• May 29, 2022, 12:52:14 AM
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

This Forum Beta is ONLY for registered owners of D-Link products in the USA for which we have created boards at this time.

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4

Author Topic: CANNOT LOGIN TO ROUTER  (Read 88102 times)

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: CANNOT LOGIN TO ROUTER
« Reply #15 on: October 11, 2015, 09:35:26 AM »

Link>Welcome!

  • What Hardware version is your router? Look at sticker under the router case.
  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

Glad you got it working. I tend not to use chrome for managing any router. IE and FF seem to work the best.

Enjoy.


I know that this is a very old post, however I recently stumbled upon it searching the error message 'default password should not work here'. I wanted to comment that the suggestion above helped me solve my problem. It was a saved password in Chrome that was giving me grief. Upon switching to Firefox, where I did not have a password saved, I no longer saw the error and was able to successfully log into my router.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

batkinson001

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: CANNOT LOGIN TO ROUTER
« Reply #16 on: April 24, 2016, 08:33:59 PM »

Hey all, I wasnt able to find the new post button on this layout as it is different from the forums I remember here 2 years ago when I last needed help with my dir-645...

I am posting here as this is the problem I am running into, I have sone a factory reset with the paperclip but the password to log in did not reset, and the router tells me this when i go to log in for the first time.  I cannot remember the password I had on it.   I had put a password on there so people in the area if they did get on our wifi, couldn't take it over and screw my parents while I was out west and pretty sure i wrote it down for my parents but cant find it.  Now that I am home I want to use the router in place of the one that came with the new Rogers wifi modem (hitron cgn3) as the dlink was way more stable for xbox live and having many more than two devices connected to it (3 cellphones, 4 laptops, 2 tablets and my xbox live, now always all at the same time).

any idea what I can do to force it to reset to the default blank password?
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: CANNOT LOGIN TO ROUTER
« Reply #17 on: April 25, 2016, 06:44:02 AM »

  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

When doing a factory reset, the PW should be cleared and it will be a blank PW.

When doing a factory reset or restore of the config file, the PW will be back until a new PW is configured.

Hey all, I wasnt able to find the new post button on this layout as it is different from the forums I remember here 2 years ago when I last needed help with my dir-645...

I am posting here as this is the problem I am running into, I have sone a factory reset with the paperclip but the password to log in did not reset, and the router tells me this when i go to log in for the first time.  I cannot remember the password I had on it.   I had put a password on there so people in the area if they did get on our wifi, couldn't take it over and screw my parents while I was out west and pretty sure i wrote it down for my parents but cant find it.  Now that I am home I want to use the router in place of the one that came with the new Rogers wifi modem (hitron cgn3) as the dlink was way more stable for xbox live and having many more than two devices connected to it (3 cellphones, 4 laptops, 2 tablets and my xbox live, now always all at the same time).

any idea what I can do to force it to reset to the default blank password?
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

batkinson001

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: CANNOT LOGIN TO ROUTER
« Reply #18 on: April 25, 2016, 07:50:02 AM »

  • Link>What Firmware version is currently loaded? Found on the routers web page under status.
  • What region are you located?

When doing a factory reset, the PW should be cleared and it will be a blank PW.

When doing a factory reset or restore of the config file, the PW will be back until a new PW is configured.


Location Canada
Hardware a1
Firmware v1.03
The message after doing the paperclip reset:

Password is not default(admin/blank), should not run here.


As far as I can tell the settings are back to default except for the login info.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: CANNOT LOGIN TO ROUTER
« Reply #19 on: April 25, 2016, 07:54:28 AM »

How long are you pressing the reset button for? Should be 10 seconds.

What browser are you using?
Try Opera or FF? If IE 8, 9, 10 or 11, set compatibility mode and test again. (For older generation routers.)
Disable any security browser Add-ons like No Script and Ad-Block or configure them to allow All Pages when connected to the router.
Clear all browser caches.
Be sure to log into the Admin account on the router.
Try turning off these features in Chrome:
Top right corner, little bars for options > Settings > Settings (on left) > Show advanced settings.
Uncheck these:
Use a web service to help resolve navigation errors
Use a prediction service to help complete searches and URLs typed in the address bar
Predict network actions to improve page load performance
Enable phishing and malware protection
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

batkinson001

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: CANNOT LOGIN TO ROUTER
« Reply #20 on: April 25, 2016, 08:05:46 AM »

How long are you pressing the reset button for? Should be 10 seconds.

