony Xperia ZL

Internet Speed: 25Mb Down, 2Mb Up
Current Router:) : D-Link 826L

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: I got me a Good working one :D
« Reply #9 on: March 10, 2014, 07:31:04 AM »

I think the lowest you could try is downgrading however if your not going to be using it as the main host router, probably not worth it...v1.23 has been working for me...

I haven't tried the ping test though...
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

hyelton

  • Level 3 Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 142
    • HuntersPad
Re: I got me a Good working one :D
« Reply #10 on: March 13, 2014, 05:46:36 PM »

So.. I thought I`d try it again :/ still problems. :(

I can upload or I can download but NOT both at the same time.


You can see when I stopped the download but the upload still going. The ONLY time its reasonable is when I cut my upload in half by setting it to 1MB instead of 2MB and I cant do that :( I have my other router set exactly on 2MB and I can do both and retain a 50ms ping.

its not the QOS settings.
Logged
Current PC: MSI GE60, 128GB m-Sata, 750GB HD, 8GB Ram, Nvidia 2GB 650m, Windows 7 Pro.

Current Phone: Sony Xperia ZL

Internet Speed: 25Mb Down, 2Mb Up
Current Router:) : D-Link 826L

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: I got me a Good working one :D
« Reply #11 on: March 15, 2014, 12:57:29 PM »

Does his happen with the 826L?  ???
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.