• June 21, 2024, 01:31:43 PM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Author Topic: No apostrophe in SSID  (Read 5290 times)

IgorW

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
No apostrophe in SSID
« on: February 18, 2014, 04:51:15 AM »

I posted this one to their support a while ago but maybe I will get a better response and a fix if I post it here.

I have a comma in the SSID which works fine until the router is rebooted/power cycled. At that point the comma is replaced by the ASCII character encoded symbol which is ' (so my ssid Igor's becomes Igor's)
This means that if there is a power cycle then I have to reset the router's SSID or none of the wireless devices will connect.

Maybe they will fix it in the new version or add a RegEx to ensure that only characters the router can actually persist and retrieve will be allowed as part of the SSID.
« Last Edit: February 18, 2014, 07:33:17 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: No apostrophe in SSID
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2014, 06:57:17 AM »

Its possible that the use of a (`) in the SSID may not be supported. Does the SSID name work and persist if you remove the comma?

I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and inquire about this character to see if its officially supported in the SSID field.
« Last Edit: February 18, 2014, 07:35:23 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

IgorW

  • Level 1 Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: No apostrophe in SSID
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2014, 07:01:42 AM »

Typo-O
I meant apostrophe not comma. My example is correct though.

Again, it saves the apostrophe just fine but as soon as a reset/power-cycle occurs the apostrophe is converted to  ' (the ASCII code for apostrophe) in the SSID.
« Last Edit: February 18, 2014, 07:34:29 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49923
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: No apostrophe in SSID
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2014, 07:32:52 AM »

I recommend that you phone contact your regional D-Link support office and inquire about this character to see if its officially supported in the SSID field.
« Last Edit: February 18, 2014, 07:34:37 AM by FurryNutz »
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.