What browser are you using?
Try Opera or FF? If IE 8, 9, 10 or 11, set compatibility mode and test again. (For older generation routers.)
Disable any security browser Add-ons like No Script and Ad-Block or configure them to allow All Pages when connected to the router.
Clear all browser caches.
Be sure to log into the Admin account on the router.
Try turning off these features in Chrome:
Top right corner, little bars for options > Settings > Settings (on left) > Show advanced settings.
Uncheck these:
Use a web service to help resolve navigation errors
Use a prediction service to help complete searches and URLs typed in the address bar
Predict network actions to improve page load performance
Enable phishing and malware protection

I hold it in for 10 sec...

Turned off the stuff in chrome.

No change.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: CANNOT LOGIN TO ROUTER
« Reply #21 on: April 25, 2016, 08:15:49 AM »

How about FF?
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

batkinson001

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: CANNOT LOGIN TO ROUTER
« Reply #22 on: April 25, 2016, 08:30:18 AM »

How about FF?

Don't use it.  I have Microsoft edge though since I am on Windows 10. But chrome should work.  I can get into the modem (hitron cgn3) no problem, when it wants to work, it's fragile And temperamental.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: CANNOT LOGIN TO ROUTER
« Reply #23 on: April 25, 2016, 08:33:17 AM »

Well if you can try FF and see. Since your on older FW, there will be some compatibility issues with Edge and probably chrome. 1.03 is pretty old and hopefully if you can get up dated to v1.06 then Chrome and maybe Edge would work well. I don't recommend using Chrome or Edge. IE11 is still on 10 and FF works well.

Let us know if FF works, the we can try one more way to get in.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

batkinson001

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: CANNOT LOGIN TO ROUTER
« Reply #24 on: April 25, 2016, 08:42:52 AM »

Well if you can try FF and see. Since your on older FW, there will be some compatibility issues with Edge and probably chrome. 1.03 is pretty old and hopefully if you can get up dated to v1.06 then Chrome and maybe Edge would work well. I don't recommend using Chrome or Edge. IE11 is still on 10 and FF works well.

Let us know if FF works, the we can try one more way to get in.

Just for the hell of it I tried the Microsoft browser and i am staring at the first page of the wizard. No login box.  I should be able to set things up until I goto plug it into the modem in he basement, as I am upstairs with the laptop.

However I am going to update the firmware while I have the chance.
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: CANNOT LOGIN TO ROUTER
« Reply #25 on: April 25, 2016, 08:49:57 AM »

Ok, yes do a update manually, please follow this:
Link> >FW Update Process
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

batkinson001

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: CANNOT LOGIN TO ROUTER
« Reply #26 on: April 25, 2016, 08:55:58 AM »

Ok, yes do a update manually, please follow this:
Link> >FW Update Process

Turns out it was a fluke. After moving downstairs and restarting the modem I am now stuck at the login window again.  :(
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: CANNOT LOGIN TO ROUTER
« Reply #27 on: April 25, 2016, 09:00:09 AM »

If you disconnect the router from the modem, can you get logged in at all with just a PC and the router alone?
Please try with FF and IE11.
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.

batkinson001

  • Level 2 Member
  • **
  • Posts: 42
Re: CANNOT LOGIN TO ROUTER
« Reply #28 on: April 25, 2016, 09:10:03 AM »

If you disconnect the router from the modem, can you get logged in at all with just a PC and the router alone?
Please try with FF and IE11.

Installing firefox, found IE... Thought it was replaced with edge.  Good to know.  I'll try when the install is done and I can turn the wifi back off on my laptop... Because both modem and dlink use the same 192.168.0.1 address, I can't leave both hooked up.   Eventually if this dlink gets setup I want to use it as the router for the modem (once i figureout how to bridge it and bypass the builtin wifi) or as a access point for it to get better signal on the top floor of the house, moving the modem doesn't work for one of the computers in the house as it has issues with their wireless adapters that I cannot fix (Toshiba laptop running vista, enough said)...
Logged

FurryNutz

  • Poweruser
  •   ▲
    ▲ ▲
  • *****
  • Posts: 49906
  • D-Link Global Forum Moderator
    • Router Troubleshooting
Re: CANNOT LOGIN TO ROUTER
« Reply #29 on: April 25, 2016, 09:14:45 AM »

You can change the 645 to use 192.168.1.1 if you can get in or get the ISP modem bridged.

What Mfr and model is the ISP modem?
Logged
Cable: 1Gb/50Mb>NetGear CM1200>DIR-882>HP 24pt Gb Switch. COVR-1202/2202/3902,DIR-2660/80,3xDGL-4500s,DIR-LX1870,857,835,827,815,890L,880L,868L,836L,810L,685,657,3x655s,645,628,601,DNR-202L,DNS-345,DCS-933L,936L,960L and 8000LH.
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4